Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Android mini pc?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2013, 21:37
Andrew_Reid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton,UK
Posts: 84

Have you got one?
Andrew_Reid is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-07-2013, 23:39
sancheeez
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,763
I have an Android STB. With a keyboard and mouse connected, it's pretty much the same thing.

Got it to use for media (XBMC mainly) in the living room. Didn't like it. Too glitchy. It's been relegated to the spare room now and replaced with a custom built HTPC instead.

Besides, I'm not sure that "mini PC" is the right term for anything running Android. Regardless of the form factor.
sancheeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 23:51
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,654
I've not, no
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2013, 23:08
jjne
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,122
The Rockchip RK3188 is pretty impressive in this regard.

Not only does it work well with the test build of XBMC, but with a quad-core 1.8GHz processor it's capable of displaying 720p at full frame rate in software decoding mode. In hardware mode it's very swift indeed.

These little devices are improving all the time, but you need the right one and a little patience to get the best out of them.

Bought mine direct from China for 30.
jjne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2013, 05:10
Andrew_Reid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton,UK
Posts: 84
I have 2,Rikomagics MK802 lll,one running jelly bean 4.1 and the other one i upgraded the firmware,and is now running jelly bean 4.2.2.Since i upgraded my broadband in my house these little pc sticks are lighting fast.Navi-x works easily with no buffering on most of the films i stream.
Andrew_Reid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2013, 20:52
battlezone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oxford (formally Newcastle)
Posts: 1,794
I've got the Rikomagic MK802IV. It works quite well but you've got to have a decent power supply (2A output (supplied in the pack)) for everything to work right. Using a USB power supply will cause it to reboot all the time.
battlezone is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:40.