Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Kindle Fire going to U.S. amazon :(


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-07-2013, 18:20
Jeredin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 338

Ive inherited my fathers kindle fire hd and ive been trying to set it up for myself for days now. My problem is that Ive done a factory reset and registered it with my amazon.co.uk account but when I click on apps to go to the app store it always goes to the U.S store at amazon.com and not the uk store at co.uk, prices are also in dollars and when I try to purchase it says I do not have a registered U.S credit card to use with this device.
How can I stop it going to the U.S. amazon please?
Jeredin is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-07-2013, 14:14
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,884
I see that under Manage Your Kindle on the Amazon web site there are two items of interest: Manage Your Devices and Country Settings.

Could one or both of these fix your problem? Otherwise if it were me, the next step for me would be to go to Kindle Support.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 15:19
paulbrock
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wapping, London
Posts: 15,851
I know when I first started using the Amazon app store, I made an Amazon account for the US. I can still use this one, but now have a separate account for the UK.

So I think any country settings are on the account, rather than the device. If that's any help.
paulbrock is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 18:34
Jeredin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 338
Thanks for taking the time to reply. Ive tried both of those mentioned but it still reverts back to amazon.com. Ive looked at just deleting my amazon.com account but they make it extremely hard to do so, I emailed them through customer support and they say they cannot help me via email and I must ring them.
Jeredin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2013, 00:36
Lumstorm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 177
I didn't think there was any difference in accounts between Amazon US and UK. I set up my original Amazon account with the US site and later found it worked in the UK. It was only with Amazon JPN I needed to make a new account to order.
Lumstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2013, 08:14
ssr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 203
Could this help?

Got a US Kindle Fire HD 7" / 2nd Gen Fire - Here's how to get UK services and apps

First up, you will want to download and install the latest software update:

Kindle Fire HD 7" software update version 7.2.1 from Amazon here : http://www.amazon.com...

Kindle Fire 2nd Gen software update version 10.2.1 from Amazon here : http://www.amazon.com...

The update doesn't seem to be available from the auto update system at the moment, so you will need to download it and transfer it yourself. The file is 536mb so it may take a little while to download.

Once you have the file on your computer, you need to transfer it to the kindleupdates folder on your Fire HD. If you can't see the Kindle Fire when it's plugged into your computer, you may need to download some additional software here: http://www.kuforum.co.uk...

When the file has transferred, pull down the system menu from the top and go to More and then Device > About > Update your Kindle and the software update will begin.

Once the software update is installed, pull down the system menu and select More > Language and Keyboard and make sure these are set to the UK settings.

If you are not seeing the UK app store, music and movies when you try to access content, you may need to do one or more of the following :

1. De-register your Kindle Fire and then re-register it to your account. To do this, select More > My Account > Deregister and then choose to re-register to your UK account.

2. Turn on location services so the services know where you are located : Go to More > Location Based Services > Enable ...

The UK appstore, music, and everything else should all be fully functional now. Happy Kindling Big Grin
ssr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2013, 10:26
Jeredin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 338
Could this help?

Got a US Kindle Fire HD 7" / 2nd Gen Fire - Here's how to get UK services and apps

First up, you will want to download and install the latest software update:

Kindle Fire HD 7" software update version 7.2.1 from Amazon here : http://www.amazon.com...

Kindle Fire 2nd Gen software update version 10.2.1 from Amazon here : http://www.amazon.com...

The update doesn't seem to be available from the auto update system at the moment, so you will need to download it and transfer it yourself. The file is 536mb so it may take a little while to download.

Once you have the file on your computer, you need to transfer it to the kindleupdates folder on your Fire HD. If you can't see the Kindle Fire when it's plugged into your computer, you may need to download some additional software here: http://www.kuforum.co.uk...

When the file has transferred, pull down the system menu from the top and go to More and then Device > About > Update your Kindle and the software update will begin.

Once the software update is installed, pull down the system menu and select More > Language and Keyboard and make sure these are set to the UK settings.

If you are not seeing the UK app store, music and movies when you try to access content, you may need to do one or more of the following :

1. De-register your Kindle Fire and then re-register it to your account. To do this, select More > My Account > Deregister and then choose to re-register to your UK account.

2. Turn on location services so the services know where you are located : Go to More > Location Based Services > Enable ...

The UK appstore, music, and everything else should all be fully functional now. Happy Kindling Big Grin
Thanks for trying to help. Its fully updated to latest version, there is no 'location based services'option (mustbe just a HD thing) and ive de registered and reregistered loads of times, even trying a different account and fake American one as when I try to download even free apps it says I don't have a us credit card associated with this. When I reregister it doesn't give u the option to register using a uk or us amazon account, just autiomatically the us one.
Jeredin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2013, 16:33
grumpyoldbat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,512
I'd call AmazonUK telephone support and talk to them. Explain the problem, they might be able to diagnose the issue and get it fixed.
grumpyoldbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2013, 18:12
thms
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 54,198
have you seen this help page?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/help/cust...deId=200504740
thms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2013, 23:38
Jeredin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 338
[quote=thms;67296182]have you seen this help page?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/help/cust...deId=200504740[/QUOTEYes.thanks for trying.Ive done all that and changed my country etc and it still goes to us site grrrr.
Jeredin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 10:20
Inkblot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: West London
Posts: 21,210
I'm probably barking up the wrong tree, but is there any possibility that your internet connection is not being recognised as originating in the UK?
Inkblot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 16:04
grassmarket
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 16,999
I'm afraid there is no chance of this getting fixed within the standard Amazon build. Amazon themselves just don't want people to be able to do this - I've had one of the original US Kindles for a couple of years now and have never been able to get it to relocate itself.
grassmarket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 20:24
ssr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 203
This may be your only option

http://reviews.cnet.co.uk/ipad-and-t...e-hd-50010451/
ssr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 22:16
Jeredin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 338
Inkblot, no its nothing to do with that, its to do with it being bought from the US before they were available over here .

Grassmarket....at last.....someome else with the same problem, I thought I was going mad cos no-one seemed to know what I was on about lol.

ssr...farrrrrrrr too complicated for me to even attempt lol. thanks for everyone trying to help though.
Jeredin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:39.