Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

USB Drive for Samsung Smart TV


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16-07-2013, 19:26
Sexbomb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 12,032

I have failed with this so far trying to use a flash drive in my tv to attempt recording programmes on it but i always get a message on the lines of the speed of the usb isn't fast enough to record on it from the tv.

Any recommendations to what device that will work?
Sexbomb is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 16-07-2013, 19:30
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,863
An HDD in a USB caddy.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2013, 19:30
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,346
I used this one, but it is sold out.

Not sure if the newer versions work but they should do.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Patriot-PEF3...ds=patriot+usb
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2013, 19:31
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,346
An HDD in a USB caddy.
I did that but the trouble is the hard drive is always running.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2013, 20:47
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 10,427
Which model is the tv?
tealady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 00:33
Sexbomb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 12,032
Which model is the tv?
UE46ES6300
Sexbomb is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 01:14
evil c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wirral Peninsula
Posts: 3,154
I have a Samsung 6 series Smart TV and have connected a 320GB portable hard drive. Mine comes on with the TV but remains dormant unless eg I pause live TV. When you say the drive is running can you actually hear it and feel it vibrate? When my drive is dormant I can change the TV channel and that's it but when the drive is active I get an extra info box after a few seconds to say it is live TV.

I also have a Patriot XT 16GB USB drive similar to that linked to by koantemplation but mine was rejected by the TV as too slow when I tried it just out of interest. It seems to be hit and miss as to whether these type of drives work with TVs, not that you can store much on a 32GB drive anyway and I would recommend buying a portable drive like this one which will work for sure and it's cheaper than the XT: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bipra-Portab...bs_computers_2
evil c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 12:47
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 10,427
I have a different model, but use a 500GB portable hard drive which works fine.
On page 61 or so of your manual it says:
"To use the Schedule Recording, follow these steps:
for LED 4500, 5400 Series : This function is not
supported.(Digital channels only)
Allows you to make a reservation to record a programme scheduled for broadcast.Set the current time first to use this function.
1.Select Schedule Manager. The Schedule Manager screen will be displayed.
2.Select a using your remote. A pop up screen will appear.
3.Select the Schedule Recording.
We recommend using a USB HDD with at least 5,400 rpm, but a USB HDD of RAID type is not supported. More than 2TB USB HDD is not supported. A USB storage device cannot record until it completes the Device Performance Test.

USB memory stick is not compatible. "

You can get a portable drive for around 40-50
tealady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 13:32
bobcar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12,249
You can get a portable drive for around 40-50
You can get a PVR for 69, okay an HD one is considerably more.

Why do people want to record direct off the TV? They obviously have a good reason for it but it's not obvious to me what that is, what have I missed?
bobcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 20:54
es6300
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 256
I use a 4gb Kingston usb stick on my es6300.

Gives me a few hours recording time. Handy when recording a channel on freesat as my pvr is freeview only.
es6300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 22:32
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 10,427
You can get a PVR for 69, okay an HD one is considerably more.

Why do people want to record direct off the TV? They obviously have a good reason for it but it's not obvious to me what that is, what have I missed?
In my case already had a sd pvr, so no point replacing it.
I can record an HD programme and also timeslip it.
tealady is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:18.