Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Does anyone have an XP SP3 disc?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2013, 11:07
nottman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: GTR Mancheser
Posts: 52

My son's given me an old Samsung X05 laptop which I plan to use as a spare but although it's got service pack 3 installed, when I try to install my printer on it, it asks me to insert the SP3 disc. Microsoft don't issue these anymore, so if anyone's got one they don't need or can offer any alternative suggestions...?

Thanks
nottman is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 03-08-2013, 11:38
Quackers
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 4,582
Download the full package here

http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/downl...ils.aspx?id=24

Then using something like WinRAR extract the contents of it to a folder then when it asks for the disc point it to the folder you extract the contents into or you could just rerun the SP3 install and it should hopefully put the files back its looking for.
Quackers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 20:06
nottman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: GTR Mancheser
Posts: 52
Thanks Quackers - I'll give that a whirl
nottman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 00:04
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,292
It won't work.

What it's asking for is the XP with SP3 disk - in other words, the XP installation disk.

That's what you need to borrow from a friend of neighbour.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 03:22
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,549
That's what I was thinking ... so either a physical XP disk, or a downloaded ISO (not from a torrent) would be better.

Is the version of XP in question, the Home Edition or Professional? If it's the XP that came with the laptop, I would
assume it's the Home Edition. If it's since been re-installed with a separate XP disk, it could be Professional.

OP ... I have both ISO's (no product keys) in a temp folder on our webserver ... PM me if you need a link.
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 09:50
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,825
Try browsing to c:\windows\options\cabs and see if the OEM set it up right.

This was mainly used in Win98, but some OEMs carried the practice over for XP.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 09:53
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
it's probably the oem version too.

you could just click on cancel.

and does anyone recall is XP one of those OS's that copies it's installation files to i386?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 12:47
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 453
does anyone recall is XP one of those OS's that copies it's installation files to i386?
Don't seem to - just searched i386 on my XP Pro VM and got this

http://s22.postimg.org/7z902fye9/386.jpg
Mr Dos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 17:27
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,357
Here is mine, Xp pro SP3 .....

http://s24.postimg.org/4gy0jxhtx/i386.png

hmm, there seem to be multiple entries for the same thing.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 21:41
nottman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: GTR Mancheser
Posts: 52
Just catching up with this again - thanks for your contributions, all. It's the Home edition, by the way.
nottman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 23:11
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,549
Just catching up with this again - thanks for your contributions, all. It's the Home edition, by the way.
In that case, I think you'll need a copy of the XP Home Edition with SP3 ISO, which you can download to your PC,
and extract the contents with WinRAR, or any program specifically made to handle ISO files. There is a copy of
this in a temp folder on our webserver. If you need a download link, drop me a PM . . .
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 12:49
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 453
In that case, I think you'll need a copy of the XP Home Edition with SP3 ISO, which you can download to your PC,and extract the contents with WinRAR
The whole idea if an ISO is that its a CD image file. You have to burn it to CD as an image using ImgBurn, Nero etc. Although you can extract an ISO using WINRAR, there is no need in this case.
Mr Dos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 22:23
nottman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: GTR Mancheser
Posts: 52
Managed to get a copy from work...thanks again, everyone
nottman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:10.