Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

bought secondhand dvd player can't use it


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2013, 19:57
CBFreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,194

Ok so I bought a secondhand dvd player. It seems in good nick and I can turn it on and open and close the tray but I can't get it to do anything else.

Put DVD in it says load for a moment or two then displays the word no. I can't access anything on it.


It is a Toshiba SE-RI217
CBFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 01-08-2013, 20:40
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,779
Time to buy a new one
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 21:55
coachtrip_fan99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,970
They're so cheap now, why risk buying second hand?
coachtrip_fan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:48
David (2)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Wiltshire
Posts: 16,195
I expect the laser is gone on it - the reason for getting rid of it. Basic dvd players are so cheap now (new), that's what you should get.
David (2) is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 19:44
CBFreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,194
Yeah I took it back and got refunded.

I'm looking at shop bought and stuck on two

Tesco dvd player
http://www.tesco.com/direct/tesco-dv...prd?pageLevel=

Currys basic
http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/tv-dvd-...98783-pdt.html

Basically I just want a cheap, reliable dvd player that has a HDMI link I don't want to spend more then 30 really.

I may stretch to this one

http://www.tesco.com/direct/sony-dvp...skuId=735-1169
CBFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 19:48
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,242
Only the Tesco's one of those three has HDMI, no Sony DVD players do.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 19:58
CBFreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,194
Only the Tesco's one of those three has HDMI, no Sony DVD players do.
Would you recommend it? The tesco one that is
CBFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 21:13
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,779
Only the Tesco's one of those three has HDMI, no Sony DVD players do.
This Sony one does:

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...uctInformation
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 21:13
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,779
Would you recommend it? The tesco one that is
I had a cheap Technika one from Tesco and didn't like it. Quite noisy and clunky to use.

Did read and play DVDs fine though.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 21:21
bobcar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12,673
Basically I just want a cheap, reliable dvd player that has a HDMI link I don't want to spend more then 30 really.
They will all play okay with a decent picture, probably better without using upscaling depending on your TV. At the price they are now reliability isn't so important, if they break you just pop out and get another one - it's a bit different to spending hundreds on a TV where reliability matters more.
bobcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 21:23
bobcar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12,673
For that price you can get a blu-ray player, for not much more you can get a Sony blu-ray player.
bobcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 22:26
CBFreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,194
I think I found the one
http://www.argos.co.uk/webapp/wcs/st...oductId=561628

I reserved it for pick up tomorrow. Give me over night to think about it. But it's a good make, has HDMI connection and within my maximum budget.

Is it good?
CBFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 23:36
mlayzell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Luton
Posts: 436
I think I found the one
http://www.argos.co.uk/webapp/wcs/st...oductId=561628

I reserved it for pick up tomorrow. Give me over night to think about it. But it's a good make, has HDMI connection and within my maximum budget.

Is it good?
Wow you must be on one hell of a tight budget!
mlayzell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 00:03
coachtrip_fan99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,970
Wow you must be on one hell of a tight budget!
? That's far from the cheapest DVD player available.

Mine cost 15.from index when they used to be open. They closed in 2006' So its at least 7 years old - probably more
coachtrip_fan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 00:05
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,779
I think I found the one
http://www.argos.co.uk/webapp/wcs/st...oductId=561628

I reserved it for pick up tomorrow. Give me over night to think about it. But it's a good make, has HDMI connection and within my maximum budget.

Is it good?
Should be fine - had Toshiba players in the past and they have all been fine.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 06:33
CBFreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,194
Wow you must be on one hell of a tight budget!
I am.
I'm on jsa and that pays so little.
CBFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 12:15
AidanLunn
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4,411
Ok so I bought a secondhand dvd player. It seems in good nick and I can turn it on and open and close the tray but I can't get it to do anything else.

Put DVD in it says load for a moment or two then displays the word no. I can't access anything on it.


It is a Toshiba SE-RI217
. . . that's why it was being sold secondhand.
AidanLunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 15:02
CBFreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,194
Should be fine - had Toshiba players in the past and they have all been fine.
Thanks. Too warm to pick it up today so I'm going to get it tomorrow morning before it heats up.

Give me time to think this over. 30 is a lot of money to spend for me on a single item
CBFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 15:35
bobcar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12,673
Thanks. Too warm to pick it up today so I'm going to get it tomorrow morning before it heats up.

Give me time to think this over. 30 is a lot of money to spend for me on a single item
Then why not go for something like this for 11-98 including postage? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Argos-Valu...51297325295%26

It has no HDMI but you didn't say why it had to have HDMI?
bobcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 15:40
CBFreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,194
Then why not go for something like this for 11-98 including postage? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Argos-Valu...51297325295%26

It has no HDMI but you didn't say why it had to have HDMI?
I have no slots left for a Scart connection and I have a HDMI cable spare but no scart cable spare. I would have to pay around an additional 5 to get that as well.

And if I am going to buy a new machine I want to buy a reliable machine that will last. Plus from an actual store in case of issues.
CBFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 16:00
bobcar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12,673
I have no slots left for a Scart connection and I have a HDMI cable spare but no scart cable spare. I would have to pay around an additional 5 to get that as well.

And if I am going to buy a new machine I want to buy a reliable machine that will last. Plus from an actual store in case of issues.
What is your kit? You can likely daisy chain the SCARTS so you don't need a SCART input for each device, I used to have 4 devices going into one SCART socket on the TV.

It comes with a SCART lead so you don't need to buy one

When you are in your position I would have thought buying a piece of kit that will do the same job for a third of the price would have been pretty good. If you can't afford to take a chance on a tenner then you should consider whether you can afford a DVD player at all.
bobcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 16:29
CBFreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,194
What is your kit? You can likely daisy chain the SCARTS so you don't need a SCART input for each device, I used to have 4 devices going into one SCART socket on the TV.

It comes with a SCART lead so you don't need to buy one

When you are in your position I would have thought buying a piece of kit that will do the same job for a third of the price would have been pretty good. If you can't afford to take a chance on a tenner then you should consider whether you can afford a DVD player at all.
I have one scart socket in my tv that already has a scart divider attached to plug in two seperate devices. Whereas it also has 3 HDMI links on it that are empty and unused. And the scart is a pain in the backside as it easily jostles.

Personally I would rather pay a little more for a vast improved guarantee and with a physical replace to return the item should anything go wrong.

Putting 10 on a cheap machine is more wasteful for me then paying more for a better quality. I've done that through cheap oven trays. Probably spent more over the years replacing the cheap ones then getting one decent one.

This in light of the return of my original item
CBFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 16:44
bobcar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12,673
I have one scart socket in my tv that already has a scart divider attached to plug in two seperate devices.
As I said you likely don't need to have a switcher as you may well be able to daisy chain them. It depends what your other kit is, as I also said I used to have 4 SCART devices going into one TV SCART socket with no switchers so it is very possible.

Personally I would rather pay a little more for a vast improved guarantee and with a physical replace to return the item should anything go wrong.

Putting 10 on a cheap machine is more wasteful for me then paying more for a better quality. I've done that through cheap oven trays. Probably spent more over the years replacing the cheap ones then getting one decent one.
That's up to you of course. You do sound really hard up as you are agonising over 30, in your position I would go for the cheaper item or not buy one right now but I'm not you.
bobcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 17:13
CBFreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,194
As I said you likely don't need to have a switcher as you may well be able to daisy chain them. It depends what your other kit is, as I also said I used to have 4 SCART devices going into one TV SCART socket with no switchers so it is very possible.
I'm a simple person with limited tech knowledge. I just know a hdmi would be the simplest and probably the cheapest solution in just connectivity terms.

That's up to you of course. You do sound really hard up as you are agonising over 30, in your position I would go for the cheaper item or not buy one right now but I'm not you.
I can agonise over spending 5. I think it's just my mentality. I just don't feel comfortable spending large amounts as a general rule. I've been burned many times before.

I can afford do this though. It's just a tight budget I'm constantly working with that makes me need to think carefully about what I buy.

Thanks for the help though. Much appreciated.
CBFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 13:55
CBFreak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17,194
I got a bush DVD player in the end. Not my favourite maker to be honest but it has the same things the Toshiba one I found has and was around 4 cheaper
CBFreak is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:46.