Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Sony Bravia 32" TV will not turn on????


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13-08-2013, 20:19
moestavern
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53

I've got a 32" Sony Bravia TV KDL32EX301 when I turn the TV on it comes up with the Sony logo then turns straight back off again. A red light starts flashing it flashes about 18 or so times.
moestavern is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 13-08-2013, 20:58
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,808
I've got a 32" Sony Bravia TV KDL32EX301 when I turn the TV on it comes up with the Sony logo then turns straight back off again. A red light starts flashing it flashes about 18 or so times.
Count exactly how many times, it's an error code.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2013, 22:22
moestavern
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
It blinks 6 times then stops for 2 seconds then starts again.
moestavern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2013, 08:57
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,808
6 lashes appears to be back light error, so a failure of the LCD panel (the most common fault across LCD TV's).
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2013, 09:08
LCDMAN
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yorkshire, God's County
Posts: 4,795
6 lashes appears to be back light error, so a failure of the LCD panel (the most common fault across LCD TV's).
Sorry Nigel but i couldn't read that without thinking of Basil Fawlty thrashing his Austin 1100 6 lashes indeed!
LCDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2013, 09:12
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,808
Sorry Nigel but i couldn't read that without thinking of Basil Fawlty thrashing his Austin 1100 6 lashes indeed!
Sorry - missed the 'f' key - and not to mention 'lashings of ginger beer'
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2013, 20:42
moestavern
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Tried to enter the service menu but with no luck think i'm pressing the wrong buttons. Do you know what I need to press.
moestavern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2013, 20:52
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,706
Tried to enter the service menu but with no luck think i'm pressing the wrong buttons. Do you know what I need to press.
If the screen is not working how will you get in the service menu?
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2013, 20:56
moestavern
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
The screen is working as the Sony logo comes up then the usual sound it makes then it turns off and starts flashing 6 times.
moestavern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2013, 22:36
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,915
The screen is working as the Sony logo comes up then the usual sound it makes then it turns off and starts flashing 6 times.
There's probably nothing you can do except get a Sony specialist to check the set.
The Sony logo may appear momentarily but, as Nigel Goodwin pointed out, the back light may be faulty as indicated by the 6 flashes
mac2708 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 15:11
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,808
The screen is working as the Sony logo comes up then the usual sound it makes then it turns off and starts flashing 6 times.
If the LED is flashing, then the set has already shut down completely - you can't enter service mode if the set isn't working.

As I said before, looks like it probably needs a new LCD panel.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 22:52
moestavern
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Thanks for the advice.
moestavern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2013, 22:30
moestavern
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Just got the TV fixed as you said it was the back light that had gone thanks again for your help.
moestavern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 08:56
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,808
Just got the TV fixed as you said it was the back light that had gone thanks again for your help.
What did they do then?, replace the entire LCD?.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 15:00
anthony david
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 598
What does this type of repair cost these days?
anthony david is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 15:03
Blackjack Davy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 530
He said backlight, so I assume they just replaced the CFL?
Blackjack Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 16:40
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,808
He said backlight, so I assume they just replaced the CFL?
CCFL's aren't usually replaceable - except in a very few cases (with some older Sharp sets being a notable exception).

They 'may' have replaced the inverter, which although part of the LCD panel is sometimes available separately.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 18:58
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
Some tv engineers will open up an LCD panel and replace the ccfl tubes (I have done a couple) But it is not a job for the faint hearted, and not without risks of breaking the panel or it's tab connections.

but if the panel is "dud" it sometimes can be worth risking it, if the alternative is to scrap the set.

I keep a box of assorted ccfl tubes recovered from broken screens that I have scrapped for this purpose.
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 19:15
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,808
Some tv engineers will open up an LCD panel and replace the ccfl tubes (I have done a couple) But it is not a job for the faint hearted, and not without risks of breaking the panel or it's tab connections.

but if the panel is "dud" it sometimes can be worth risking it, if the alternative is to scrap the set.

I keep a box of assorted ccfl tubes recovered from broken screens that I have scrapped for this purpose.
I took a small (22 inch) scrap Samsung panel to pieces the other week, because I had identified the fault as one of the CCFL's - purely as a matter of personal interest, and to see if it might 'just' be a poor connection or something (I have seen burnt connections inside LCD panels).

It took a LOT of getting to pieces, and I was shocked to find that it was edge-lit (from top and bottom) with two incredibly thin tubes side by side - so instead of the normal multiple diffuser sheets, there was a solid piece of plastic about a quarter cm thick (making the tubes about 1/8cm thick).
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 18:24
moestavern
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
As far as I know from what the guy said they just replaced the tube going along the back of the TV it cost me 86 from a local company. Currys wanted to Charge me 95 to look at it and then what ever the parts cost.
moestavern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 18:41
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,808
As far as I know from what the guy said they just replaced the tube going along the back of the TV it cost me 86 from a local company. Currys wanted to Charge me 95 to look at it and then what ever the parts cost.
86 was an absolute bargain

They certainly haven't replaced the LCD panel for that, and I'm impressed if they replaced a CCFL tune inside the panel.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:23.