Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Sony FAIL with PS4


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-07-2013, 18:26
Ash_735
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 8,077

Here we go guys, something for you Xbox fans, first bit of bad news for the PS4 and it's a biggie, Sony have failed big time with their OS by reserving a whopping 3.5GB for the system resources!!!

That means games will only have access to 4.5GB of the RAM, where as on Xbox One, they'll have access to 5.0GB of RAM. Could we be seeing a repeat of this generation where Xbox games make better use of the RAM available whilst the PlayStation versions struggle behind? Maybe so.

The almighty Richard Leadbetter of EuroGamer has spoken! Read about it Here

Scene set, and, go...
Ash_735 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-07-2013, 18:27
2Dshmuplover
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 8,099
Damn this is terrible, terrible news.
2Dshmuplover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 18:39
chopoff
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,726
But have you seen Titanfall? Oh wait, that doesn't work.

But no, from reading that - looks like the Vita thing, OS will scale back - I imagine that is the 'flexible' memory, so games will have 5.5GB, but will need to be prepared to dump 1GB of it.

I find this very interesting, given they were going to go with 4GB originally.

What were their plans then? Games have 512MB RAM?
chopoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 18:46
TVScourge
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: County Antrim
Posts: 377
I don't understand. What difference would it make playing different versions of the same video game between PS4 and X1?
TVScourge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 18:47
kendoguk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: My Bedroom
Posts: 8,544
Where's everyone that was here slagging the X1 for only having 5 now then?
kendoguk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 18:48
chopoff
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,726
http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showpost...postcount=2073

This guy does post some legit stuff, mainly to do with sales figures so he may know people. It makes sense, but who knows.

Given that Sony's OS isn't doing TV, isn't handling the same level of stuff Kinect will be pumping out, isn't having snapped apps, all that kind of stuff it seems very high.

I mean the bloaty versions Windows don't need that much and this is based on a lean BSD!
chopoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 18:49
chopoff
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,726
Where's everyone that was here slagging the X1 for only having 5 now then?
I don't recall every seeing a post slagging it off for that.
chopoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 18:51
kendoguk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: My Bedroom
Posts: 8,544
I do in the countless E3 threads it happened.
kendoguk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 18:53
chopoff
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,726
I do in the countless E3 threads it happened.
The posts I recall were more aimed at the OS reservation being excessive not that 5GB isn't enough. And it is excessive. I just posted that above.
chopoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 18:58
kendoguk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: My Bedroom
Posts: 8,544
Ah we'll maybe it was like that but I bet most of the people on here won't say sony is using excessive amounts.
kendoguk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:01
PunksNotDead
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3,973
Damn this is terrible, terrible news.
PunksNotDead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:06
chopoff
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,726
We need whoever,hey to get in here quick, mind you she's always so vague
chopoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:08
Jimmy_McNulty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, M.D
Posts: 10,537
Moral of the story: Buy a PC.
Jimmy_McNulty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:11
f_196
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 10,233
0.5GB difference? Oh noes!

Is it the end for PS4 already?

Nah. I lose 0.5GB down the back of the sofa these days.
f_196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:35
KillerCloud
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 961
Wow with this news and the general xbone fail I'm calling it a Nintendo victory by default.
KillerCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:48
gamercraig
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5,874
This is what happens when manufacturers add a load of superfluous crap to games machines
gamercraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:50
chopoff
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,726
Wow with this news and the general xbone fail I'm calling it a Nintendo victory by default.
Yeah screw 5.5GB of GDDR5 RAM. Choose 1GB or crappy RAM instead.
chopoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:52
redhatmatt
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5,069
That will be horrible bloat if true. FFS. Why does a video game OS need that much ram? :S Its more than most desktop operating systems. But reading the article, it sounds like a lay over from when the console only had 4gb of Ram. Future dev kit revisions may have more.
redhatmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:52
Flawed-Tactics
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,622
Damn this is terrible, terrible news.
That's gotta be sarcasm lol

Bad news from Sony good news for MS. Such is life.

Sony had a good run but I don't think this will curb folks thirst for all things PS4.

PS3 has done ok out of having divided memory, can't see half a gig making a huge difference, so relax.
Flawed-Tactics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:53
ixHellstormx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Console and PC gamer.
Posts: 2,093
Moral of the story: Buy a PC.
I did
ixHellstormx is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:55
Flawed-Tactics
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,622
That will be horrible bloat if true. FFS. Why does a video game OS need that much ram? :S Its more than most desktop operating systems
It's all the frigging crap they add to make it 'cutting edge'.
Flawed-Tactics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 19:57
Hotbird
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,112
wow.... how bloated is their OS

I would hope that its just a case of holding back what they consider unneeded memory in case the OS requires more in the future and if it doesn't they can release more memory to the gaming side of things later (I am just thinking Sony probably don't want to be left in a situation again were they don't have enough memory to copy a popular Xbox 1 feature like PS3 couldn't copy cross game chat because of limited memory) . But I don't know if that is realistic at all.
Hotbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 20:00
redhatmatt
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5,069
I hope this is because the console itself only originally had 4gb of RAM the dev kits have not been updated to take into account of this.
redhatmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 20:11
2Dshmuplover
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 8,099
That will be horrible bloat if true. FFS. Why does a video game OS need that much ram? :S Its more than most desktop operating systems. But reading the article, it sounds like a lay over from when the console only had 4gb of Ram. Future dev kit revisions may have more.
Multitasking is why. It was blatantly obvious the OS reservation was gong to be more than 1GB if Sony planned to run media apps in parallel with games. It's something they had to do really to compete with Microsoft. Like the X1, two CPU cores are also confirmed to be reserved for the OS functions leaving six available to developers.

4.5gb of RAM is still a huge amount for a console, Sony should of perhaps been a little more honest about things though. Now the question is how good is Sony's software? We haven't yet seen any demonstration of the multitasking and how fluent it will be.
2Dshmuplover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2013, 20:29
redhatmatt
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5,069
Multitasking is why. It was blatantly obvious the OS reservation was gong to be more than 1GB if Sony planned to run media apps in parallel with games. It's something they had to do really to compete with Microsoft. Like the X1, two CPU cores are also confirmed to be reserved for the OS functions leaving six available to developers.

4.5gb of RAM is still a huge amount for a console, Sony should of perhaps been a little more honest about things though. Now the question is how good is Sony's software? We haven't yet seen any demonstration of the multitasking and how fluent it will be.
Console multi-tasking shouldn't take that amount though. I think it is quite likely that initial revisions of the dev kit only included 4gb of RAM on the assumption the console included a similar amount. A Youview box can do all the media functions of an Xbox One/PS4 on 512mb of RAM A Play TV box could record video on 64mb of RAM. A XEGO (Made by sony) could encode six HD streams on 512mb of XDR
redhatmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:02.