Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Auto Updates on Vita


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27-07-2013, 22:57
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,001

How do I enable this on the Vita? There doesn't seem to be an option to set it to auto update at a certain time like on the PS3... is it different? Does it turn on each night and check for updates and uploads saves?

I presume it's just Vita saves and not PSone or PSP saves right?

Cheers
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-07-2013, 00:05
chopoff
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,725
Go to Settings, PlayStation Network and then Automatic Update Settings.

There's then a tick box to enable it and then tick boxes for various things, so you can allow/disallow patches, system updates, trophies and save data separately.

Not sure what save data it uploads as I don't have it turned on!
chopoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 00:06
SimonB79
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,717
How do I enable this on the Vita? There doesn't seem to be an option to set it to auto update at a certain time like on the PS3... is it different? Does it turn on each night and check for updates and uploads saves?

I presume it's just Vita saves and not PSone or PSP saves right?

Cheers
I'd assume IF ya leave ya PSVita on standby it should auto update between 04:00 & 06:00 daily like ya PS3!
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 00:28
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,001
I'd assume IF ya leave ya PSVita on standby it should auto update between 04:00 & 06:00 daily like ya PS3!
How do you know I auto update at that time?! Spooky!

I presume leaving the Vita on standby all the time won't do it any harm?
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 00:46
SimonB79
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,717
How do you know I auto update at that time?! Spooky!

I presume leaving the Vita on standby all the time won't do it any harm?
I can't imagine it causing any damage! ... Infact I'm gonna put my PSVita on its charging cradle tonight & see if it updates alongside my ps3!
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 00:56
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,001
I can't imagine it causing any damage! ... Infact I'm gonna put my PSVita on its charging cradle tonight & see if it updates alongside my ps3!
What cradle you got?
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 01:12
chopoff
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,725
I always leave mine on standby, it last ages!
chopoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 03:42
SimonB79
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,717
What cradle you got?
Official version! ... (Picked up an external battery pack aswell)
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 21:50
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,001
I presume for auto updates to work, at the main menu, just press the power button on the top of the Vita and this is sleep mode?

Can't see what time it will auto update at all.
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 21:56
SimonB79
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,717
I presume for auto updates to work, at the main menu, just press the power button on the top of the Vita and this is sleep mode?

Can't see what time it will auto update at all.
Tried it last night ... Worked a treat!
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 21:57
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,001
Tried it last night ... Worked a treat!
How do you know it auto updated? Did it give you a message when you resumed from sleep?

What time did it do it?
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 22:05
SimonB79
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,717
How do you know it auto updated? Did it give you a message when you resumed from sleep?

What time did it do it?
A list appeared telling me about how my saves had been uploaded, patches downloaded etc etc when I tapped the power button after I woke up afew hours later!

(I assume it started the process @ the same time as the PS3)
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 22:10
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,001
A list appeared telling me about how my saves had been uploaded, patches downloaded etc etc when I tapped the power button after I woke up afew hours later!

(I assume it started the process @ the same time as the PS3)
I see. I am right in saying it's the top power button you hit quickly to put it to sleep right?

I keep mine in a padded material case. It can't overheat or cause damage auto updating whilst in that can it?

I would buy a cradle, however I want to keep the console fully protected when not in use.
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 22:15
SimonB79
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,717
I see. I am right in saying it's the top power button you hit quickly to put it to sleep right?

I keep mine in a padded material case. It can't overheat or cause damage auto updating whilst in that can it?

I would buy a cradle, however I want to keep the console fully protected when not in use.
Quick tap = standby (PSVita icon flashes blue) ... Another tap brings it outta standby!
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 22:16
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,001
Quick tap = standby (PSVita icon flashes blue) ... Another tap brings it outta standby!
Cheers. Might buy a cradle. How much was yours?

Don't know if it is dodgy keeping it in a padded case whilst it turns on and updates.
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 22:20
SimonB79
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,717
Cheers. Might buy a cradle. How much was yours?

Don't know if it is dodgy keeping it in a padded case whilst it turns on and updates.
There about 10 from amazon!

(A cheaper 3rd party alternative will probably do the same job ... I just like 2 keep things official)
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 22:24
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,001
There about 10 from amazon!

(A cheaper 3rd party alternative will probably do the same job ... I just like 2 keep things official)
Me too lol

Looks pretty good, but will have to watch the boy when he starts managing to walk - will pull that right off the TV unit!
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2013, 22:28
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,001
Oh and also, can you still charge the Vita off the mains via the cradle? Amazon reviews are saying it charges really slowly and also requires a USB connection??
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2013, 10:00
SimonB79
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,717
Oh and also, can you still charge the Vita off the mains via the cradle? Amazon reviews are saying it charges really slowly and also requires a USB connection??
Yes! The PSVita mains cable (ya get in the box) connects 2 the cradle!
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2013, 23:26
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,001
Yes! The PSVita mains cable (ya get in the box) connects 2 the cradle!
Hmmm, cheapest I can find is 10 inc postage and that's from Canada!
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14.