Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

2010 Sony TV no longer able to receive 4Music


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-06-2013, 20:11
gush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 92

Sony KDL -37EX403 (FW: PKG4.114EUL-0108) no longer able to receive the 4Music channel. It just keeps powering off and on repeatedly when tuned to this channel.

It seems that ALL 2010 Bravia models are afflicted by this issue. Been like this for over a month and Sony seem to be ignoring the issue.

Perhaps Nigel could comment here ?
gush is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-06-2013, 20:45
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,438
What's 4Music on?.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 20:50
SkyPlatinum
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 769
Sony KDL -37EX403 (FW: PKG4.114EUL-0108) no longer able to receive the 4Music channel. It just keeps powering off and on repeatedly when tuned to this channel.

It seems that ALL 2010 Bravia models are afflicted by this issue. Been like this for over a month and Sony seem to be ignoring the issue.

Perhaps Nigel could comment here ?
I have the 46 inch version of your set and it has turned itself off and on randomly for the past 12 months. Been in for repairs 3 times , had a new PCB and its still doing it. I am getting no where with Sony. Thinking of claiming via my credit card. I would never buy another Sony TV
SkyPlatinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 21:32
standinman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 125
Was the EX model range the budget model sony TV sets made for supermarket sale ?
standinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 21:50
stylo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 329
I've got two of the 32" variations of this model (same firmware) and both are working fine here on 4Music (Freeview CH18)
stylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 22:10
gush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 92
4Music is a Freeview channel. The issue is related to Freeview IPTV delivered channels. 2010 Bravia models have never been able to cope with these channels, their firmware just locks up causing the set to reboot.

Sony decided to not support the reception of these new channels on this line of models. That's OK, if annoying - it was limted to a set of newly delivered channels.

BUT SINCE JUNE. A MAINSTREAM CHANNEL - 4MUSIC IS USING THIS IPTV TECHNOLOGY IN A DUAL MODE I.E. BOTH FREEVIEW AND IPTV. AS A RESULT ALL 2010 SONY BRAVIA TVS GET CONFUSED AND LOCKUP WHEN TRYING TO VIEW 4MUSIC. IT DOES NOT SEEM TO AFFLICT OTHER FREEVIEW TVS.

SONY DON'T SEEM TO GIVE A **** !
gush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 22:18
gush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 92
I've got two of the 32" variations of this model (same firmware) and both are working fine here on 4Music (Freeview CH18)
PKG4.114EUL-0108 supports all these models

KDL-32EX403 / EX500 / EX501 / EX503 / EX505 / EX508 / EX603 / EX605 / EX700 / EX701 / EX703 / EX705 / EX706 / EX707 / EX709 / EX710 / EX711 / EX713 / EX715 / EX716 / EX717 / EX719 / NX503

KDL-37EX403 / EX500 / EX503 / EX505

KDL-40EX403 / EX500 / EX501 / EX503 / EX505 / EX508 / EX603 / EX605 / EX700 / EX701 / EX703 / EX705 / EX706 / EX707 / EX708 / EX709 / EX710 / EX711 / EX713 / EX715 / EX716 / EX717 / EX718 / EX719 / HX700 / HX701 / HX703 / HX705 / NX503

KDL-46EX403 / EX500 / EX501 / EX503 / EX505 / EX700 / EX701/ EX703 / EX705 / EX706 / EX707 / EX708 / EX709 / EX710 / EX711 / EX713 / EX715 / EX716 / EX717 / EX718 / EX719 / HX700 / HX703 / HX705

KDL-52EX700 / EX703 / EX705

KDL-55EX500 / EX503 / EX505 / EX710 / EX711 / EX713 / EX715

KDL-60EX700 / EX703 / EX705

The issue affects only 2010 models !

Are your two sets 2010 vintage ??
gush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 22:31
stylo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 329
PKG4.114EUL-0108 supports all these models

KDL-32EX403 / EX500 / EX501 / EX503 / EX505 / EX508 / EX603 / EX605 / EX700 / EX701 / EX703 / EX705 / EX706 / EX707 / EX709 / EX710 / EX711 / EX713 / EX715 / EX716 / EX717 / EX719 / NX503

KDL-37EX403 / EX500 / EX503 / EX505

KDL-40EX403 / EX500 / EX501 / EX503 / EX505 / EX508 / EX603 / EX605 / EX700 / EX701 / EX703 / EX705 / EX706 / EX707 / EX708 / EX709 / EX710 / EX711 / EX713 / EX715 / EX716 / EX717 / EX718 / EX719 / HX700 / HX701 / HX703 / HX705 / NX503

KDL-46EX403 / EX500 / EX501 / EX503 / EX505 / EX700 / EX701/ EX703 / EX705 / EX706 / EX707 / EX708 / EX709 / EX710 / EX711 / EX713 / EX715 / EX716 / EX717 / EX718 / EX719 / HX700 / HX703 / HX705

KDL-52EX700 / EX703 / EX705

KDL-55EX500 / EX503 / EX505 / EX710 / EX711 / EX713 / EX715

KDL-60EX700 / EX703 / EX705

The issue affects only 2010 models !

Are your two sets 2010 vintage ??
2010 sounds about right, bought around Dec 2011 as 'older model'. Definitely the right model number (the first one on your list) KDL-32EX403, and using that exact firmware - PKG4.114EUL-0108.
I'm trying to replicate the problem here now, is there anything specific you're doing to create it? (certain button presses etc?)
stylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 23:01
gush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 92
2010 sounds about right, bought around Dec 2011 as 'older model'. Definitely the right model number (the first one on your list) KDL-32EX403, and using that exact firmware - PKG4.114EUL-0108.
I'm trying to replicate the problem here now, is there anything specific you're doing to create it? (certain button presses etc?)
No special button presses - just select channel 18 and after six seconds of normal picture the set will reboot and so and so on etc until you change channel. And - yes I have done a full retune.

Similar instability happens on the set of IPTV channels that were originally introduced .back in 2011..

225 Vision
226 CCTV
227 Sports Tonight Live
228 Christian
229 Connect 2
230 Vision2
231 Racing UK
232 The Space
234 Connect 4
235 God TV
236 SAB TV

Can you select ANY of these channels without your set behaving oddly ? If you get a message saying that your device does not support streaming - try and select a different channel - that usually induces a reboot !

I'd known about these channels behaving badly on 2010 Bravia models ever since they appeared - but I accepted that - what I will not accept - is losing 4Music !!

BTW if you bought a ex403 model manufactured in 2011 - then it may well be different hardware that is NOT afflicted by this issue !
gush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 23:12
stylo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 329
OK gush, you're right...

Although it's not restarting by itself if left on that channel, if the TV is left on 4Music for more than a few seconds, and then I try to change channels (either ch. up / down or direct key number) the TV does turn itself off and on again. It 'tries' to change, but there is a severe lag before it shows the channel number I've entered, but then restarts.

If I channel-hop up and down through 4Music, there's no problem (doesn't have time to 'absorb' whatever's causing the glitch).

Very strange!. There must be something in that transmission the Sony firmware doesn't like.
stylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 23:21
stylo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 329
No special button presses - just select channel 18 and after six seconds of normal picture the set will reboot and so and so on etc until you change channel. And - yes I have done a full retune.

Similar instability happens on the set of IPTV channels that were originally introduced .back in 2011..

225 Vision
226 CCTV
227 Sports Tonight Live
228 Christian
229 Connect 2
230 Vision2
231 Racing UK
232 The Space
234 Connect 4
235 God TV
236 SAB TV

Can you select ANY of these channels without your set behaving oddly ? If you get a message saying that your device does not support streaming - try and select a different channel - that usually induces a reboot !
I never go that far up the list to be honest, but will give it a go in a bit.

Interestingly, I've just disconnected the ethernet cable from the TV, and that has cured the problem with 4Music.
no lags, and no restarts.
stylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 23:22
gush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 92
OK gush, you're right...

Although it's not restarting by itself if left on that channel, if the TV is left on 4Music for more than a few seconds, and then I try to change channels (either ch. up / down or direct key number) the TV does turn itself off and on again. It 'tries' to change, but there is a severe lag before it shows the channel number I've entered, but then restarts.

If I channel-hop up and down through 4Music, there's no problem (doesn't have time to 'absorb' whatever's causing the glitch).

Very strange!. There must be something in that transmission the Sony firmware doesn't like.
Well then - Sony had better fix this then and pronto !!!!

They've already had a month to sort this - ******* Sony !!!!
gush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2013, 23:33
gush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 92
I never go that far up the list to be honest, but will give it a go in a bit.

Interestingly, I've just disconnected the ethernet cable from the TV, and that has cured the problem with 4Music.
no lags, and no restarts.
Yep, same here just powered off my lan switch and 4Music stays on - power it back on and 4Music still stays on - but reselecting the channel will make the TV reboot.
gush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 09:07
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,438
Was the EX model range the budget model sony TV sets made for supermarket sale ?
No, that was the BX series (including the Beko built portables).
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 10:59
stylo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 329
For info, this problem with 4Music is now doing exactly the same on my Technika Freeview HD box (which is connected through LAN for iPlayer).
stylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 11:46
Paddy C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12,917
My old Sony TV, before I got rid of it, was behaving strangely on 4 Music and I could never figure out what it was and why it was only happening on 4 Music. Also, an old STB I used on an old portable TV didn't seem to like 4 Music either.
Paddy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 12:08
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,438

Perhaps Nigel could comment here ?
As it's not on Freeview Lite I can't even try it
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 17:05
gush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 92
This is what Sony have just sent me ...

... Thank you for contacting Sony support regarding your KDL-37EX403. We are sorry to learn that the TV switches off with 4Music channel.

In regards to your query, sadly 4Music channel is an internet channel which is not compatible your TV.

I am sorry I cannot be of greater assistance on this occasion; however I hope that my e-mail has gone some way to clarifying this matter.

Thank you for your enquiry. ...

So a Tv bought less than three years ago can suddenly as of this month no longer receive a mainstream Freeview channel UNLESS you disable the internet features of your TV or unplug the lan cable.

Thank you Sony for being so understanding !
gush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 18:02
Winston_1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,206
The Sale of Goods Act is your friend. Your contract is with your retailer not Sony. I suggest you take the set back, not fit for purpose etc.

What Sony told you is a lie. 4 Music is a Freeview channel with additional internet capabilities. As their lie is written down you have a strong case.
Winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 18:17
stylo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 329
Isn't this more of a problem created by 4Music themselves, as opposed to Sony??

I can understand a piece of equipment not being able to access certain 'features', but for a transmitted program to actually close down and restart the TV just by visiting the channel (whether intentionally or by accident) seems 4Music should actually be addressing this problem!
stylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 18:42
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,438
The Sale of Goods Act is your friend. Your contract is with your retailer not Sony. I suggest you take the set back, not fit for purpose etc.
Utter rubbish!

Unless of course the retailer specifically told you that it would receive 4Music for ever, even if 4Music themselves altered their service - which is presumably what has happened?.

I can't believe any retailer would give such a promise, and even less that a customer could prove they had.

You also wouldn't have a prayer in court - complaining that your TV wasn't fit for purpose as it doesn't do something that happened three years in the future
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 20:36
gush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 92
The fact that I have another Freeview TV - a seven year old Panasonic PX60 plasma that receives 4Music without a hiccup proves that the Sony KDL-37EX403 I have IS not fit for purpose.

4Music is not at fault in any way - it IS adhering to the Freeview standard.

I've replied to the Sony dimwit and await their response before I challenge John Lewis with my little issue.
gush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 21:17
iangrad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 768
I never thought that I would spring to the defence of a TV manufacturer BUT 4music have changed the goal posts long after the original TV was designed and made , way back in 2010 it would have been impossible to predict this would happen .

PX60 was a very very good TV and its good to hear that its OK on this channel but you could argue that its not forward compatible with all the new developments now going on in the TV / electronics area !

Sorry this is just progress and the broadcaster has changed the spec of there output .
iangrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2013, 22:04
stylo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 329
The fact that I have another Freeview TV - a seven year old Panasonic PX60 plasma that receives 4Music without a hiccup proves that the Sony KDL-37EX403 I have IS not fit for purpose.

4Music is not at fault in any way - it IS adhering to the Freeview standard.

I've replied to the Sony dimwit and await their response before I challenge John Lewis with my little issue.
Have to disagree with the above
If they have done something that affects not only certain Sonys, but other kit as well (mentioned previously), then they should correct it.
TVs / boxes 'not being compatible' with their service is one thing... recent alterations to their service which now causes crashes to existing kit is quite another.
stylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2013, 08:47
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,438
The fact that I have another Freeview TV - a seven year old Panasonic PX60 plasma that receives 4Music without a hiccup proves that the Sony KDL-37EX403 I have IS not fit for purpose.

4Music is not at fault in any way - it IS adhering to the Freeview standard.
As the offending problem is via the Internet what does that have to do with the Freeview 'standard'? - which incidentally isn't the same now as it was when the set was built anyway.

4Music have changed their service, breaking various items - totally their fault.


I've replied to the Sony dimwit and await their response before I challenge John Lewis with my little issue.
Good luck with that

You haven't got a prayer in court!.

It's 'possible' that JL 'may' do something just to get rid of you, but there's certainly no obligation of any kind for them to do so.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47.