Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Settings for dvd & sky box


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29-07-2013, 20:10
steve_johnson1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8

Hi, new on here hoping that someone can help please, I have the following set up TV, Sky box and DVD recorder. I'm looking to record some of the Sky content on to the DVD however the picture is blurred when played through the DVD. does anyone know what could be the cause ? The pictures are very good both on Sky and the freeview channels through the DVD. It's a Panasonic DVD, spoke to one of their guys today who suggested resetting the TV and it would be ok however it's made no difference whatsoever. Can someone explain how I could check if the AV settings between the DVD & the Sky box are compatible please
steve_johnson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-07-2013, 21:32
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,055
How have you got everything connected at the moment?

The TV is irrelevant. For the best quality the Sky box should be connected directly to the DVD recorder. The TV is just a display device to make it easier to see what you are doing, it should be playing no part in the recording process.

The best quality would be by using RGB video mode between the Sky box and the DVD. This assumes the SCART output on the Sky box and the SCART input on the DVD both support RGB video.

If only the TV SCART on the Sky box supports RGB then one possible scenario is

Sky TV SCART --> DVD AV2 SCART
DVD AV1 SCART --> TV

This assumes both AV1 and AV2 SCARTs on the DVD support RGB. Itdoes mean that both Sky and DVD share the same SCART on the TV. This should not be a problem as the DVD should pass through the Sky box output to the TV when you want to watch Sky. If it's a Sky HD box then simply use the HDMI output from the Sky box to connect directly to the TV and use that for watching Sky.

If both Sky SCARTs support RGB (not so sure they do) then one connection scheme could be

Sky TV SCART --> TV AV1 SCART
Sky VCR SCART --> DVD AV2 SCART
DVD AV2 SCART --> TV AV2 SCART

That is if everything supports RGB. This lets you use separate inputs on the telly for both devices while also giving you the direct recording link.

To record Sky on the DVD you simply select AV2 as the recording source and go from there.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 11:06
steve_johnson1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Hi Chris, many thanks for your reply much appreciated

I currently have the Sky box & DVD connected by scart and they in turn both connect to the TV by HDMI ( no scarts used at all ) The DVD supports RGB Video, the Sky box is the latest 2tb model that supports RGB but has only one scart socket though.

With regards to the settings the Scart Video Output on the Sky box is set to RGB and on the DVD the AV2 Input is set to RGB / Video.

Should I add any additional scart connections from the equipment to the TV ?

As I said previously the pictures are very good watching either Sky or Freeview through the DVD so hopefully it's just a problem with connections in my setup somewhere, I'm hoping to transfer some contents off the Sky box to dvd before my subscription ends in a couple of weeks however with the poor quality picture I currently have I'd just be wasting my time, thanks again mate
steve_johnson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 11:20
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,240
How much time are you trying to record on each DVD?, it sounds like you might be trying to record FAR too much?, which drastically reduces quality. 120 minutes is the 'normal' quality sort of setting.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 11:50
steve_johnson1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Hi Nigel ,thanks for your reply - it's not a recording problem I have ,it's the poor quality Sky picture I'm getting through the DVD recorder. The Freeview channels through the recorder are excellent but Sky is awful suggesting it's a connection problem between the Sky box & the recorder but God knows what it is! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated thank you
steve_johnson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 13:03
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,240
Hi Nigel ,thanks for your reply - it's not a recording problem I have ,it's the poor quality Sky picture I'm getting through the DVD recorder. The Freeview channels through the recorder are excellent but Sky is awful suggesting it's a connection problem between the Sky box & the recorder but God knows what it is! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated thank you
As you said:

the pictures are very good watching either Sky or Freeview through the DVD
I presumed it was only a recording problem?.

Try switching the recorder input between RGB and Composite, and make sure that the quality changes.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 13:29
steve_johnson1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
cheers Nigel, tried that but no significant change to the picture I'm afraid
steve_johnson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 14:21
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,240
cheers Nigel, tried that but no significant change to the picture I'm afraid
If there was no significant change, then it didn't switch from RGB to Composite - which means it's probably only on Composite to begin with.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 14:36
captainkremmen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DAVEVILLE, Daveshire DA1 1VE
Posts: 33,623
Is it a Sky HD box (I presume it is) or an older style Sky box not capable of HD?.

What is the make and model of your DVD recorder?.

The fact you say watching Sky through the DVD recorder is good quality, it's just the recordings that are poor suggests to me one of two things.

1. Your DVD recorder is passing through RGB or S-Video correctly, but isn't recording that better quality signal, it's resorting to Composite when you record.

Go into your DVD Recorder's menu system. Find the input/recording settings for the second scart. It will be labelled AV2, AUX or something similar. Set it to the highest quality method it will accept. Many DVD recorders will allow you to set it here to record RGB, some will only accept S-Video. Choose the best mode your recorder will allow you to.

Go into the menu on your Sky box and set the output of whatever scart you are sending through the DVD recorder to the same as you've set the recording input on the DVD. If you are using the TV scart on the Sky box, and your DVD recorder accepts RGB for recording, then set both to RGB. If your DVD recorder only allows you to set S-Video as the highest quality input then set the Sky box to output S-Video. I believe the Sky box can send S-Video down either scart.


2. If everything is set up correctly, but recordings are still poor, this suggests you are indeed, as Nigel says, trying to record too much onto each disc.


Go into the record settings on your DVD recorder and set it to the second highest quality mode. This is usually labelled something like XS, Standard, 2 Hours, Normal or similar. You should get an onscreen indication that 2 hours can fit on one single layer 4.7Gb disc. This is the normal mode that pretty much every DVD recorder supports and is designed as the best quality/recording time trade off. There is usually a higher quality mode, labelled something like XF, High, 1 Hour or similar. This gives the best recording quality but only allows 1 hour on each single layer disc. To be honest most people wont notice much difference between the two highest quality modes.

The other modes allow you to squeeze more on the disc but they DO affect picture quality, so you should usually stick to the top two modes except on occasions where you do need to squeeze a bit more on (such as recording a film that is longer than two hours).
captainkremmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 15:13
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,055
I don't think steve_johnson1 actually meant in the OP that viewing Sky via the DVD was OK. I think what he was actually saying was Sky direct to the TV was OK and Freeview on the DVD recorder was OK.

It is sounding like the DVD is switching to Composite Video mode. The setting RGB/Video on the DVD input may be some sort of auto selection? If so it may be defaulting to Composite (Video) instead of RGB. It might be worth checking if there is a RGB only option that might force it to select that mode.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 15:25
steve_johnson1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Hi Captain,thanks for your reply.

The Sky HD box is their own make, I've had it about 6 months and it's the 2tb model - it has just the one scart socket

DVD Recorder is a Panasonic model number DMR-EX773EB

I have them connected via a scart lead, settings in AV2 on the recorder is RGB and the output on the Sky box is also RGB

Both of them are attached to the TV via HDMI, there are no scart involved there.

I'm not currently trying to record anything on to the recorder from the Sky box due to the poor quality but I have various sports events that I want to transfer within the next fortnight, having cancelled my subscription to Sky Sports I'll be unable to access them unless I transfer them to the recorder

Hope what I've written makes sense,thanks very much for your input
steve_johnson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 15:28
steve_johnson1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Yes Chris you are correct ,that is where the problem is - Sky pictures through the DVD are terrible. If I put the Sky guide up it appears all blurred so you can imagine what the pictures are like
steve_johnson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 15:36
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,055
If you have a SCART on the telly then try plugging the Sky box SCART into that. Watch a Sky programme on that and see if it's the same or better quality as via the DVD.

Unplug the HDMI to eliminate any chance you are watching that in error.That will tell you if it is the Sky box or the DVD. Also try a different SCART lead if you have one. Though not very likely there is a chance the SCART lead is only wired for Composite or possibly more likely it could be faulty. So even though you've set everything to RGB it isn't using it.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 15:47
steve_johnson1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
cheers Chris, I've put the SCART in the TV and the Sky programme is excellent far better quality than the DVD. I'll get hold of another SCART and try that in a little while
steve_johnson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 16:02
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,055
If the SCART direct to TV is OK then chances are the lead is OK.

Another test. If the DVD has two SCARTs plug one to the Sky box as you previously did and the second to the TV. Unplug the HDMI from the DVD to make sure you are watching via SCART then see what you get. In theory it should be as good as the direct connection but if not then there could be a fault with the DVD SCART input.

Also if the DVD does have two SCARTs and both are wired for input try plugging the Sky box into both and comparing picture quality (with the HDMI from DVD to TV restored obviously).

And of course you could try making a recording and playing it back. Would be odd if the playback quality was better then the "preview" quality but stranger things have been known to happen.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 16:25
Deacon1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 6,701
Just a thought......

Wouldn't the DVD recorder need to do some sort of video conversion, but doing it poorly, when Sky is looped through via scart then displayed via HDMI?

Could this be why the pq is not as good when connected directly....

Might be worth just copying a programme and replaying it to check out the pq, you may find the recording to be fine with it just being the loop through pq degrading.
Deacon1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 16:30
steve_johnson1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
By doing that I'm not getting a picture at all. I've also done the test with both SCART's and they are of a similar quality picture
steve_johnson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 16:32
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,758
Just a thought......

Wouldn't the DVD recorder need to do some sort of video conversion, but doing it poorly, when Sky is looped through via scart then displayed via HDMI?

Could this be why the pq is not as good when connected directly....

Might be worth just copying a programme and replaying it to check out the pq, you may find the recording to be fine with it just being the loop through pq degrading.
There's no way a signal input on a scart socket on a DVDR will output anything on HDMI. It will only be output from another analogue output (normally the second scart socket). Both scart cables need to be fully wired to pass RGB from Sky box to TV via a DVDR.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 17:17
Deacon1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 6,701
There's no way a signal input on a scart socket on a DVDR will output anything on HDMI. It will only be output from another analogue output (normally the second scart socket). Both scart cables need to be fully wired to pass RGB from Sky box to TV via a DVDR.
From what the op is saying they only have the Sky box and DVD connected together via scart, the DVD is connected to the TV via HDMI. This is the reason why I asked if any video conversion was being done because I thought that would be the only way they would be getting a picture.
Deacon1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 18:11
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,758
From what the op is saying they only have the Sky box and DVD connected together via scart, the DVD is connected to the TV via HDMI. This is the reason why I asked if any video conversion was being done because I thought that would be the only way they would be getting a picture.
The DVD output could be anything from 576i to 1080p on hdmi (digitally) depending on what scaler options the box has. A scart will output 576i (analogue) irrespective of what the hdmi is outputting. If 576i is selected for output over hdmi the two should be very similar.

Assuming the connections are as follows.

DVD connected to TV via hdmi. Sky box connected to DVD by scart. If the DVD input (hdmi) on the TV is selected there is normally no way to view the Sky box via this connection. External kit connected by scart is not digitised for output over hdmi.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 19:56
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,240
External kit connected by scart is not digitised for output over hdmi.
The analogue input, via SCART or analogue tuner, has to be digitised in order to record on to a DVD (or HDD), so I don't see any problem in outputting it via HDMI?.

I can certainly entertain the idea that 'some' recorders won't do that, but many (most?) probably will?.

Presumably any DVD recorder with an analogue tuner is very likely to?.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 22:45
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,055
The analogue input, via SCART or analogue tuner, has to be digitised in order to record on to a DVD (or HDD), so I don't see any problem in outputting it via HDMI?.

I can certainly entertain the idea that 'some' recorders won't do that, but many (most?) probably will?.

Presumably any DVD recorder with an analogue tuner is very likely to?.
Have to agree with this. Given that the DVD has an A to D converter as a basic requirement why not also use it to feed the HDMI? Not exactly rocket science after all.

Plus the OP states he can see Sky programmes via the DVD. As there are only digital connections to the TV and only analogue connections between Sky and DVD then either the OP is confused about what he is actually watching (ie confused over what HDMI input is being viewed on the telly) or the DVD recorder is feeding the SCART in to HDMI out. I go with the latter.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:56.