Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Airport Express


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-08-2013, 16:48
simps100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Slough
Posts: 478

Hi all

Just ordered an Apple Airport express - The wireless on my VM Superhub is rubbish so am going to use this to tackle that.

From what i understand i have 2 options...

Turn off wireless on the superhub and plug the airport express into one of the ports

Turn the superhub to Modem Only mode and let airport express handle it all

Which one would be the best? One thing putting me off the 2nd option is that it only has 1 Ethernet port and that's only a 10/100mb one, i have a 120mb connection so ideally id like to still get the top internet speed!

Cheers

Marc
simps100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-08-2013, 17:08
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,346
You can use it as a WiFi range extender or in place of the Superhub's WiFi.

You might be lucky and get close to 120Mb/s over WiFi using it as a range extender. But then again you might not. At least connecting via cable more or less guarantees the link between Airport-Express and Superhub is 100Mb/s.

Thing is if you turn off the Superhub's WiFi there is only the ethernet method of connection. And both the WAN and LAN ports on the Airport-Express are 100Mb/s so no way you'll get the full monty 120Mb/s.

That is if you DO get the full 120Mb/s. Have you run some speed tests to check what you are actually getting?
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2013, 17:57
simps100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Slough
Posts: 478
Ive done a speed test just now and it was 122mb which is pretty impressive for the time of the day!

I guess i could plug my main pc into a port on the superhub and everything else wireless on the airport express..is there any disadvantage of doing it this way and not setting my superhub to modem only mode?
simps100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2013, 18:58
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,291
By far the best option is to put the VM router into Bridge Mode so it simply acts as a gateway and let the AX handle everything. If not I see little point in investing in the AX in the first place.

Personally my money would have gone on an AirPort Extreme.
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 08:05
paulj48
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,029
Hi all

Just ordered an Apple Airport express - The wireless on my VM Superhub is rubbish so am going to use this to tackle that.
I find the wireless on my Superhub pretty good with 2 iPhones, Tab 2, Macbook, Sony TV, Sky HD box and PSVita all working nicely together.

Maybe it's worth looking at your settings and location of the Superhub.
paulj48 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:54.