Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

BT Sport, BT Sport 1, BT Sport 2 - LCNs 57,58,59


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2013, 11:28
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 970

Three new LCNs have appeared on ARQ B this morning:

57: BT Sport
58: BT Sport 1
59: BT Sport 2

Channel 57 has a promo video running with a BT Sport2 ident in the top right corner. Channels 58 and 59 are not detected by one of my Samsung TVs.
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 01-07-2013, 11:58
AngusMast
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,300
Sky Sports 1 & 2 have an MHEG saying "This service is no longer available via a TV aerial"
AngusMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 12:02
kjhskj75
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 657
41 & 42 both have full EPG data.

58 & 59 have an encryption flag set, which presumably stops them being picked up on some devices.

Interesting that they don't seem to be using 41 & 42 for the new channels. Also that the (presumably temporary) barker channel has a lower number than the real ones. Maybe they WILL move to 41/2 later.
kjhskj75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 12:18
DXRulz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 4,131
When i checked this morning, 41 & 42 were still flagged as Encrypted on my Panasonic TV but were showing the caption "This service is no longer available via a TV aerial"
DXRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 13:08
kjhskj75
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 657
When i checked this morning, 41 & 42 were still flagged as Encrypted on my Panasonic TV but were showing the caption "This service is no longer available via a TV aerial"
Have you retuned it ? There is currently no encryption flag for them on my kit.

Normally the flag is only present when encrypted channels are broadcasting video. When they are showing on an off-air caption it goes.

Can someone with better kit than mine tell whether 58 or 59 has a video stream attached ?
kjhskj75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 13:39
Bizman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Taunton, Somerset
Posts: 286
BT Sport doesn't launch until 1st August. There is no fibre optic broadband here out in the sticks, so I'll give it a miss (I'm too stingy to pay for it!).
Bizman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 19:59
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
Channels 58 and 59 are in the Network Information Table, which is where LCN information is defined for each channel. At the moment, there are no Programme Map Tables or streams added for the channels, so receiving equipment may not pick up the channels or show a message such as "selected programme is not available".

EPG data for all channels exists in the Event Information Table. For 41 and 42 it now reads "Ceased Broadcasting", 58 and 59 both carry the same details as 57 but may not appear on some equipment until the PMTs are added.

The big question now is why do they need 3 LCNs?
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 21:10
tomee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,892
Channels 58 and 59 are in the Network Information Table, which is where LCN information is defined for each channel. At the moment, there are no Programme Map Tables or streams added for the channels, so receiving equipment may not pick up the channels or show a message such as "selected programme is not available".

EPG data for all channels exists in the Event Information Table. For 41 and 42 it now reads "Ceased Broadcasting", 58 and 59 both carry the same details as 57 but may not appear on some equipment until the PMTs are added.

The big question now is why do they need 3 LCNs?
BT sports news?
tomee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 21:34
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
BT sports news?
As far as I know, that's not been announced for any other platform. Their third channel on satellite will be ESPN but they haven't said that will be available on DTT. It will be interesting to see how this unfolds.
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 21:36
mersey70
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,985
BT sports news?
Or maybe the new BT ESPN?
mersey70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 21:36
tomee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,892
As far as I know, that's not been announced for any other platform. Their third channel on satellite will be ESPN but they haven't said that will be available on DTT. It will be interesting to see how this unfolds.
We might find out what going on

on 1/8/13
tomee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 21:43
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
We might find out what going on

on 1/8/13
Well, everything should certainly be more clear when the channels go live. It just doesn't make sense that they would take an extra stream when they are planning to ultimately replace the DTT streams with IPTV.
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 21:59
Colin_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Essex
Posts: 2,792
A bit OT but I've just seen a BT Sport advert on Sky News. I thought Sky were refusing to show BTs ads?!
Colin_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 22:03
THOMO
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gateshead, Tyne and Wear.
Posts: 3,939
A bit OT but I've just seen a BT Sport advert on Sky News. I thought Sky were refusing to show BTs ads?!
Sky just refused to show them on the Sky Sports channels.
Ian.
THOMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 22:19
Bangers
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,776
A bit of a left field idea, but maybe BT will use channel 57 as a limited hours barker channel for BT Sport/BT TV in the downtime of one of their sports channels or maybe even the downtime of another channel?
Bangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 22:27
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
A bit of a left field idea, but maybe BT will use channel 57 as a limited hours barker channel for BT Sport/BT TV in the downtime of one of their sports channels or maybe even the downtime of another channel?
If they were only using their own downtime it would be more sensible to use the Sport 1 or Sport 2 stream unencrypted.

The only other downtime on Arqiva B is a 5am to 8am slot between BabestationX closing and QVC Beauty going live.
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 23:29
soulboy77
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Herts
Posts: 14,224
Three new LCNs have appeared on ARQ B this morning:

57: BT Sport
58: BT Sport 1
59: BT Sport 2

Channel 57 has a promo video running with a BT Sport2 ident in the top right corner. Channels 58 and 59 are not detected by one of my Samsung TVs.
BT could of opted for LCN nos 60, 61 and 63 and created there own Sports genre section.
soulboy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 23:30
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 21,160
A bit OT but I've just seen a BT Sport advert on Sky News. I thought Sky were refusing to show BTs ads?!
As THOMO says above, Sky are not obliged to show BT Sport adverts on Sky Sports channels*, but they are likely to be shown on other Sky channels such as Sky News, Sky One, Pick TV etc.

*see:
Sky Sports wins Ofcom ruling over BT Sport adverts
Ofcom has ruled in favour of Sky following a dispute over its decision not to carry adverts for its competitor BT Sport. The regulator said that it was reasonable for a broadcaster to discriminate against its competitors in this manner to protect its commercial interests and brand identity, Broadcast reports.
http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/media/ne...#ixzz2Xps68O92
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 23:47
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,404

The big question now is why do they need 3 LCNs?
My guess is they will use it a barker channel promoting BT Sports and other BT products at least until 1st August
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 23:51
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
BT could of opted for LCN nos 60, 61 and 63 and created there own Sports genre section.
I think the slots will have been allocated to them, they won't get to choose. As they aren't going to be generally available and restricted to BT Broadband customers, it's questionable that they should have been allocated LCNs in this range. They could have been shoved out of the way into the 300 range with TUTV.

My guess is they will use it a barker channel promoting BT Sports and other BT products at least until 1st August
They could have used either 58 or 59 or both for that, without creating an extra slot.
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:30
Winston_1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,131
So, how are these to be received?
An old TUTV box, a cam (if so which one) in your TV, or what? There seems to be little info apart that HD will also be available for some.
Winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:32
tomee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,892
So, how are these to be received?
An old TUTV box, a cam (if so which one) in your TV, or what? There seems to be little info apart that HD will also be available for some.
Well that the point of LCN 57 there lot of information there 24/7.
tomee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:37
kjhskj75
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 657
So, how are these to be received?
An old TUTV box, a cam (if so which one) in your TV, or what? There seems to be little info apart that HD will also be available for some.
Presumably on BT Vision boxes.

HD versions will not be available on DTT, only online or (possibly) Sky.
kjhskj75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:56
tomee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,892
will it be possible for BT to have free day or weekends on freeview to try and get more customers?

Like ESPN did in february 2012.
tomee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 19:25
chrisy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beds (Sandy Heath TX)
Posts: 8,416
If they were only using their own downtime it would be more sensible to use the Sport 1 or Sport 2 stream unencrypted.
Not necessarily. Encrypted channels don't even scan on some receivers - running a non-encrypted channel ensures that everybody sees it. Seems a bit overkill for the occasional promo though.
chrisy is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:56.