Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Downloaded free malware yesterday asking for fee today


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29-06-2013, 10:42
wsg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 53

I downloaded the free version of malware yesterday and this morning I had an on screen message saying my free trial had ended and asked me for a renewal free I thought malware was free for any length of time?
wsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-06-2013, 10:55
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,696
Are we talking malwarebytes? My money is on at some point during download/installation it asked you if you wanted to trial the paid for version and you said yes. 24 hours is a short trial, though.
Try uninstalling it and installing the actual free version, maybe.
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2013, 11:09
wsg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 53
I asked for the malwarebytes free version
wsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2013, 11:10
Alan F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 892
..............and make sure you get it from a reliable source!
Alan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2013, 11:36
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,785
..............and make sure you get it from a reliable source!
Indeed. It sounds as though you did download malware as opposed to malwarebytes as you say in your OP!

Only download from www.malwarebytes.org,

And don't forget rule #1: Type in that address - don't click on a link from a poster you don't know! Unless your browser shows you it's genuine when you hover over it.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2013, 11:52
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,784
I asked for the malwarebytes free version
There's only the one version that downloads, and there's a tick box during the install that asks if you want to try the pro version for free for 14 days.
It's ticked by default (if I remember right), so you have to untick it to use the free version.

Even if you run the trial version by mistake it's only the live scanning part that finishes after 14 days, you can use and update the on-demand scanner for ever more. It does keep giving you annoying pop-ups about the trial being finished though.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2013, 13:00
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,486
I asked for the malwarebytes free version
Moral of the story: always read carefully what is displayed on the screen.

As above, there is a little box you have to untick on the last stage of the installation.
Stig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2013, 17:23
MeMeMeI
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 943
Just uninstall the thing
MeMeMeI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2013, 22:20
Orbitalzone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sussex
Posts: 11,278
Yeah, don't just click Next> yes> yes> default> install but read those options....Malwarebytes will install the Pro version as a trial unless you untick the option during installation regardless of the fact you clicked and downloaded the free version.
Orbitalzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2013, 11:19
wsg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 53
Thanks for all the advice guys I will uninstall and start again
wsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2013, 11:22
stud u like
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Sunny Side Of The Street
Posts: 37,937
Moral of the story: always read carefully what is displayed on the screen.

As above, there is a little box you have to untick on the last stage of the installation.
Which is often not easy! I regularly service a friend's computer. He does not look properly.
stud u like is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2013, 11:39
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,696
Which is often not easy! I regularly service a friend's computer. He does not look properly.
It IS easy if folk DO look and read through stuff properly...
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2013, 11:40
stud u like
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Sunny Side Of The Street
Posts: 37,937
It IS easy if folk DO look and read through stuff properly...
Learning disabilities don't help either. Not everyone can read or read efficiently.
stud u like is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2013, 11:43
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 63,443
It IS easy if folk DO look and read through stuff properly...
Yep. A lot of people tend to just hit the next button without properly looking at what's above the next button.
zx50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2013, 11:46
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 63,443
Learning disabilities don't help either. Not everyone can read or read efficiently.
Not meaning to be funny but if they can't read, what are they doing installing software on a computer/laptop? They could be installing anything on it.
zx50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2013, 11:50
stud u like
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Sunny Side Of The Street
Posts: 37,937
Not meaning to be funny but if they can't read, what are they doing installing software on a computer/laptop? They could be installing anything on it.
Exactly. The result is often nasty and my friend goes into a panic.

I was woken up at 2am by an anxious phone call.

https://support.google.com/bin/answe...answer=1386831

"What does this mean? Can you come round. I will pay you 10 for the inconvenience."
stud u like is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 16:13
wsg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 53
I tried again and clicked on FREE and what I got was ARO 2013 it said nothing about malwarebytes?
wsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 16:24
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,226
I tried again and clicked on FREE and what I got was ARO 2013 it said nothing about malwarebytes?
Just precisely what website did you go to and what buttons did you click on?

As an experiment I went to malwarebytes.org then clicked on the white "Free Download" button which took me to the Download.com website which has a big green "Download Now" button on it. Clicked that and it opens a new page with various other bits of software advertised on it but after a couple of seconds a box pops up asking if I want to save the file or run it.

Definitely the correct installer going by the file name. Didn't bother to download it as I'm on a Mac at the moment so not much point
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 16:59
PrimalIce
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,539
I tried again and clicked on FREE and what I got was ARO 2013 it said nothing about malwarebytes?


This is an absolute direct link to the file CLICK HERE

And It will download the installer for malware bytes. Follow the instructions carefully during setup.

I get no adverts extras or options to switch to non-free version when I tried it and I went up to the install part.
PrimalIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 18:29
mossy2103
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 57,294
I tried again and clicked on FREE and what I got was ARO 2013 it said nothing about malwarebytes?
It is likely that you went to, or were redirected to, the CNET website in order to download Malwarebytes.

The following Malwarebytes forum post suggests a similar issue caused when someone has hit the wrong download button:

http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index...22127&p=643041
mossy2103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 18:31
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 63,443
If they don't get it after clicking on the above link, something funny's going on.
zx50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:40
wsg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 53
Chrisr I used your suggestion megabytes.org and got ARO 2013 and primalice if I click on your suggestion the free download still says ARO 2013.?
wsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:46
mossy2103
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 57,294
Chrisr I used your suggestion megabytes.org and got ARO 2013 and primalice if I click on your suggestion the free download still says ARO 2013.?
Does the filename that you are asked to save in the download say mbam-setup-1.75.0.1300.exe?
mossy2103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:55
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,785


This is an absolute direct link to the file {LINK REMOVED}
And It will download the installer for malware bytes. Follow the instructions carefully during setup.

I get no adverts extras or options to switch to non-free version when I tried it and I went up to the install part.
For all I know that could well be a malicious post. Just hover over the CLICK HERE link in the original and see what comes up in the bottom line of your browser. As I warned in my own post #5, only download from the official malwarebytes site, and never, ever, click on a link where you can't see what it's pointing to.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:02
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,696
Chrisr I used your suggestion megabytes.org and got ARO 2013 and primalice if I click on your suggestion the free download still says ARO 2013.?
malwarebytes.org not megabytes.org...

I'll err on the side of caution and say you've already got some malware that is preventing malwarebytes from downloading and installing...
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:59.