Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Can't get rid of AdAware


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-06-2013, 22:39
guypd
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southern England
Posts: 2,591

I recently installed AdAware, and it immediately hijacked my browser and caused all manner of trouble. I want to get rid of it.

But it seems extraordinarily unremovable. I cannot remove it from the "remove programmes" in Windows, as it doesn't give a removal option, only "repair".

So I went to manually delete the files. I cannot delete them, because it says it's running.

Help, please. I didn't install apparent anti adware software to have it hijack my computer.
guypd is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 15-06-2013, 22:48
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,558
AdAware is malware and a pretty nasty piece of it at that. I had it several years back when I was using Windows XP. I think I used Spybot Search & Destroy to get rid of it, but I'm not sure if that program still exists. What antivirus/internet security software are you using?
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2013, 22:48
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,438
The uninstall option should be in the AdAware folder in your programmes.....Not in add remove...
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 00:02
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,846
Do you mean Ad-Aware by Lavasoft which is a legitimate bit of software or something else with a similar name?

http://www.lavasoft.com/

If it is the real Ad-Aware then it should have an unnistall option, unless it screwed up. If it is real Ad-Aware then perhaps try the repair option to see if that gets the uninstall option back.

If it is some malicious program pretending to be Ad-Aware or something with a similar name, then try installing Malwarebytes and see if that can do anything with it.

http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free/

Just download the free version.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 01:57
guypd
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southern England
Posts: 2,591
The uninstall option should be in the AdAware folder in your programmes.....Not in add remove...

The uninstall option is available for all programmes in add/remove and always has been, to the best of my knowledge. There is no uninstall option anywhere in the programme files. Here's how it looks in add/remove:

http://s12.postimg.org/s08slldwt/adaware.jpg

No uninstall.

Here's what all the others look like:

http://s9.postimg.org/4tl04r3a7/others.jpg

How can it be legit? I DLed from Lavasoft as far as I'm aware.

I'm using ESET antivirus.
guypd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 02:25
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,328
I think you may need to stop it running before you can delete it or stop it starting up in msconfig.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 09:28
albertd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Crawley, W. Sussex
Posts: 7,388
The uninstall option is available for all programmes in add/remove and always has been, to the best of my knowledge. There is no uninstall option anywhere in the programme files. Here's how it looks in add/remove:

http://s12.postimg.org/s08slldwt/adaware.jpg

No uninstall.
According to the Lavasoft FAQ, uninstall (or "remove" as they term it) is an option which is accessed via "Change".

The details can be found in this page, or Page 68 of the User Guide.

You must, however, make sure that the program is no longer running before you can remove it, it says.
albertd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 09:49
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,438
Yep, Option 2 says it's in the folder also.....You didn't say if you had checked there?
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 09:59
PrimalIce
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,539
AdAware is malware and a pretty nasty piece of it at that. I had it several years back when I was using Windows XP. I think I used Spybot Search & Destroy to get rid of it, but I'm not sure if that program still exists. What antivirus/internet security software are you using?
What? No it isn't. Its a legitimate tool. Unless there is malware with the same name.
PrimalIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 10:16
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,007
As I like to live dangerously I downloaded and installed Lavasoft AdAware being careful to choose 'Custom Installation' and not 'Recommended'
It installed fine without problems, did not change the homepage on any browser (Chrome/Firefox/IE) nor install the Blekko toolbar or mess-up browsers in any way.

Uninstalling was just as easy,after closing the program, using the free version of http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_..._download.html
which IMHO does a more thorough job than Windows Add/Remove
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 14:52
guypd
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southern England
Posts: 2,591
But how do I stop the thing running? As soon as I boot up, I get a message saying "AdWare will continue to protect your system". It runs, making itself immune to removal.
guypd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 15:05
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,007
But how do I stop the thing running? As soon as I boot up, I get a message saying "AdWare will continue to protect your system". It runs, making itself immune to removal.
Either click on the program icon and choose the option 'Exit'
or open Task Manager and choose to 'End Process'

Also look in your startup programs using msconfig and prevent it from starting with Windows
http://www.netsquirrel.com/msconfig/msconfig_win7.html
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 15:38
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,849
But how do I stop the thing running? As soon as I boot up, I get a message saying "AdWare will continue to protect your system". It runs, making itself immune to removal.
Does it show an icon in the taskbar (bottom right of screen). Running programs often do.

If so, see what options you get when you right-click on it.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 16:37
curiousclive
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slough, UK
Posts: 371
Did you do an image backup before you installed it. If so the best way is restore from the image.
curiousclive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 17:17
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,007
Does it show an icon in the taskbar (bottom right of screen). Running programs often do.

If so, see what options you get when you right-click on it.
Yes it does - I should have made that clearer in my post - and one of the options is EXIT.
That's how I closed the program prior to uninstalling it
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 18:52
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,558
What? No it isn't. Its a legitimate tool. Unless there is malware with the same name.
I had some malware several years back that was called AdAware or Adware or something like that so when I saw the thread I assumed it was malware related.
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 20:23
guypd
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southern England
Posts: 2,591
Does it show an icon in the taskbar (bottom right of screen). Running programs often do.

If so, see what options you get when you right-click on it.

Why didn't I see that?

Thanks. Can now exit, and the "uninstall" option now is enabled in add/remove.
guypd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2013, 14:59
guypd
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southern England
Posts: 2,591
And yes, I'm back to square one again.

I didn't uninstall there and then, as it appeared all legit with exiting the programme enabling the uninstall option.

Then Lavasoft started hijacking my browser again today - I realised the browser nanny function had got reenabled. So at this point: sod it, you're history.

So I exit in the taskbar. Go to add/remove. Now I can't uninstall, even though I'm exited. It appears exactly as in the screenshot above. I'm totally kicking myself for not cleaning out this obviously dodgy Lavasoft shyte when it would let me the other day, but we are where we are.
guypd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2013, 15:22
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,438
Is there still no uninstall option in the AdAware folder in programmes? If not it may not have installed correctly.
Whatever happens - Twice bitten...etc.....
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2013, 15:28
PrimalIce
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,539
I had some malware several years back that was called AdAware or Adware or something like that so when I saw the thread I assumed it was malware related.
Oh could well be, possibly a trick to captalise on the genuine product.
PrimalIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2013, 16:44
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,328
Start, Run, type in msconfig and ok. Under the Startup tab untick Adaware/Lavasoft and click apply then click on the services tab and do the same, apply and ok.
Reboot the computer and it won't start up .... then maybe it will uninstall.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2013, 17:37
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,558
Oh could well be, possibly a trick to captalise on the genuine product.
It might well have been. I had been hit by the malware in 2004.
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2013, 22:15
guypd
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southern England
Posts: 2,591
Start, Run, type in msconfig and ok. Under the Startup tab untick Adaware/Lavasoft and click apply then click on the services tab and do the same, apply and ok.
Reboot the computer and it won't start up .... then maybe it will uninstall.

Thanks for suggestion. Unfortunately, it didn't.
guypd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2013, 22:58
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,328
How about using system restore, go back to a restore point before you installed Adaware.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2013, 13:21
louise1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: workington, cumbria
Posts: 3,078
AdChoices has somehow invaded my laptop - I didn't instal it - and there is no way I can uninstall it because, after sifting through the programmes on my computer AdChoices is not, apparently, installed! It can be quite annoying; you only have to look at a product and, henceforth, an add for said product range always pops up.
louise1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:23.