Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Anybody trying Windows 8.1 Pro Preview?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27-07-2013, 13:05
jazzydrury3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,973

If so what Anti Virus program, are you using, as ive just noticed its knocked out my Norton
jazzydrury3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 27-07-2013, 13:07
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,708
You know Windows 8 and 8.1 have built-in antivirus, you don't need to purchase any other unless you really want to.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2013, 13:09
jazzydrury3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,973
Any idea how id set it up
jazzydrury3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2013, 13:39
GeordiePaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,227
Any idea how id set it up
I think its pretty much set up for you out of the box, as long as you've got automatic updates turned on.
GeordiePaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2013, 13:47
cat's whiskas
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 584
I think its pretty much set up for you out of the box, as long as you've got automatic updates turned on.
Mine wasn't on even though updates were turned on.
It's called Windows Defender and can be found in the All Apps screen. Click on that and it'll tell you if it's on or not, if not on then turn it on there.
cat's whiskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2013, 13:56
jazzydrury3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,973
Yeah just noticed it, ive just installed baidu ill try that
jazzydrury3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2013, 16:05
oilman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 691
Windows 8.1 has caused a lot of issues with 3rd party antivirus software. Norton have an update (beta) for their products.

Personally I do not trust MS to be as good as 3rd parties whose whole liveliehood depends on producing quality av software.

If you are using 8.1 via a virtual machine, then use of MS av software is probably adequate, as the vm hd is a selfcontained environment. Even if you copy from vm to real machine, the av software in real machine should detect any issues.
oilman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:31.