Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

images compressed when using O2


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-06-2013, 14:40
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,744

are O2 the only network that compress images (degrading them in the process) when using mobile data?
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-06-2013, 15:01
tellytart1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London
Posts: 3,636
It's fairly commonplace as far as I know.

To stop it, you can change the username in your APN settings from o2web to faster and this should stop the image compression.
tellytart1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 15:01
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,550
Yes as far as I know. They are doing this to conserve bandwidth. I would expect them to continue this on 4G as they don't have much spectrum. The good news is its easy to switch off by changing the APN.


APN: mobile.o2.co.uk
Username: bypass
Password: password
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 15:18
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,744
ok so i'm currently using

mobile.o2.co.uk
o2web
and whatever the password is

so what should i change the username to? i've had 2 different answers so far (faster and bypass).
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 15:22
tellytart1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London
Posts: 3,636
I had an iPhone, so I was using the username vertigo - which didn't compress images.

From what I can tell doing some google searches, faster and bypass will both turn off the image compression. (And if the password field gets reset, the password is usually just password)

Give both a try and see!
tellytart1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 15:23
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,744
and changing the username won't affect data allowances or cause any other issues ?
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 15:28
tellytart1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London
Posts: 3,636
Shouldn't have any effect on data allowances.
tellytart1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 15:30
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,744
will give it a go and see
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 15:59
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,744
anyone got a good example to test the difference?
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 16:19
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,744
using bypass just now, and images still look suspiciously compressed/low quality.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 20:00
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,397
They are dreadful on a 2013 smartphone, which if you buy a high end device is 1080p resolution, but some networks are making imaged really low quality by default.

I don't have this problem, but I know a couple of networks do use aggressive image compression, and even auto downgrade video quality on the fly.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 22:02
kev
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: South Notts (Waltham TV TX)
Posts: 19,423
T-Mobile's compression is horrendous by default, they also mangle JavaScript too - You can turn theirs off at http://accelerator.t-mobile.co.uk and over HSDPA the pages load noticeably faster with the compression off!

When you have a network which can deliver DVB-S video streams (from TV Headend via a VPN) to my mobile why do they need image compression (some of the lowest quality channels even work when on Edge )
kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2014, 23:57
Skippy2005
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 200
using bypass just now, and images still look suspiciously compressed/low quality.
You need to change the apn mobile.02.co.uk, this is the case even if you have an iphone, android, windows or blackberry.

The username and password HAS to be change to bypass, then restart your phone. This will remove both the speed restrictions and image compression.

Have fun
Skippy2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2014, 02:38
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,855
EE 4G has no compression on images. being a premium service I doubt O2 or Voda do on 4G but would have to check.

T-Mobile's compression is horrendous by default, they also mangle JavaScript too - You can turn theirs off at http://accelerator.t-mobile.co.uk and over HSDPA the pages load noticeably faster with the compression off!

When you have a network which can deliver DVB-S video streams (from TV Headend via a VPN) to my mobile why do they need image compression (some of the lowest quality channels even work when on Edge )
You can also bypass orange's by using the same link just replace t-mobile with orange. Not everyone is streaming video if they were it would have melt down however most people ARE surfing content with email, checking Facebook, etc.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2014, 03:04
xreyuk123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 463
Do Three do anything like this?
xreyuk123 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2014, 14:39
Three
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bristol
Posts: 1,100
Do Three do anything like this?
I don't believe so. Download a few images on your home broadband connection and then download the same images via your mobile connection and compare the file sizes.
Three is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2014, 14:41
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,070
Do Three do anything like this?
They do not
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2014, 14:48
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Researchington
Posts: 24,537
Going to many web sites gives you very low quality images anyway on mobile.

Are you not getting mixed up with high quality slow loading desktop sites? I think it is not always apparent when a web site is using low quality mobile mode.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2014, 17:52
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 432
EE 4G has no compression on images. being a premium service I doubt O2 or Voda do on 4G but would have to check.



You can also bypass orange's by using the same link just replace t-mobile with orange. Not everyone is streaming video if they were it would have melt down however most people ARE surfing content with email, checking Facebook, etc.

o2 are still doing it on 4G, on the other hand it still is there on EE's side but its disabled (the proxy gives this away)
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2014, 00:18
qasdfdsaq
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,286
EE 4G has no compression on images. being a premium service I doubt O2 or Voda do on 4G but would have to check.
O2's image compression does exist on 4G but as with 3G it isn't actually applied uniformly everywhere. The extent and presence of it varies from cellsite to cellsite.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:49.