Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Freeview TV audio problem - Help!


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-08-2013, 15:44
Vin Blanc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Milton, Hants
Posts: 65

I was watching a drama (or film) the other night on BBC 2.

Whenever there was a long pause in the dialogue, a quiet background voice described what was happening on the screen e.g. “and taking her hand they walked slowly down the beach and into the sea”

Now I assume that this audio facility is provided for the benefit of blind people who, strange as it may seem, often listen to programmes on TV.

Not yet being in need of this facility, (cateracts were fixed last year ), my question is this;-

Is this background commentary part of the original soundtrack and therefore I’m stuck with it? or, can my TV sound settings be adjusted to eliminate it and if so, how?

TV is an LG 32LS570T 32” full HD Backlit SMART TV with built-in Freeview

Hope someone can help.

Vin Blanc
Vin Blanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-08-2013, 15:54
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,413
Look for the AD (Audio Description) setting on your TV.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2013, 17:00
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,021
There may well be an AD button on the remote. My mum has a new LG telly and that threw both of us for a while. She had managed to accidentally press the button and got AD over the normal sound track.

There are several places in the menu system of the telly where AD is mentioned but it was only after I downloaded the manual from the LG website I discovered this AD button on the remote! Bit hard to diagnose and fault fix when you're 170 miles away and trying to do it by remote control (groan ) over the phone....
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2013, 17:06
Doghouse Riley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North-West England
Posts: 17,116
There may well be an AD button on the remote. My mum has a new LG telly and that threw both of us for a while. She had managed to accidentally press the button and got AD over the normal sound track.

There are several places in the menu system of the telly where AD is mentioned but it was only after I downloaded the manual from the LG website I discovered this AD button on the remote! Bit hard to diagnose and fault fix when you're 170 miles away and trying to do it by remote control (groan ) over the phone....
Digressing a bit,

What happened to old fashioned "Instruction books?"

My Humax PVR came not with a book but a CD-Rom, comprehensive I guess, but not as practical.
Doghouse Riley is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2013, 17:11
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,021
Digressing a bit,

What happened to old fashioned "Instruction books?"

My Humax PVR came not with a book but a CD-Rom, comprehensive I guess, but not as practical.
The telly has an instruction book.

Unfortunately my mum put it away somewhere safe. So safe not even she can remember where it is!

And both my Humax PVRs (9150 & Fox-T2) have proper paper manuals.

Anyway I'm a bloke, blokes don't do sissy stuff like read manuals anyway do we?
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2013, 17:31
Doghouse Riley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North-West England
Posts: 17,116
The telly has an instruction book.

Unfortunately my mum put it away somewhere safe. So safe not even she can remember where it is!

And both my Humax PVRs (9150 & Fox-T2) have proper paper manuals.

Anyway I'm a bloke, blokes don't do sissy stuff like read manuals anyway do we?
Nah, I'm not a manual sort of person either. I once put up something from IKEA for someone, the instruction book was useless "didn't even have sub-titles."
Doghouse Riley is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 12:31
Vin Blanc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Milton, Hants
Posts: 65
Many thanks for all your help everyone.

The TV in question is located in the visitors bedroom. Our recent visiting relatives had obviously been playing with just about every button on the remote including the AD button.

Haven’t yet tested it but now 99% sure that is the problem.

Incidentally, I looked through every page of the manual and the only reference to the AD button is on the picture of the remote control, nowhere in the text does it even tell you what the button does!

It would seem that we blokes all follow the same policy when troubleshooting these things – try everything you can think of and only as a last resort, try to read the manual!

Once again, thanks to all who contributed.

Vin Blanc
Vin Blanc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:51.