Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Three's extreme throttling


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-07-2013, 17:41
unknown17
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wrexham :-(
Posts: 3,595

I think Three is one of the best networks as they're the only one that has All You Can Eat data but between 4pm and Midnight the the service is disgustingly slow. Is this necessary? and is there any way to get around this?
unknown17 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 17-07-2013, 17:44
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,748
If they are throttling i'd assume it is because of major local congestion (unlikely if it is a recently upgraded area) or due to huge usage or torrents.

Thine?
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 17:47
unknown17
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wrexham :-(
Posts: 3,595
If they are throttling i'd assume it is because of major local congestion (unlikely if it is a recently upgraded area) or due to huge usage or torrents.

Thine?


I live in a village in the countryside and I think most people round here are on EE so there can't be much congestion. I do use the internet quite a lot though.
unknown17 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 17:58
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,371
I use the Internet alot too on AYCE data plan and I can count on one hand in the last year where our Internet was on a go slow. Even when it was a few hours later or the following day everything is back to normal.

I know that doesn't help you but just an insight from another Three user
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 18:00
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,748


I live in a village in the countryside and I think most people round here are on EE so there can't be much congestion. I do use the internet quite a lot though.
Thine Wonk is a contributor on here who knows a lot about Three (more than me) who may be able to shed some light.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 18:09
Chris1973
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 231
I'm also rural and use Three as my sole household internet connection. No problems with any throttling in this area, I get around 10mbs - 12 mbs speeds routinely, especially weekends and evenings when I tend to use it the most. So I guess the slowdowns you are getting are not part of network wide peak time throttling.

The only time i've read about three being slowed down, are if the local mast is congested, or on some occasions, if people are trying to tether their phone on a non tethering tariff.
Chris1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 20:59
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,980
As far as I know you just get what's available, the only way you get throttled is by torrenting or doing something that breaks the rules like tethering when you have no tethering on your account etc.

It's likely the rural site just has microwave, possibly older slower microwave backhaul and there are some other heavy users on the cell.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 21:59
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,578
What tariff are you on?
What is your daily/monthly usage?
Do you tether?
Do you use P2P?
What device do you use?
What speeds do you see during the day?
What speeds do you see during 4-12?
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 22:16
scooby1970
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Neath
Posts: 2,303
I think Three is one of the best networks as they're the only one that has All You Can Eat data but between 4pm and Midnight the the service is disgustingly slow. Is this necessary? and is there any way to get around this?
I've never been throttled while downloading on Three, and I live in a busy city. Always get consistent speeds of around 12mbps.

Mark
scooby1970 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 22:35
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,371
Lol why do i keep seeing the words ''Three'' and ''Throttled''?, they dont throttle if your paying for all you can eat
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 22:58
thebennyboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pontypridd - South Wales, UK
Posts: 130
Lol why do i keep seeing the words ''Three'' and ''Throttled''?, they dont throttle if your paying for all you can eat
They do throttle p2p, but only during peak times.
thebennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 22:59
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,001
I've never been throttled while downloading on Three, and I live in a busy city. Always get consistent speeds of around 12mbps.

Mark
Same I've never been throttled and always had 10-15Mb in major places [Upgraded masts]. Recently started getting 8-12MB at home. I tether a fair bit [500-2GB a month] never effected me. It is confusing that people seem to get throttled I think it must just be congestion.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 23:02
thebennyboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pontypridd - South Wales, UK
Posts: 130
Same I've never been throttled and always had 10-15Mb in major places [Upgraded masts]. Recently started getting 8-12MB at home. I tether a fair bit [500-2GB a month] never effected me. It is confusing that people seem to get throttled I think it must just be congestion.
Speeds on Three will also depend on the handset, signal strength, signal type (HSPA, HSDPA or DC-HSDPA). The only reason you would be slowed down is due to congestion or a fault on a mast. They only throttle p2p.
thebennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 01:15
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 986
I live in London and don't get throttled. They don't throttle, the most likely reason is congestion. Call them up and ask, my area was suffering for a time and was quickly fixed a week later.
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 01:42
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,748
This is what i thought. Glad everyone else thinks the same.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 09:48
scooby1970
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Neath
Posts: 2,303
They do throttle p2p, but only during peak times.
Can't say I've noticed this at all, and I download torrents at all times of day and night.

Mark
scooby1970 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 11:08
jaffboy151
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Stone, Staffordshire
Posts: 721
I'm on three and I rarely get above 3mbps on average on my iPhone 4S, at times it can jump to 6 or 8 but only in early mornings when I'm driving past the mast and doing a speed test..
jaffboy151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 11:24
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,001
I'm on three and I rarely get above 3mbps on average on my iPhone 4S, at times it can jump to 6 or 8 but only in early mornings when I'm driving past the mast and doing a speed test..
Well it depends are you in an ultrafast area according to coverage checker. Plus the phone itself will be limiting you as most it can theoretically get is 14.4mbs.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 11:48
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,748
The 4S Generally maxes out at under 10.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 16:35
jaffboy151
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Stone, Staffordshire
Posts: 721
Well it depends are you in an ultrafast area according to coverage checker. Plus the phone itself will be limiting you as most it can theoretically get is 14.4mbs.
My home area in stone - staffordshire is ultra fast and has been for sometime but I never get more then 3.5 -4mbps with full signal, mrs jaffboy has an iPhone 5 on EE and gets the same signal and download speed as me, I know three use a lot of the same masts as EE but surely they don't use the same backhaul bits do they?
My work area in Telford Shropshire is not ultra fast, the only one in the area according to 3's checker but I do get better downloads speeds on the whole at around 5 - 6mbps which I don't understand.. It's say the mast has work due on the 24th do maybe its going ultra fast, will have to check then..
jaffboy151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 17:02
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,001
My home area in stone - staffordshire is ultra fast and has been for sometime but I never get more then 3.5 -4mbps with full signal, mrs jaffboy has an iPhone 5 on EE and gets the same signal and download speed as me, I know three use a lot of the same masts as EE but surely they don't use the same backhaul bits do they?
My work area in Telford Shropshire is not ultra fast, the only one in the area according to 3's checker but I do get better downloads speeds on the whole at around 5 - 6mbps which I don't understand.. It's say the mast has work due on the 24th do maybe its going ultra fast, will have to check then..
Interesting your wife should get faster speeds than that on an iPhone 5 and actually the backhaul for three and EE is identical [Upgraded masts] it uses Fujitsu Virgin Media. Though I have heard in some rural areas that BT fiber is used to give the backhaul as well not sure how true that is Lucan can you confirm that?. If your wife isn't getting the high speeds it might be a backhaul issue on your mast as expect it uses a microwave backhaul as stone is a rural sort of area.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 18:20
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,748
All depends if the site both are connecting to is upgraded and also has the latest backhaul. As you can see from Three's maps there are still large holes (which applies to both EE/3). Saying that a consistent 4mb isn't too bad if the backhaul is still to be done.

The fact your both very similar suggest the MBNL site is yet to be lit up for DC-HSDPA or has been and is seeing huge traffic + won't see more until the GigabitE backhaul is in place or a new microwave dish is in pace and pointing to another site that has.

What are speeds like early morning ie midnight to 7am? Also is she on a T-mobile plan that is limited to 4mb?
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 18:42
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,371
The 4S Generally maxes out at under 10.
Fastest I've seen on my 4s is 10.66 mbps. Fast enough for everything really.....
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 18:50
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,001
Fastest I've seen on my 4s is 10.66 mbps. Fast enough for everything really.....
Completely agree on that one I think 8-10 is about the speed you need for anything including hd streaming. Anything else is just a bonus to you.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 11:03
jaffboy151
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Stone, Staffordshire
Posts: 721
Well as I have the good fortune of getting up for work @ 4:30am I thought I'd do a little off peak testing outside at home in Stone, 2 identical tests done at the same time with the same signal strength gave around 4mbps on mrs jaffboy's iPhone 5 on EE, which to suggests her T mobile full monty package is capped at 4mbps maybe, my 4s on three gave around 5mbps and was a bit irratic while doing it, so still not exactly ultra fast, back at work in Telford @ 6am outside in my none ultra high speed area, I was getting a much more steady 7 - 8mbps so still much higher then supposed high speed Stone,
The only things I can think as to why its so slow is some form of capping, but I thought 3 didn't do this, or as I'm not sure where the Mast is exactly ( there are lots and lots of masts in the area in and around stone, nearly all don't seem to have any microwave dishes on them so are no doubt fibre fed) we do have the m6 fairly close by to my side of Stone so maybe either a lot of traffic from there is using my mast too even though there are ones alongside the motorway or they share the backhaul in some way via a dish or underground..
Do wish it would improve to around 13-15mbps as my household BB is only 4mbps and slowly getting worse as the months roll by, so it would be great to have another high speed alternative..
jaffboy151 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:16.