Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

PS3 HDD Advice


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-06-2013, 16:02
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272

Hey,

My current 320GB HDD is constantly full so i am looking for an upgrade to 1TB. It will be used in an old 60GB PS3 so I would rather a 5400 RPM drive due to heat (My slim uses a 7200RPM Momentus XT).

After looking at various drives I am considering the Seagate ST1000LM024 as it's meant to be pretty fast and costs 60 for 1TB.

Any advice here would be great.

Cheers

Gormond
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-06-2013, 17:35
homer2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: John Lewis
Posts: 3,437
Ebuyer is the place to go.

I'm using a samsung 1tb and its the dogs for me. I paid about 53 for mine.
homer2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2013, 18:15
steveOooo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 3,725
I've been using this WD 1tb drive for the past 2 years or so with no issues - i hear there's a hybrid (ssd&hdd) 1tb drive coming soon (apparently, stuff loads quicker if using a hybrid drive)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...tag=mysp085-21
steveOooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2013, 19:10
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
I've been using this WD 1tb drive for the past 2 years or so with no issues - i hear there's a hybrid (ssd&hdd) 1tb drive coming soon (apparently, stuff loads quicker if using a hybrid drive)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...tag=mysp085-21
Yeah I use a hybrid on my slim but my old 60GB heats up more so unsure if I want to risk a 7200RPM drive in it.

It's a pity 1TB is still the biggest you can get, these things fill pretty fast with PS+!
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2013, 19:21
Chparmar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 5,787
I bought this only a few weeks ago.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-HN-M...ds=Samsung+HDD

Works great on a old 80GB FAT PS3!
Chparmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2013, 19:39
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
I bought this only a few weeks ago.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-HN-M...ds=Samsung+HDD

Works great on a old 80GB FAT PS3!
Yeah I was going to go for the new version of that (as per the link on amazon) it's 60 but it is a little faster according to one reviewer:

Samsung HN-M101MBB read av 75mb/s , write av 70mb/s
Samsung/Seagate ST1000LM024 read av + 87mb/s, write av 88mb/s
Considering the difference in cost I may as well get the newer one I think http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-Seag.../dp/B007NVGWV0
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2013, 19:47
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,868
I bought this 1TB from Amazon (same as chparmar)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I chose to get it directly from Amazon - 54.97. Works a treat!

Was going to get the newer one but not as many reviews.
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2013, 19:47
Chparmar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 5,787
Yeah I was going to go for the new version of that (as per the link on amazon) it's 60 but it is a little faster according to one reviewer:



Considering the difference in cost I may as well get the newer one I think http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-Seag.../dp/B007NVGWV0
Yeah, I've probably got the slower version.
Not sure how much difference it makes on a PS3.


The HDD works great with the old PS3. But downloads are a pain for me, I just know my PS3 is going to burn out soon since the console is now on for very long periods, so I am looking for a external drive for backups.

Does anyone know if I can just insert this drive on a new PS3 and all the content will work??
Chparmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 16:34
steveOooo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 3,725
I had the 80g phat - was freezing alot and like u got hot a fair but - I thought I was going to get YLOD any minute so bought a white slim

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...tag=mysp085-21

Which IMO is the best ps3 - whisper quite and very reliable (plus it looks good all in white IMO) - so if ur after a good quite, cool, reliable ps3 with 1tb go with above
steveOooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 18:09
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,868
I had the 80g phat - was freezing alot and like u got hot a fair but - I thought I was going to get YLOD any minute so bought a white slim

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...tag=mysp085-21

Which IMO is the best ps3 - whisper quite and very reliable (plus it looks good all in white IMO) - so if ur after a good quite, cool, reliable ps3 with 1tb go with above
Never known a PS3 Slim to be whisper quite?

My slim was noisy from Day 1. Had it replaced, and had the same noise. It's just the fan.
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 18:14
steveOooo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 3,725
The white model I have is the most recent slim - apparently Similar power consumption to the current super slim - was released July 2012 I think.

Just a slight fan noise - like a sky box
steveOooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 19:16
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
I had the 80g phat - was freezing alot and like u got hot a fair but - I thought I was going to get YLOD any minute so bought a white slim

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...tag=mysp085-21

Which IMO is the best ps3 - whisper quite and very reliable (plus it looks good all in white IMO) - so if ur after a good quite, cool, reliable ps3 with 1tb go with above
I like my phat PS3 due to the PS2 compatibility for games like persona 3 and 4. If it does die I will just replace it with a slim as you suggest but I am hoping it lasts until I get a PS4
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 19:36
steven123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Teesside, England
Posts: 2,697
I have a 750GB Toshiba standard HDD in my PS3 Slim and after a couple of years of PS plus games I wouldn't want to have anything less! After adding the latest releases (including the epic Uncharted 3) I have over 160 PS3 games! And less than 50GB storage left I know you can delete and redownload them when needed, which I will have to do soon but I just like having a huge collection to choose from without having to wait for downloads and installs.

Would have liked to put a hybrid HDD / SSD in there for the faster access and installs but couldn't justify the cost difference at the time.

On a different (but relevant) note, I find it disapointing that the PS4 is only going to ship with 500GB, as the games will no doubt take another step up in size I can't imagine being able to get much on it at all before you have to start deleting stuff, just hope it is user upgradeable like PS3.
steven123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 20:14
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
On a different (but relevant) note, I find it disapointing that the PS4 is only going to ship with 500GB, as the games will no doubt take another step up in size I can't imagine being able to get much on it at all before you have to start deleting stuff, just hope it is user upgradeable like PS3.
Sony have already said that the HDD in the PS4 is user upgradable like the PS3 (unlike the Xbox One).

I see what you are saying but 500GB is fine for most people at the moment although I would have liked to see a second model with a 1TB drive (They haven't ruled this out apparently).

What I want to know is what SATA controller the PS3 uses, if it is SATA 3 then an SSD would be must for me.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 20:16
Ash_735
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 7,922
just hope it is user upgradeable like PS3.
Already confirmed, it is upgradeable, so you can carruy on using bigger drives if you wish to do so.
Ash_735 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2013, 12:31
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
I bought the new Samsung/Seagate drive.

I did a backup yesterday of my 320GB drive and it took about 8 hours. I am now doing a restore onto the new 1TB drive which is claiming 6 hours but my guess is that it will also be more like 8 hours in the end.

I do like how there is no need to reinstall the OS on the 60GB PS3, you put the new drive in and your good to go with the OS and all your user accounts in tact.

I guess the new slim with 12GB inbuilt storage will work exactly the same.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2013, 02:07
Conroy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: cs_office
Posts: 2,438
I do like how there is no need to reinstall the OS on the 60GB PS3, you put the new drive in and your good to go with the OS and all your user accounts in tact.

I guess the new slim with 12GB inbuilt storage will work exactly the same.
Unlikely. The launch PS3 had something like 256MB NAND storage specifically for the firmware.

From what I've read about the 12GB PS3, if you install a HDD then that internal storage is completely ignored.
Conroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2013, 10:13
steveOooo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 3,725
The ps3 also takes 10% of the capacity - regardless of disc size for buffering / caching or something like that
steveOooo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2013, 12:09
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
Unlikely. From what I've read about the 12GB PS3, if you install a HDD then that internal storage is completely ignored.
I think it copies all your data including the OS to the HDD though.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:24.