Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Will 4G improve my coverage


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-06-2013, 02:39
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,022

I live in London and my network is 3 and outside of the house have decent signal in my front garden 4 bars, soon as you step foot inside the house it goes down to 1 bar, in many parts of the house there is no coverage.

To be fair all the networks have poor coverage here, but since 4G is launching on different frequencies, how much better is 1800MHz at penetrating thick walls in old houses than 2100MHz and how likely is 800MHz in greater London?
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-06-2013, 02:50
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,877
1800 is better at getting through windows.. If they were both transmitting from the same site you should see an increase over 2100. Bare in mind you still need 3g to make calls with current technology.

3 Signal box?
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 02:54
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,148
1800 is better at getting through windows.. If they were both transmitting from the same site you should see an increase over 2100. Bare in mind you still need 3g to make calls with current technology.
And texts.

So 4G won't make a difference for calls and texts (yet). Just data.
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 02:56
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,121
I live in London and my network is 3 and outside of the house have decent signal in my front garden 4 bars, soon as you step foot inside the house it goes down to 1 bar, in many parts of the house there is no coverage.

To be fair all the networks have poor coverage here, but since 4G is launching on different frequencies, how much better is 1800MHz at penetrating thick walls in old houses than 2100MHz and how likely is 800MHz in greater London?
It should penetrate your house more how much more isn't exactly easy answer but would say 2/3 bars in some rooms. It certainly should be greater than 2100MHz [3G] and certainly a lot better than 2600MHz. Only O2 will likely be using 800MHz in Greater London as that will be there primary spectrum.

And texts.

So 4G won't make a difference for calls and texts (yet). Just data.
Very true but I think it will only be one to two years from now when that changes.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 02:56
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,022
1800 is better at getting through windows.. If they were both transmitting from the same site you should see an increase over 2100. Bare in mind you still need 3g to make calls with current technology.

3 Signal box?
thanks for that answer.

so basically lets say in the same area where there is no coverage in the house, even if 4G was to provide coverage there, it would be pretty much useless because we still couldn't make calls?

I have a signal box, but its a bit crap to be honest, although it provides signal, lots of the time my calls are going to voicemail even with coverage and data drops out quite a few times I've noticed.
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 03:00
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,121
thanks for that answer.

so basically lets say in the same area where there is no coverage in the house, even if 4G was to provide coverage there, it would be pretty much useless because we still couldn't make calls?

I have a signal box, but its a bit crap to be honest, although it provides signal, lots of the time my calls are going to voicemail even with coverage and data drops out quite a few times I've noticed.
Not entirely useless as data would still work, and you couldn't make calls the standard way but you could use something like Skype so better than nothing.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 03:33
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,877
Data & Tests would still work. Until VoLTe is deployed (late on 2013..likely early 2014) there will be no calls over LTe.

Call Three in regards to the box as that should not happen. Rarely at most.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 04:44
davybhoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,187
And texts.

So 4G won't make a difference for calls and texts (yet). Just data.
I have sent many txts over 4G mate.
davybhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 10:21
thedrewser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,818
When a 4G signal is not available does the phone drop down to 3G or does it go straight to 2G?

Just curious. It'll be a while before I get onto 4G.
thedrewser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 12:41
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,148
Data & Texts would still work. Until VoLTe is deployed (late on 2013..likely early 2014) there will be no calls over LTe.

Call Three in regards to the box as that should not happen. Rarely at most.
I have sent many txts over 4G mate.
Really? I thought it wasn't possible just yet?
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 12:53
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,877
It does not switch down for a text.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 13:44
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,148
It does not switch down for a text.
And receiving?
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 15:43
Ashley_Bradbury
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 23
thanks for that answer.

so basically lets say in the same area where there is no coverage in the house, even if 4G was to provide coverage there, it would be pretty much useless because we still couldn't make calls?

I have a signal box, but its a bit crap to be honest, although it provides signal, lots of the time my calls are going to voicemail even with coverage and data drops out quite a few times I've noticed.
I had the exact same problem with my three box. I just decided to get a timer plug so it resets every night and its been perfect ever since.
Ashley_Bradbury is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 22:37
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,022
Also I am wondering how much would the signal improve on 1800?

Lets say I get 1 or 2 bars on 2100 what am I likely to expect with 1800?
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 23:13
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,877
Also I am wondering how much would the signal improve on 1800?

Lets say I get 1 or 2 bars on 2100 what am I likely to expect with 1800?
That is impossible to accurately answer.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 00:03
mikey86uk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: England
Posts: 5,380
Ive sent Text's over 4G but everytime i make a call my HTC One drops down to 3G
mikey86uk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 00:33
djpalmer93
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Norwich
Posts: 181
Also I am wondering how much would the signal improve on 1800?

Lets say I get 1 or 2 bars on 2100 what am I likely to expect with 1800?
I've found that 1800 adds about 1 bar compared to 2100 but it will depend on how your phone measures each bar.

900 seems to add another bar.
djpalmer93 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 00:59
Synthetic42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 147
Ive sent Text's over 4G but everytime i make a call my HTC One drops down to 3G
That's because EE haven't sorted out VoLTE Yet, I've noticed SMS is sent / Received, I believe (please correct me if i'm wrong) These are routed over the IP network 4G runs on
Synthetic42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 01:58
davybhoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,187
When a 4G signal is not available does the phone drop down to 3G or does it go straight to 2G?

It will go to 3G first. Should there be no 3G signal then it will go to 2G.

Just curious. It'll be a while before I get onto 4G.
That's because EE haven't sorted out VoLTE Yet, I've noticed SMS is sent / Received, I believe (please correct me if i'm wrong) These are routed over the IP network 4G runs on
Every 4G capable phone does this and will do this no matter what network you're on (when the option for other networks is here). It'll be quite some time yet before calls over 4G (VoLTE) is initiated,
davybhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:55.