Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Windows 2000 VirtualBox


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-06-2013, 16:41
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Avoiding Labour Law lecturers
Posts: 50,062

I'm in the process of installing Windows 2000 in a VM on my old Windows XP desktop (don't want to use my Mac in case I screw anything up as I'm a total noob when it comes to using VMs). Can I use my old Windows 2000 CD (bought in 2004) to install it into the VM or do I need to copy the files to the computer first?
cnbcwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-06-2013, 16:51
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,623
Yes, you use the CD, as long as your virtual machine can see the drive.

Why would you want to install a W2000 VM on XP though? They are so similar apart from the theme...
Stig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 17:05
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Avoiding Labour Law lecturers
Posts: 50,062
Thanks. How does it work? Do you turn on the VM and put the CD into the computer's drive? I'm using that machine so I don't screw my Macs up if I do something wrong and I wanted to use 2000 as I used it for a while between 2003-2005 and I just wanted to play around with it. I know they're similar to XP. I would have used 95 but I can't find the old disk.
cnbcwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 17:34
lettice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,778
Watch this video, although old it has not changed much.
Save listing how to go through it here.
Shows you how to do it with cd.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-DiPRrE3Bg

I would suggest when going into settings, just select your cd drive and set to NAT for network, nothing else needs doing at first stage.

Once the OS is installed, then select install the vmtools, they help with better drivers/mouse/copy/paste/ file sharing etc.

It may prompt about a floppy drive not available, just ignore or disable in the settings on virtualbox as i expect you dont have one.

For windows 2000, you only need to give it 64mb or even 128mb and a 5gb disc will be plenty.

I use loads of VMs. Mac, w7, vista, linux android in virtualbox and vmware.
I would recommend virtualbox for the casual user.
lettice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 20:11
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Avoiding Labour Law lecturers
Posts: 50,062
UPDATE: I managed to get it installed in the VM. After a couple of crashes it seems to be working, but it's taking ages to boot up. I started it up a couple of hours ago and I cooked and ate dinner and now I'm having a cup of tea and it's still not finished! It'll probably be ready for the setup to continue by the time I go to bed tonight. I know Windows 2000 was slow to boot but I don't remember it being THAT slow back in 2003/2004. My dad had it at work and he would go in in the mornings, turn on the computer, get a cup of tea and by the time he was back the machine would be ready
cnbcwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 00:08
daveycrocket222
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3,979
UPDATE: I managed to get it installed in the VM. After a couple of crashes it seems to be working, but it's taking ages to boot up. I started it up a couple of hours ago and I cooked and ate dinner and now I'm having a cup of tea and it's still not finished! It'll probably be ready for the setup to continue by the time I go to bed tonight. I know Windows 2000 was slow to boot but I don't remember it being THAT slow back in 2003/2004. My dad had it at work and he would go in in the mornings, turn on the computer, get a cup of tea and by the time he was back the machine would be ready
Whats the earliest windows it will take? Ive a game called harvester that would love to play but I remember when I had win 98 it wouldnt play it.
daveycrocket222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 11:28
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Avoiding Labour Law lecturers
Posts: 50,062
Whats the earliest windows it will take? Ive a game called harvester that would love to play but I remember when I had win 98 it wouldnt play it.
Earliest is Windows 3.1 I think.
cnbcwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 11:34
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,221
if harvester is a dos game then just get dosbox and pretty much job done and no messing around with vm's etc
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:48.