Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

EE Double Speed - Coverage Map


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24-07-2013, 14:14
Synthetic42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 245

Just noticed they've integrated this into the coverage map, for my area (Newcastle) it now shows:

UPGRADED TO DOUBLE SPEED 4G
Great news, the 4G network in this area has been upgraded to double speed 4G. This means everything is even faster than before, like uploading large files or downloading a film from EE's Film Store.

Nice addition I think
Synthetic42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 24-07-2013, 15:53
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4,099
Nice. Just read 4G coverage is at around 60% now and in 95 towns & cities! (by pop)
The Lord Lucan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 16:53
uno
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 242
Still no sign of 4G in Market Harborough where my office is based despite EE promising it would be by June/July.
I have noticed while driving around Leicestershire this week that there has been a lot of times where I have had no service or only 2G in areas where I know there is good LTE coverage, i presume they are working on the masts for the double speed upgrades.
uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 16:54
Synthetic42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 245
Just read that also, and still aiming for 98% 4G coverage by 2014 apparently
Synthetic42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 17:11
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4,099
Still no sign of 4G in Market Harborough where my office is based despite EE promising it would be by June/July.
I have noticed while driving around Leicestershire this week that there has been a lot of times where I have had no service or only 2G in areas where I know there is good LTE coverage, i presume they are working on the masts for the double speed upgrades.
Where did you see info for Market Harborough?
The Lord Lucan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 18:49
uno
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 242
Our business account manager told us it would be late June/July as they were going to be doing the area after Leicester but coverage seems to stop 3 miles south of city then nothing until Milton Keynes.
The account manager told us that as the masts in Market Harborough are very old with always 1-2mb download and 1mb upload that they would go straight to 4G as part MBNL as they are mostly former Orange masts. Since the masts were put up the size of the town and busineses has exploded with lots of new housing areas and apartments for commuters to London. EE have such a bad reputation round here for poor speeds I hope they get it sorted soon.
uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 19:45
heidtheba
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Isle of lewis
Posts: 306
Bit misleading imo.....

Double speed 4g ? Still nowhere near other countries LTE, which isn't even 4g.....

What topline speed are they claiming ?
heidtheba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 20:24
japaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 911
Bit misleading imo.....

Double speed 4g ? Still nowhere near other countries LTE, which isn't even 4g.....

What topline speed are they claiming ?
What do you mean nowhere near other countries? No one is doing anything faster than EE's Cat 4 150 Mb/s although there are quite a few now that are the same like SK Telecom, Singtel, Vodafone Aus... The only issue is that apart from a few Huawei devices most can't get the full whack (although they still benefit from double speed).
japaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 21:07
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4,099
Bit misleading imo.....

Double speed 4g ? Still nowhere near other countries LTE, which isn't even 4g.....

What topline speed are they claiming ?
Best you check the actual specs before commenting!
The Lord Lucan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 21:12
mogzyboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,869
Has anybody experienced the double speed yet? Any speedtests to show? Just curious as to how fast it goes.
mogzyboy is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2013, 21:51
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,600
Bit misleading imo.....

Double speed 4g ? Still nowhere near other countries LTE, which isn't even 4g.....

What topline speed are they claiming ?
20mbps+
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 05:57
davybhoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,198
Has anybody experienced the double speed yet? Any speedtests to show? Just curious as to how fast it goes.
Belfast wasn't said to be double speed but I'm yet to find a 4G mast that isn't double speed. This is the best I've seen -

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k825cfnbbb...2011.17.14.png
davybhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 06:23
bigpete15
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ballymena
Posts: 212
Belfast wasn't said to be double speed but I'm yet to find a 4G mast that isn't double speed. This is the best I've seen -

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k825cfnbbb...2011.17.14.png
Just checked a couple of postcodes, showing on the map as double speed.
Belfast, Newcastle and Southampton announced as double speed in yesterday's press release

Great speed test....I think it's remarkable that mobile can now outperform fttc & cable
bigpete15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 07:58
Synthetic42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 245
Double speed in Newcastle a couple of days ago

http://i42.tinypic.com/2s1sx9h.jpg
Synthetic42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 11:53
squawkBOX
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Central Scotland, UK
Posts: 821
Can someone provide a little more information as to what "double speed" LTE is? Is it a particular revision of the LTE spec or are more MHz given to LTE in that area?
squawkBOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 11:55
Synthetic42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 245
Can someone provide a little more information as to what "double speed" LTE is? Is it a particular revision of the LTE spec or are more MHz given to LTE in that area?
20MHZ rather than 10MHZ I believe
Synthetic42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 13:20
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,179
20MHZ rather than 10MHZ I believe
Actually 40MHz [20MHz on the upload and 20MHz on the Download] where before it was 20MHz [10MHz upload and 10MHz download]
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 13:25
squawkBOX
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Central Scotland, UK
Posts: 821
Actually 40MHz [20MHz on the upload and 20MHz on the Download] where before it was 20MHz [10MHz upload and 10MHz download]
Would that be expressed as 2x20MHz?
squawkBOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 13:57
Synthetic42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 245
^^^^^ That's what I was getting at, but that's where the "double" comes from
Synthetic42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 14:13
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,179
Would that be expressed as 2x20MHz?
It would be yes.

^^^^^ That's what I was getting at, but that's where the "double" comes from
Sorry I wasn't sure if you were or not.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 21:57
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 4,099
So lets talk about Double Speed on O2 or Vodafone with 800....
The Lord Lucan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2013, 22:16
japaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 911
So lets talk about Double Speed on O2 or Vodafone with 800....
Voda 2600...
japaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 06:57
Synthetic42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 245
It would be yes.



Sorry I wasn't sure if you were or not.
No worries, you explained it better than me anyway
Synthetic42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 10:24
PollyPerm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 72
I wish they'd also include if the area has been upgraded to DC-HSPA. They've even removed all reference to their coverage from the network pages on the site. The last they said anything about it, it was only 40% coverage.
PollyPerm is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 11:31
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,600
I wish they'd also include if the area has been upgraded to DC-HSPA. They've even removed all reference to their coverage from the network pages on the site. The last they said anything about it, it was only 40% coverage.
They do....

Check the coverage checker.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:23.