Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

pc ram question


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-07-2013, 20:29
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,317

i am seeking some more memory for my pc but not sure what i needs can anyone help?

this is what i got so far processor is intel r pent r 4 3.20 ghz 3.19 ghz 2047 mb ram 32-bit op system i do have 2 memory slots 1 of which is empty.

thanks
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-07-2013, 20:33
mike1948
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,897
i am seeking some more memory for my pc but not sure what i needs can anyone help?

this is what i got so far processor is intel r pent r 4 3.20 ghz 3.19 ghz 2047 mb ram 32-bit op system i do have 2 memory slots 1 of which is empty.

thanks
Try this site.
http://www.mrmemory.co.uk/
mike1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2013, 20:34
Johnbee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,258
Take it in to PC World, and ask them to add some RAM. Alternatively, look in the Post Office window, there will be an ad for someone who will do a memory installation.
Johnbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2013, 20:43
Sniffle774
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Planet Mongo.
Posts: 19,210
These guys have a nifty little tool that tells you what you can fit in your machine.
Sniffle774 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2013, 20:54
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,411
2gb will be fine really...try running ccleaner and then a defrag of the hard drive if things are running slowly as that will have more of an impact than slapping an extra 1gb into a machine for most people (since its 32 bit and will only see 3gb and a bit max)
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2013, 21:33
Pucky
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,159
You can also run a memory tester from crucial.com. That will tell you what RAM you have and what you need. IIRC it links also to the page where you can buy it from.
Pucky is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2013, 22:16
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,758
As you have a 32bit OS you may as well just have a look at what you have in the one slot already and buy an identical stick. 32 bit operating systems can't use more than about 3.5GB of RAM anyway so no point going for anything more.

If you have any doubts about what's in there use the scanning tool at Crucial

http://www.crucial.com/uk/
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:37.