Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Is THREE now the best network [overall] to be on?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-08-2013, 15:59
thebtman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 678

Is THREE now the best network [overall] to be on?

Have been on all the others but Three seems to offer the best deals and overall coverage.

I really couldn't go back to the deals / service from any other network.

Thoughts....
thebtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-08-2013, 16:20
chris4817
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Newton Abbot, Devon
Posts: 264
I like them. I have an iphone 5 and love that I don't have to worry about any data allowance and how fast it is.

However, I was with giffgaff (O2) before and it is far superior for data but living in Devon I do still find lots of coverage problems which I never had with giffgaff. The worse thing for me too is having 5 bars outside a building then going in and 'no service'. I know it's something to do with the frequency or something but I wish they'd sort it.

That said, I'm staying with them and looking forward to 4G
chris4817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 16:29
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,870
Says the guy who works for Three....

No 2G back up is still a killer for a lot of people. But I agree with you, For data three cannot be beaten, and their coverage thanks to MBNL is amazing. Their prices have always been highly competitive as well and their new Calls and texts packages + the addition of the new roaming packages and free 4G proposition really is unbeatable!
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 16:31
Voynich
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Western Scotland
Posts: 13,596
It depends! Where I live in the sticks it's T-Mobile that has the best coverage.
Voynich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 16:33
konebyvax
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ignoringtrollsville
Posts: 7,270
I'm on a Talkmobile (Vodafone) old tariff that gives u/l data and my son is on The One Plan at £18/mth. The difference in coverage and speed data wise is night and day. I've discovered the reason Talkmobile could give u/l data is basically I find it more or less useless in our extensive family tavels around the UK this Summer. Once my contract is up (yes, I was oe of those silly people who believed 24 month contracts were they way to go) I will be going over to Three without hesitation.
konebyvax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 16:36
thebtman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 678
Says the guy who works for Three....

No 2G back up is still a killer for a lot of people. But I agree with you, For data three cannot be beaten, and their coverage thanks to MBNL is amazing. Even their Calls and texts packages + the addition of the new roaming packages and free 4G proposition really is unbeatable!
Thats a little unfair mate, especially after all the dialogue we have had together. I dont work for Three.

I'm just a going on my personal experience in using my phone for business and the coverage / service / speeds I experience.
thebtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 17:06
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,870
Thats a little unfair mate, especially after all the dialogue we have had together. I dont work for Three.

I'm just a going on my personal experience in using my phone for business and the coverage / service / speeds I experience.
I thought you said you did in a different thread? My bad. Sorry about that

But I agree with you. Based on my personal experience Theee have always been the best in terms of tariffs and value for money.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 17:17
thebtman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 678
I thought you said you did in a different thread? My bad. Sorry about that

But I agree with you. Based on my personal experience Theee have always been the best in terms of tariffs and value for money.
Ahh crossed cells, no problem mate.

No I work in the industry and thus have Three contacts.

thebtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 17:39
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,183
Been with them 6 years, nobody else can offer me what they do, and at the same price. I've no reason to leave them.
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 18:45
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,870
Ahh crossed cells, no problem mate.
Must have been an O2 cell.......

jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 19:18
thebtman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 678
Must have been an O2 cell.......

Lol...ANY cell other than Three
thebtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 19:21
finbaar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,653
I can get 17 down with 3 at home. But nothing at all at work. So for now 3 are not in the game. If I ever take the plunge and get a dual sim phone it would be 3 in the 3g slot and Vodafone in the 2g (no one can touch their voice coverage).
finbaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 19:23
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,896
when my tmobile contract is up in about 7/8 months think i will be going with 3
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 19:23
thebtman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 678
I can get 17 down with 3 at home. But nothing at all at work. So for now 3 are not in the game. If I ever take the plunge and get a dual sim phone it would be 3 in the 3g slot and Vodafone in the 2g (no one can touch their voice coverage).
I think you will always find zero spots with every network. But stick with Three, after Q2 2014 things will change
thebtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 19:27
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,870
I think you will always find zero spots with every network. But stick with Three, after Q2 2014 things will change
Dat band 20
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 19:31
thebtman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 678

Not just me then
thebtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 19:40
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,870
VoLTE as well.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 20:00
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,764
I hope it is going drastically increase call quality like it is meant to.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 20:04
thebtman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 678
True VOLTE is way off sadly
thebtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 20:08
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,870
True VOLTE is way off sadly
Are you referring to it being CSFB at the beginning of the roll out?
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 20:16
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,449
Are you referring to CSFB at the beginning of the roll out?
So it'll be Circuit switched fallback (dropping to 3G), then hopefully later VoLTE.

The issue is if they implement VoLTE and you go out of a LTE coverage the call drops as 3G can't continue to support the VoLTE voice call, unless you implement Single Radio Voice Call Continuity (SRVCC)

SRVCC

SRVCC functions as follows. As an SRVCC-capable UEe engaged in a voice call determines that it is moving away from LTE coverage, it notifies the LTE network. The LTE network determines that the voice call needs to be moved to the legacy circuit domain. It notifies the MSC server of the need to switch the voice call from the packet to the circuit domain and initiates a handover of the LTE voice bearer to the circuit network. The MSC server establishes a bearer path for the mobile in the legacy network and notifies the IMS core that the mobile’s call leg is moving from the packet to the circuit domain. The circuit-packet function in the IMS core then performs the necessary inter-working functions. When the mobile arrives on-channel in the legacy network, it switches its internal voice processing from VoIP to legacy-circuit voice, and the call continues.
The problem is I believe this is expensive, complex and requires quite a bit of cost implementing to work with 3G and that's why so few networks worldwide have deployed or are deploying it just yet.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 20:16
thebtman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 678
Are you referring to CSFB at the beginning of the roll out?
Yes, as I said true VOLTE is way off, and CSFB is just a method to engage certain services before they are really ready.
thebtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 20:17
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,764
Are you referring to CSFB at the beginning of the roll out?
That would be needed else there wouldn't be a 3G fallback for voice calls.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 20:18
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,870
Yes, as I said true VOLTE is way off, and CSFB is just a method to engage certain services before they are really ready.
That would be needed else there wouldn't be a 3G fallback for voice calls.
I was just wondering what btman meant by "True" VoLte.

Based on what i've heard "True" VoLTE isn't that far off next year. But that's what i've been told.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 20:19
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,764
I was just wondering what btman meant by "True" VoLte.
Oh I meant which it basically becomes a VOIP service.

Edit you were to quick correcting lol
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:06.