Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

is there anything i can do too prevent getting host ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-06-2013, 14:12
denial_orstupid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 347

so i am at my wits end playing blops 2 and getting host , being at a disadvantage against poor players all because i have better internet .

this morning i tried to make my internet as bad as possible by having a streaming radio station playing , about six webpages open all of which refresh every few seconds like twitter and gmail and so on and also downloading 20 free audio books .

i got into a lobby most of which in there were french and guess what ?

yeah i got host .

any suggestions apart from selling the bloody thing .

lag compensation is the stupidest thing i have ever seen . if you got crap internet its your problem , don't accommodate and reward them for it .
denial_orstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-06-2013, 14:36
homer2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: John Lewis
Posts: 3,217
Switch ps3 to wifi and use another pc/tablet and watch hd movies eyc on youtube.

But to be fair even on 3mb connections on bt i was still host alot of the time.
homer2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 15:54
heyrehair
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 258
Dependent on how tech savvy you are you may want to search Google for "qos to limit bandwidth"

Or play Battlefield
heyrehair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 18:51
denial_orstupid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 347
Dependent on how tech savvy you are you may want to search Google for "qos to limit bandwidth"

Or play Battlefield
will give that a try but i am going to BF4 on the ps4 anyway .
already play Bf3 a lot on pc .

unless i am given , win , or find CoD ghosts on the street i am not buying it .
denial_orstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 09:28
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,780
Disable UPnP in the connection settings. This should give you moderate NAT status and therefore a lot less likely to be lumbered as host all the time.
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 10:27
gds1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,893
Dependent on how tech savvy you are you may want to search Google for "qos to limit bandwidth"

Or play Battlefield
I would have thought it would be the person with the lowest ping time that gets selected as host not the person with the highest bandwidth.
gds1972 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2013, 01:58
Conroy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: cs_office
Posts: 2,357
I would have thought it would be the person with the lowest ping time that gets selected as host not the person with the highest bandwidth.
That method would be useless as that person could have 256kbps upstream which would be terrible for hosting a game with many players.
Conroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 19:03
denial_orstupid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 347
i did try the making myself have moderate Nat but that caused issues joining parties with friends .

i have 67 down and 18 upload and a ping between 9-11

i know why i am getting host but i don't want it
denial_orstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 19:30
chopoff
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,722
I would have thought it would be the person with the lowest ping time that gets selected as host not the person with the highest bandwidth.
It is a combo of both.

The best method if you have ADSL is to saturate (max out) your upload and stop uploading once in-game as ADSL is asymmetric it will cripple your connection in terms of how the others in the game see you.

Not sure if fibre is asymmetric? Plus more difficult to flood a 10MB upload speed!
chopoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2013, 18:02
stefmeister
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 4,432
I was under the assumption that been host was an advantage rather than a disadvantage.

Whenever I've been host while playing something online I've tended to do better in part thanks to suffering far less from issues such as lag etc... than when I've not been host.
stefmeister is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2013, 20:02
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,891
Change your ISP to Talk Talk....
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2013, 10:08
denial_orstupid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 347
I was under the assumption that been host was an advantage rather than a disadvantage.

Whenever I've been host while playing something online I've tended to do better in part thanks to suffering far less from issues such as lag etc... than when I've not been host.
complete opposite in CoD - you deff don't want host in black ops 2 . the games where i am not host are a dream but few and far between . i even get host with french and German lobbies . the whole lag compensation thing is a joke .
denial_orstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:30.