Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

RAM Upgrade


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25-08-2013, 16:58
Casterina
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 106

I've the Samsung R519 laptop, it has 2GB DDR2 RAM (2x 1GB), I think it can be upgraded to 4GB DDR2 RAM (2x 2GB) but how can I check to confirm?

http://www.ultraimg.com/images/ITaYw.png
Casterina is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 25-08-2013, 17:02
hardeep
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 2,123
Use this - it should tell you everything you need to know

http://www.crucial.com/uk/systemscanner/
hardeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 17:03
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,280
Go to the Crucial website http://www.crucial.com/uk/ and use their Memory Advisor tool. That should tell you what options are available.

Also what operating system are you using. If it is 32 bit then no point going beyond 4GB as it won't be able to use the extra memory. If it's 64 bit then you can go beyond 4GB if both the laptop and your wallet can handle it
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 17:30
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
DDR 2 is ****ing expensive.

Since you will have your existing ram as a fallback maybe you might want to look at some second hand on flea bay.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 19:34
Casterina
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 106
I've used Cruicial website, CPU-Z and here's the result,

http://www.ultraimg.com/images/1Vy6r.jpg

So I should buy 2x 2GB DDR2 PC2 6400 of the same brand?
Casterina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 19:40
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,280
I've used Cruicial website, CPU-Z and here's the result,

http://www.ultraimg.com/images/1Vy6r.jpg

So I should buy 2x 2GB DDR2 PC2 6400 of the same brand?
Yes you could. But be careful you get Non ECC type memory. If you get ECC type it won't work. So check the wording of any ads you look at when choosing the RAM carefully to get the right type.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 19:42
Casterina
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 106
Yes you could. But be careful you get Non ECC type memory. If you get ECC type it won't work. So check the wording of any ads you look at when choosing the RAM carefully to get the right type.
What MHz should I get? 400 or 800MHz?
Casterina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 19:52
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,280
What MHz should I get? 400 or 800MHz?
Either.

It looks like the laptop is designed for 400MHz. But if you stick 800MHz in all that will happen is it will run at 400MHz instead. Unless the motherboard memory bus can run at 800MHz then you won't get any speed increase by using 800MHz RAM.

So unless 800 is way cheaper than 400 there is probably not much to be gained by going for 800.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 20:05
Casterina
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 106
Either.

It looks like the laptop is designed for 400MHz. But if you stick 800MHz in all that will happen is it will run at 400MHz instead. Unless the motherboard memory bus can run at 800MHz then you won't get any speed increase by using 800MHz RAM.

So unless 800 is way cheaper than 400 there is probably not much to be gained by going for 800.
On the Samsung website, under System Memory, it says 800MHz

http://www.samsung.com/uk/support/mo...06UK-techspecs
Casterina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 20:26
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,280
On the Samsung website, under System Memory, it says 800MHz

http://www.samsung.com/uk/support/mo...06UK-techspecs
Hmm.

Wonder why it's got 400MHz RAM in it at the minute then?

Anyway if it will take 800 at full speed then no harm fitting that. And even if it doesn't it will still work at the lower speed.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2013, 02:28
Sexbomb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 11,909
I've got 2 sticks of 800mhz 2gb DDR ram that I had in my old pc as I upgraded it, how much is it worth selling for?
Sexbomb is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2013, 16:51
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 363
Could the 400/800 malarky be down to DDR (double data rate). CPU-Z shows my DDR3 RAM as 931MHz, but it's running at 1800.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double_data_rate
Mr Dos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2013, 11:22
evil c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wirral Peninsula
Posts: 3,025
My PC Chips M805 m/board had a similar thing to this and I'm trying to remember what I did from 12 years ago. The FSB automatically doubled its speed with the right CPU/RAM combination (I had an Athlon T-bird 850 overclocked to 1.1).

OK, I've found it on the web. The actual bus frequency was 100 MHz and because the Athlon CPU used Double Data Rate bus the effective bus speed was 200 MHz.

So if I've got this right, as your CPU supports 800MHz FSB, I think that if you buy the 800MHz RAM it should then double the speed.
evil c is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:46.