Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Firefox 23


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2013, 10:10
JSemple3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,573

YET another new version released. Can get it here now (or wait to later)

ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/23.0/win32/

(Link to the UK version)

ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/re...tup%2023.0.exe
JSemple3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 06-08-2013, 10:35
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
There is a small but significant change in this version and i hate it.

previously i was able to search from the address bar using google and search from the search box using whatever i set it to. for me wikipedia. additionally it seems if google had a high confidence in the search result, eg if i typed twitter, iplayer, bbc news etc it would just return the page.

now the address bar search uses the search engine specified in the search box. so they basically both do the same thing. it's ridiculous. why would you want that.

there may be a way to revert. but i don't know what it is.

Oh and the logo has changed ever-so slightly.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 10:49
mossy2103
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58,583
Deleted
mossy2103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 10:52
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 66,103
Firefox has become quite slow at loading web page content. It waits for the whole of the page to be loaded before showing it. The difference between Chrome and Firefox is fairly noticeable. I'm not meaning this to be an anti Firefox post, but just saying why I switched for. It's a shame really.
zx50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 12:10
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,809
Should I consider hosting a launch party?
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 12:48
radioanorak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Faliraki,Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 1,696
I much prefer Comodo Ice Dragon
www.comodo.com
Its faster & more secure than Firefox
Addons for Firefox are compatible
radioanorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 15:56
Smiley433
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Location: Location
Posts: 3,616
I'm getting Firefox starting in tabbed mode when there is only one tab open. Is there an option in about:config which can change this back to "full window" if only one page is open?
Smiley433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 15:58
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
there is and i shall endeavour to find it.
eta

seems like there is a bit of a barny over this:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=855370
start on comment 10

at the end they suggest an addon:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...-with-one-tab/
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 19:09
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,809
if it bothers you i can think of a solution.
And what would that involve?
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 19:18
Smiley433
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Location: Location
Posts: 3,616
there is and i shall endeavour to find it.
eta

seems like there is a bit of a barny over this:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=855370
start on comment 10

at the end they suggest an addon:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...-with-one-tab/
Thanks for that. I'm sure I "complained" about this same issue on this forum during a previous Firefox release and did look for an old thread where I had posted, but couldn't come up with anything, hence my question if there was an about:config change available.

From that link provided, this is what I agreed with (edited from comment 18)...

It wastes so much valuable real estate when I am only using one tab, which is most of the time. I use tabs, of course, but only when I need to have multiple pages open at the same time.
Have added the add-on mentioned and while it does seem a wee bit slow to react when it realises there's only one tab left open (or that could be my old PC that's responsible), it does do the job.

Thanks again.
Smiley433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 20:13
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Thanks for that. I'm sure I "complained" about this same issue on this forum during a previous Firefox release and did look for an old thread where I had posted, but couldn't come up with anything, hence my question if there was an about:config change available.

From that link provided, this is what I agreed with (edited from comment 18)...



Have added the add-on mentioned and while it does seem a wee bit slow to react when it realises there's only one tab left open (or that could be my old PC that's responsible), it does do the job.

Thanks again.
I use an add on called tab mix plus. Which rely let's you control everything about the tabs. So I didn't notice the option was missing.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 20:35
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,553
YET another new version released. Can get it here now (or wait to later)

(ftp link snipped)

(Link to the UK version)

(ftp link snipped)
It is inadvisable to link directly to the files and folders on the Mozilla FTP server for general releases. You should
always link to the main download page, so that network load balancing is used, and your download session
is redirected to an official mirror server closer to you than the main Mozilla servers in the US.

Linking directly to the FTP server, either to a specific folder, or hotlinking directly to the relevant .exe file on the
server can potentially cause the server at the other end to be overloaded with too many requests. This is why
software vendors like Mozilla use network load balancing and mirror servers.

If a server is overloaded with too many requests, it can slow down the server causing problems for other users.
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 20:46
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Eveytime
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 13:54
ChickenWings
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,876
Lol, cbbcwatcher is notorious for posting the same stuff over and over again -- they are hands down the number one reason I only come in to this forum once a week or so rather than everyday.

*waits for 'joke' about Ocean Finance TV/the Apple store or something to do with her dad hating Vista*
ChickenWings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 14:19
Scratchplate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gateshead
Posts: 553
if it bothers you i can think of a solution.
I'm sure you can, well done.

I was just curious abot the need to repeat a joke so many times. I didn't demand cnbc stopped doing it if that's what they enjoy, then fine.
You must have too much time on your hands!
I had a spare couple of minutes, it might take some people a lot longer.
Scratchplate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 15:36
Caxton
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 20,682
This update is so exciting I have been waiting for it for at least a week now as I thought it would be due any time and I was right. I can wait in anticipation for the next update now.
Caxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 16:03
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 78,001
Yay, I have FF 23 now too. Can't wait till next tomorrow for the next update.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 18:04
NewWorldMan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,439
I'm guessing that all hell will break loose with FF 25 and the Chrome-like UI revamp. However, with Firefox almost everything they come up with can be undone via extensions.
NewWorldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 18:56
Paddy C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12,892
I have downloaded and tried the Ice Dragon browser, works quite well, nice and fast and not a system hog like FireFox. I'll stick with it and see how it goes for now...
Paddy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 19:07
AxG
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The ⓩorro of ⓩero
Posts: 6,232
previously i was able to search from the address bar using google and search from the search box using whatever i set it to. for me wikipedia.
My FF has just updated, and is the same, a real pain in the arse.
AxG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 21:16
2000motels
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 306
I'm getting fed up of Firefox and I'm moving to chrome.
2000motels is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:40.