Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Desktop PC will not boot


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2013, 19:21
bri160356
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 887

Hi Guys,
My desktop PC will not boot. Turns out the hard drive c (500gb) is u/s.
It will not spin up; the power supply to the drive is fine.
I have the original Win-7 32-bit operating system disc, with certificate number, that I purchased when the PC was new. It is a full and complete installation disc.
I have a spare 500gb drive.
If I replace the hard drive c will I be able to install, and run, Win-7 on the new 500gb c drive using my original Win-7 installation disc, or will I hit problems when I try to authenticate it with Microsoft?
All replies gratefully received and thanks in advance.

Regards
bri160356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-06-2013, 19:31
John146
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 6,704
Hi Guys,
My desktop PC will not boot. Turns out the hard drive c (500gb) is u/s.
It will not spin up; the power supply to the drive is fine.
I have the original Win-7 32-bit operating system disc, with certificate number, that I purchased when the PC was new. It is a full and complete installation disc.
I have a spare 500gb drive.
If I replace the hard drive c will I be able to install, and run, Win-7 on the new 500gb c drive using my original Win-7 installation disc, or will I hit problems when I try to authenticate it with Microsoft?
All replies gratefully received and thanks in advance.

Regards
Think you are right, the OS is still installed on the faulty disk, so you cannot authenticate it again, you could try calling Microsoft UK and explaining, also if you change the hard disk for a new one the Installation my detect a hardware change on your PC and stop the installation, Microsoft do this to stop installation on more than one PC
John146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 19:34
hardeep
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 2,134
Hi Guys,
My desktop PC will not boot. Turns out the hard drive c (500gb) is u/s.
It will not spin up; the power supply to the drive is fine.
I have the original Win-7 32-bit operating system disc, with certificate number, that I purchased when the PC was new. It is a full and complete installation disc.
I have a spare 500gb drive.
If I replace the hard drive c will I be able to install, and run, Win-7 on the new 500gb c drive using my original Win-7 installation disc, or will I hit problems when I try to authenticate it with Microsoft?
All replies gratefully received and thanks in advance.

Regards
From memory installing on a new hard drive may cause the activation to fail - it did in my case when I replaced my HDD with a SSD. But all I then did was call the free number and went through the automated process without any further hassle. (Make sure you have a pen handy!)
hardeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 19:34
2000motels
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 305
Hi Guys,
My desktop PC will not boot. Turns out the hard drive c (500gb) is u/s.
It will not spin up; the power supply to the drive is fine.
I have the original Win-7 32-bit operating system disc, with certificate number, that I purchased when the PC was new. It is a full and complete installation disc.
I have a spare 500gb drive.
If I replace the hard drive c will I be able to install, and run, Win-7 on the new 500gb c drive using my original Win-7 installation disc, or will I hit problems when I try to authenticate it with Microsoft?
All replies gratefully received and thanks in advance.

Regards
You should have no problem just use the phone activation set up. After you have installed the O/S on the new hard drive just open the Start Menu, and type slui.exe 4 and press Enter and you get the phone activation screen and select your country and phone them on a toll free number and follow the steps on the phone.
2000motels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 19:57
13lives
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Inverness Shire
Posts: 132
I cloned my hard drive to a new SSD and windows didnt ask for activation
13lives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2013, 10:57
bri160356
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 887
Hi Guys,

O.P. here !

Many thanks for all the replies. Just for info and future reference:-

I replaced the drive, reloaded Win-7, entered the Product registration key when requested and all was well. No need to re-authenticate Win-7 with Microsoft. Re-loaded all my S/W and data without issue.
The hardest part is getting the base operating system up to speed with the interminable, but necessary , Windows Updates which go on forever (it seems like that!).

Regards to all.
bri160356 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:29.