Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Replacing my PC monitor. Do I need HDMI for HD?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23-08-2013, 22:25
Kargo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 5,828

Hey guys, I'm looking to replace my current LCD PC monitor which is just over 7 years old now. I originally got it with my old Dell PC, whilst it still does the job it is 4:3 and has a resolution of 1280 x 1024.

There are many reasons why I wish to replace it. The first being that I've noticed an increased number of dead pixels on the screen. I've tried some software to remove them but with no joy.

I'd also like to be able to watch HD content such as YouTube videos in 720p/1080p but wanted to know whether I'd need a monitor with a HDMI in connection to be able to do this? My PC only has VGA so I'd be stuck if this is the case
Kargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 23-08-2013, 22:40
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,055
VGA is perfectly capable of doing HD resolution. I've certainly run my laptop into my HD TV at 1920x1080 over VGA.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2013, 23:05
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,359
As chrisjr says, VGA will be fine.

It may come down to your graphics card / onboard graphics as to whether you can watch 1080p successfully.
I'm using an old P4 with onboard graphics and 2GB of RAM and watching 1080p does not work as it should, picture is fine but it stutters/slows, sound is fine. 720p works fine.

The monitor is an old 4:3 like yours and can't do hi-def anyway.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2013, 23:58
Kargo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 5,828
Thank you both for your replies, that has made things much clearer for me
Kargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 12:43
Kargo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 5,828
Back again I've been looking at monitors but I'm struggling to work out which ones are actually HD or even HD ready. I don't want to buy one and realise afterwards that it is not a HD display as that's pretty much what I have now.

Can anyone tell me if this one is a HD display?
http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...er/9093795.htm
Kargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 12:49
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,240
Back again I've been looking at monitors but I'm struggling to work out which ones are actually HD or even HD ready. I don't want to buy one and realise afterwards that it is not a HD display as that's pretty much what I have now.

Can anyone tell me if this one is a HD display?
http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...er/9093795.htm
Yes it's Full HD, it clearly says 'resolution 1920x1080'.

It would be pretty rare to find a 'larger' monitor that isn't Full HD these days.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 12:57
goldframedoor
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Up the street of recent events
Posts: 1,617
DVI can easily do HD resolutions as well and is the second best to HDMI. HDMI is basically DVI, but carries sound as well and the connector is smaller.
goldframedoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 13:03
cp2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Standish, near Wigan
Posts: 411
I would suggest that you think about a monitor with an hdmi connection even if you don't need it now. It might prove useful in future if you upgrade your graphics card or the full PC, or you want to connect a Freeview or BluRay box.
cp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 13:15
Blackjack Davy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Most DVI connectors carry sound as well despite the fact that it isn't in the specifications, my last two ATI/AMD cards have and I'm pretty sure the last nVidia card I installed does too. In fact there are plenty of cases where DVI works flawlessly and HDMI does not for whatever reason, I know, because I'm one of them.

My TV is plugged into the DVI port and the monitor into the HDMI (resolution isn't recognised properly via the HDMI port so I had to hack the registry to get the full resolution.) DVI port though works flawlessly at full 1080p so have plugged the HDTV into that.
Blackjack Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 13:30
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 11,013
Back again I've been looking at monitors but I'm struggling to work out which ones are actually HD or even HD ready. I don't want to buy one and realise afterwards that it is not a HD display as that's pretty much what I have now.

Can anyone tell me if this one is a HD display?
http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...er/9093795.htm
Well HD and 'HD Ready' are television terms really. So unless you are planning to plug TV boxes into it, or watch Blu-rays on your computer, then just worry about resolution and connections for a monitor.

The one you pointed to has analogue connections only. So not very future proof, if you buy a new PC.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 13:55
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,240
I would suggest that you think about a monitor with an hdmi connection even if you don't need it now. It might prove useful in future if you upgrade your graphics card or the full PC, or you want to connect a Freeview or BluRay box.
At the moment a graphics card would probably have VGA as well as HDMI (mine certainly does - but I just use the VGA, although my monitor has both as well).

But HDMI is certainly the way the world is going, so buying a monitor with both is very worthwhile.

While VGA is analogue, and HDMI is digital, there's nothing technically 'better' about HDMI - some times one is slightly better, sometimes the other is. If you've got both, you have the option.

Before anyone comments, mine is connected via VGA because it was before I changed my video card, and I don't see any point in walking across the room to get an HDMI that will make sod all difference
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 14:46
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 459
Re the OP and dead pixels - although dead or stuck pixels are rare, a store can legally sell a monitor with several dead pixels and the customer has no redress in law. I personally find just one dead pixel annoying, so I always buy monitors from a store such as Aria that does a dead pixel check. Costs about 25 extra for a 27", but worth it IMHO.
Mr Dos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 15:31
Greyowl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 336

I'd also like to be able to watch HD content such as YouTube videos in 720p/1080p but wanted to know whether I'd need a monitor with a HDMI in connection to be able to do this? My PC only has VGA so I'd be stuck if this is the case
You don't need a monitor with a HDMI connection, just a monitor that supports at least 1080 pixels vertically.
Some 22" and all 24" monitors should support this resolution.
If you're using the screen for long periods using a digital connection like DVI or Displayport would be preferable.
Graphics cards with these interfaces can be purchased for about 25.
Greyowl is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:30.