Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

DVI-I to Component


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22-08-2013, 09:19
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,663

I'm looking for confirmation of something I suspect is not possible without it being the best option.

Basically, am moving from XBox to PC for gaming. My Graphics card is twin DVI, HDMI and Display Port.

I have a component input game capture device. It has been reliable and it's HDMI version seems to be not as robust. I can't make a digital output connect to it without some intermediate hardware transcoding device.

However, the driver release speaks of the possibility of component signal over DVI-I and to refer to the Control Panel in the driver (it is a MSI GTX650Ti BE OC 2GB). Unfortunately, although I have looked, the options only exist for the detected connection (DVI and HDMI work fine, VGA is possible with an adaptor over DVI-I, the other DVI connector is DVI-D only). The release notes state that my intented type of connection is deprecated. I thought things would become evident once the card and driver was installed. I have googled and found that GTX460 is capable, but can find nothing to suggest 'newer' cards can.

I can buy a reasonably cheap DVI-Component cable. Rather than waste a few pounds more, I guess I would pose the question.

What I guess I'm asking is, has anyone tried this successfully or am I faced with replacing the capture device?
shhftw is online now   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 22-08-2013, 10:35
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,496
If the card doesn't have the ability to switch the VGA output to Component then you are probably stuffed. The VGA output is the obvious candidate for the component output as both are analogue and use three primary video signals.

You might find a VGA to component video converter cheaper than a DVI to component converter. And one of those might be easier to find than a video capture device with digital inputs!
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 10:52
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,663
If the card doesn't have the ability to switch the VGA output to Component then you are probably stuffed. The VGA output is the obvious candidate for the component output as both are analogue and use three primary video signals.

You might find a VGA to component video converter cheaper than a DVI to component converter. And one of those might be easier to find than a video capture device with digital inputs!
Yes, but although VGA is analogue, it's RGB not YPbPr so it isn't compatible without h/w transcoding also.
shhftw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 11:18
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,496
I did actually say that you might find a VGA to Component Video converter cheaper than a DVI converter.

If the capture device can be switched to RGB then one possibility might be a VGA to RGB lead. Not exactly sure how well they perform but I have seen such leads advertised on the likes of Amazon for under a fiver. So not a huge amount to risk if it doesn't work.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 11:58
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,663
I did actually say that you might find a VGA to Component Video converter cheaper than a DVI converter.

If the capture device can be switched to RGB then one possibility might be a VGA to RGB lead. Not exactly sure how well they perform but I have seen such leads advertised on the likes of Amazon for under a fiver. So not a huge amount to risk if it doesn't work.
Without wanting to sound ungrateful for your assistance, I have specifically asked if someone who has tried using a similar cable in the exact same circumstance had success.

If I need a hardware transcoder, the answer is in my question - to get a HDMI capture device. Not preferred for the reasons given, but that was what I was asking.

shhftw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 12:50
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,670
Displayport can also do analogue video? Perhaps you can get a displayport-something adaptor?
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 20:21
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,663
Displayport can also do analogue video? Perhaps you can get a displayport-something adaptor?
Nice suggestion. Displayport to HDMI, DVI and VGA with passive dongles.

Wikipedia suggests it is possible, but I'm struggling to find anything that is DP to Component.

Finally found this. Not possible.

http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answe...to%20component
shhftw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 20:28
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,670
To be honest, at this point, component is a deprecated technology so you will eventually be replacing your capture device anyway.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 21:11
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,663
To be honest, at this point, component is a deprecated technology so you will eventually be replacing your capture device anyway.
Found a converter much cheaper than expected (25), cable would have been 7 anyway.
shhftw is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:51.