Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

What is the step up from a core 2 duo ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-07-2013, 12:02
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 13,099

Hi all,

My beloved laptop finally died on me last night after almost 5yrs of really good service. I have done the usual HDD / Memory replacements to no joy & while the CPU area is warm, it isn't hot. However the Ati Radeon 3650 MXM II graphics card is hot enough to fry eggs & bacon on, so this would probably explain the automatic turnoff within a few seconds .

I have found a repair company that can offer a repair with 90 days warranty for 30 quid with a no fix no charge policy, so if I went for that, I could make sure that it isn't anything else causing the problem.

If it is something more serious, then I am considering building up a new desktop. I currently have a Core 2 Duo desktop which is used as a media centre, so am thinking of building up something better for a home computer. I am not too bothered about gaming, as I mainly use the PS3 for gaming. I was wondering what the next step up from the core 2 duo would be ?

Many thanks
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 17-07-2013, 12:35
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
in terms of the next step up from the c2d.

anything really. a 75 processor is going to be 5-10 times faster than your current processor.

the question really for a new computer is if you go for an ssd.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 12:41
finbaar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,973
Core i3.
finbaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 13:16
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 11,011
I've got one computer with a core2duo (E6600) and another with a core i3 (2nd gen 2120).

The core i3 is better, but not by a huge margin.
Where it does win is that it's perfectly practical to use it as a Home PC and even as a Media PC with just the inbuilt graphics. It even copes with 1080p Youtubes no problem.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 13:37
bluesmurf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 191
Intel Celerons are faster these days at the same clock speed than Core 2 Duo's.

Media consumption is not really CPU intensive, Any modern Celeron, Pentium, I3, I5, I7, AMD A4, A6, A8, A10 will handle media just fine.

The biggest noticeable speed improvement will come from using a SSD.
bluesmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 14:25
Grouty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Nth East
Posts: 13,403
I went to an i7 920 from a Core 2 Duo.
Grouty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 15:26
CravenHaven
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: abusing :kitty:
Posts: 4,348
Why would you want to upgrade your processor for just a media centre? Do you know people build media centres with netbook processors? The simplest route would be to replace the Duo with a Quad of the same generation. You could get a very predictable doubling of the CPU throughput if you need it, whereas the performance gain of a newer processor will very much vary depending on the application.
CravenHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 15:54
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 13,099
Why would you want to upgrade your processor for just a media centre? Do you know people build media centres with netbook processors? The simplest route would be to replace the Duo with a Quad of the same generation. You could get a very predictable doubling of the CPU throughput if you need it, whereas the performance gain of a newer processor will very much vary depending on the application.
Sorry I didn't write it correctly, what I meant was that I currently have a core 2 duo media centre that is used for playing films & streaming sites as it is connected to my TV. What I am looking at doing is building a new desktop for general web use, printing, burning discs, converting video to dvd & video editing. In a sense it is a laptop replacement as can most probably build my own system for the same cost, if not cheaper than a laptop.
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 20:17
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Researchington
Posts: 24,539
... I was wondering what the next step up from the core 2 duo would be ?

Many thanks
An SSD or an SSD hybrid hard drive upgrade?

A next CPU up step up is usually in the order of 10%, whereas for some going SSD can mean 100s of percent improvement feel.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 20:56
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 65,976
I went to an i7 920 from a Core 2 Duo.
I bet i7s have insane speed. There'll hardly be anything out there that will take up all 7 cores. Not many things anyway. Add a graphics card with loads of threads (or whatever) on and image intensive webpages should be an absolute breeze.
zx50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 22:41
kyllerbuzcut
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,739
It depends what you want to do with it, but you could check out a general list of amazon gaming PCs here

They are called "gaming PCs" but that just usually means they've got dedicated graphics processors. Even to most people not playing games it means they are able to use more of the ram they have because the graphics chip is doing more of the work instead of the ram being eaten up for certain tasks.

So by checking out some of those PCs you can see what people have said about them and decide if you think one might be the type to go for.
kyllerbuzcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 23:21
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Researchington
Posts: 24,539
There'll hardly be anything out there that will take up all 7 cores.
Zilch. The 7 bit of the Core i7 nameology is more a pricing tag/label. It usually has a larger cache and commonly has 4 cores, though 2 core and 6 core ones do exist.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 06:56
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,419
Take a look at the 'bare bones' systems at novatech co uk. Its a case, motherboard, ram, CPU and you add you choice of hard drive and DVD (monitor, keyboard and mouse). An AMD bare bones is a couple of hundred quid and is a good machine at budget level, i5 based start at about 270. You will need to add an operating system.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 18:58
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 13,099
An SSD or an SSD hybrid hard drive upgrade?

A next CPU up step up is usually in the order of 10%, whereas for some going SSD can mean 100s of percent improvement feel.
I would love an SSD upgrade, but sadly I don't think that I have enough vital organs to sell to cover the cost. . Thanks for the suggestion tho it is much appreciated .

It depends what you want to do with it, but you could check out a general list of amazon gaming PCs here


They are called "gaming PCs" but that just usually means they've got dedicated graphics processors. Even to most people not playing games it means they are able to use more of the ram they have because the graphics chip is doing more of the work instead of the ram being eaten up for certain tasks.

So by checking out some of those PCs you can see what people have said about them and decide if you think one might be the type to go for.
Thanks for the link, I will check out the specs so I can have an idea of modern machines with decent capabilities.


Take a look at the 'bare bones' systems at novatech co uk. Its a case, motherboard, ram, CPU and you add you choice of hard drive and DVD (monitor, keyboard and mouse). An AMD bare bones is a couple of hundred quid and is a good machine at budget level, i5 based start at about 270. You will need to add an operating system.
I must admit that does sound like a great deal, However in the past when I used to build & repair computers for a living, it always seemed to be hardware repairs like replacement CPU's on AMD machines & software reinstall on Intel based machines. For that reason, I'm afraid that I did go against AMD & become an Intel Fanboi. . Thanks for the information tho, I will check it out
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 19:13
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Researchington
Posts: 24,539
I would love an SSD upgrade.......I must admit that does sound like a great deal,
A hybrid or a smallish SSD are both about 50 each.
Maybe a faster deal than 270 as a 2nd machine.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 21:26
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 13,099
A hybrid or a smallish SSD are both about 50 each.
Maybe a faster deal than 270 as a 2nd machine.
That is the thing tho, I really need a second machine, my media center is on almost 24/7 with the exception on standby mode, it is connected up to my main television for watching films & shows in the living room, and then films are shared over the home network via DLNA, so that I can get access to all of my films from the TV in the bedroom. Basically I only use my media center computer as a media center. Another computer would be ideal for web use & video editing.
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 15:40
Ellie666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Spooner Drive, Quahog
Posts: 1,728
an SSD is not going to give you your best improvement performances - a decent hdd, a decent mobo and lots of fast good memory will all be cheaper and better
Ellie666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 15:47
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
an SSD is not going to give you your best improvement performances - a decent hdd, a decent mobo and lots of fast good memory will all be cheaper and better
really? that is not my experience.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 16:13
Ellie666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Spooner Drive, Quahog
Posts: 1,728
the reality is current SSD's offer no great improvement over the better, faster HDD's out there in everyday realistic use.
there will always be specialist programs that can utilise their "speed"
the next gen disks will be quicker I'm sure but the cost for the time being will be incredibly hard for most people to justify
Ellie666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 18:05
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
the reality is current SSD's offer no great improvement over the better, faster HDD's out there in everyday realistic use.
there will always be specialist programs that can utilise their "speed"
the next gen disks will be quicker I'm sure but the cost for the time being will be incredibly hard for most people to justify
You are completely wrong I'm afraid. Unless you are posting from 10 years ago.

SSD is not just about the transfer rate (which is many times faster than HDD anyway,) it's about the seek times which are between one tenth and one hundredth that of HDD. Even the fastest HDD are not even close.

I can only assume you have never used an SSD because the difference is amazing.

I quote that resonated with me was a guy saying that he no longer had his jpeg's associated with the photo viewer. He has them associated with Photoshop, because they both opened in the same amount of time.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 21:15
CravenHaven
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: abusing :kitty:
Posts: 4,348
I am sure you two are only different in what improvements you refer to. An SSD will load OS & programs faster. It will do little to edit videos quicker, that depends more on processor to memory.
CravenHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 12:46
Grouty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Nth East
Posts: 13,403
Just got my SSD fitted, and jesus, its flippin fast! , got the Crucial M5 960gb.

By the time ive blinked, me Windows is all loaded up ready to go
Grouty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 15:55
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 11,011
Just got my SSD fitted, and jesus, its flippin fast! , got the Crucial M5 960gb.

By the time ive blinked, me Windows is all loaded up ready to go
I just got an email from Ebuyer about that today.
450. Blimey you can buy a relatively high powered computer for that?
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 18:39
Grouty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Nth East
Posts: 13,403
I just got an email from Ebuyer about that today.
450. Blimey you can buy a relatively high powered computer for that?
They just dropped the price a bit, was dearer the other day
Grouty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 21:06
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 65,976
SSDs will have to come down quite a bit in price before I get one for my future desktop. Unless it's only high storage ones that are expensive.
zx50 is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:49.