Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

o2 LTE speeds


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29-08-2013, 07:21
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 432

Was wondering this morning about what speeds they will offer. could not find the info anywhere.

So I took to my speed test servers and I have found the info!.

Pretty impressive

Looks like they where done in Slough

http://i.imgur.com/fgD0iX2.png
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-08-2013, 09:29
japaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 703
I think the speed is pretty much what you would expect for 10MHz given that there must be very few people using it. Those pings look good though.

As you said, this is near Slough where they are based but now that their coverage map shows 4G, although they are saying 3 cities (or for Vodafone just 1) it would seem that their definition of the city is quite wide. If this was EE then they would be claiming more towns and cities e.g EE (correctly I would say) has Slough listed as separate to London in their number of towns and cities total.
japaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 10:48
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,009
I think the speed is pretty much what you would expect for 10MHz given that there must be very few people using it. Those pings look good though.

As you said, this is near Slough where they are based but now that their coverage map shows 4G, although they are saying 3 cities (or for Vodafone just 1) it would seem that their definition of the city is quite wide. If this was EE then they would be claiming more towns and cities e.g EE (correctly I would say) has Slough listed as separate to London in their number of towns and cities total.
In fairness that may be due to 800MHz and they have said they were doing blanket coverage.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 14:50
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,753
Dat Ping!

Nice speeds to start off with.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 15:09
tpk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Darlington
Posts: 680
First reports are starting to come through of speeds, and surprisingly are the opposite of what I was expected!

O2 - averaging 45Mbps download & 15Mbps upload
Voda - averaging 10Mbps download & 2.5Mbps upload - some reporting speeds of only 8Mbps download and only 1 bar of signal wherever you are in London.

Have Voda rushed the rollout to launch the same date as O2 I wonder?
tpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 15:17
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,520
Impressed with the O2 speeds although nobody on it at the mo.
When EE launched they were getting 30-35 mostly. Interesting that O2 showing over 40 considering the lower (slower) frequency.
Vodafone probably just a glitch. I hope to god it's not their 4G network mimicking the shambles that is their 2&3G networks at the moment!
Not sure its really possible to run 4G over outdated 90s kit!

It will be interesting to watch O2. They have a large chunk of 800 spectrum and if they roll out blanket, they could well end up with the best coverage by far.
EE will need to make sure the 1800 is as dense as possible and then fill the gaps with 800 to compete (on coverage at least).
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 15:20
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,753
Sounds like Voda are just sorting everything out.

@Devon- bear in mind there is only like 2 people using O2 4G right now. (well you know what i mean) People on EE were getting 60mbps+ at the start of the their roll out.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 15:21
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,520
Sounds like Voda are just sorting everything out.

@Devon- bear in mind there is only like 2 people using O2 4G right now. (well you know what i mean) People on EE were getting 60mbps+ at the start of the their roll out.
This is true, I just added a bit to the end of my last post. You beat me to it!
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 15:25
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 992
this is because no one is using it. Time will tell.

It'll be interesting to see how Three are since they will have over 1 million 4G customers at launch.
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 16:04
japaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 703
Seen some tests done today on Voda and they've all been in the range 30 - 50 Meg except one which was 57 down. If you look at the coverage map there is some significant 4G London holes still (although in fairness they do seem to fill in if you click the future in 3 months coverage). O2's map looks to have less London holes but it may just be a different model.
japaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 16:07
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,367
Sounds like Voda are just sorting everything out.

@Devon- bear in mind there is only like 2 people using O2 4G right now. (well you know what i mean) People on EE were getting 60mbps+ at the start of the their roll out.
Its a bit like new road that has just opened and only a few cars know its opened and are able to use it. No congestion and fast speeds can be achieved.

Please note that O2 have the least amount of dedicated 4G spectrum out of all the networks 2 X 10MHz at 800MHz.

Anyone who is testing O2 4G can you report if they are still using Image Compression?
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 16:11
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,753
this is because no one is using it. Time will tell.

It'll be interesting to see how Three are since they will have over 1 million 4G customers at launch.
1.5m customers as of Jan 2014.

Its a bit like new road that has just opened and only a few cars know its opened and are able to use it. No congestion and fast speeds can be achieved.

Anyone who is testing O2 4G can you report if they are still using Image Compression?
I'm guessing they still are. Gotta make that 100mb 4G allowance.... i mean 2GB allowance last some how
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 17:22
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,009
Its a bit like new road that has just opened and only a few cars know its opened and are able to use it. No congestion and fast speeds can be achieved.

Please note that O2 have the least amount of dedicated 4G spectrum out of all the networks 2 X 10MHz at 800MHz.

Anyone who is testing O2 4G can you report if they are still using Image Compression?
If I remember right if we going go completely factual

Three have the least at moment 2 x 5 MHz of 800MHz [2x10MHz of 1800MHz by end of next month and further 2x5MHz in Q4 2015].

O2 is 2x10MHz of 800MHz

Vodafone is 2x10MHz of 800MHz, 2x20MHz of 2600MHz and 1x25MHz of unpaired 2600MHz.

EE is 2x5MHz of 800MHz, 2x45MHz of 1800MHz [2x20MHz in use] and 2x35MHz of 2600MHz.

Pretty sure that is right.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 18:10
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,907
o2's 4G coverage on the map is the same in as there 3G , in the same way as you have to zoom right in to see it. I wonder if when they start rolling out 'rapidly' they will let us see the whole country?
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 18:22
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,520
If I remember right if we going go completely factual

Three have the least at moment 2 x 5 MHz of 800MHz [2x10MHz of 1800MHz by end of next month and further 2x5MHz in Q4 2015].

O2 is 2x10MHz of 800MHz

Vodafone is 2x10MHz of 800MHz, 2x20MHz of 2600MHz and 1x25MHz of unpaired 2600MHz.

EE is 2x5MHz of 800MHz, 2x45MHz of 1800MHz [2x20MHz in use] and 2x35MHz of 2600MHz.

Pretty sure that is right.
Yeah that's about right I think.
Since we know that 2x10 can do up to 60Mbps uncongested but around 25-40Mbps on a moderately loaded cell, does that mean EEs 2x5 would max out at around 30Mbps but generally do about 10-15Mbps?
Meaning that Three will have a faster 800 network than EE?
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 18:38
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,009
Yeah that's about right I think.
Since we know that 2x10 can do up to 60Mbps uncongested but around 25-40Mbps on a moderately loaded cell, does that mean EEs 2x5 would max out at around 30Mbps but generally do about 10-15Mbps?
Meaning that Three will have a faster 800 network than EE?
Interesting point I hadn't considered that I think on 2x5MHz 800MHz we likely going get same but perhaps bit more reliable speeds and lower ping than we do on 2100MHz at moment. Just the benefit of having far greater range and indoor coverage. Probably EE will be faster than Three as Three are going have a lot of more customers on 4G at start.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 20:38
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,120
Any members forked out for O2 4G yet then? any speedtest.net screenshots and details of what it cost you to get 4G?
What time was 4G turned on? I assumed it was going to be tonight.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 20:40
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,753
Can someone explain the upgrade procedure for an existing customer with a 4G ready handset.

I can find no mention of this on the O2 website anywhere?
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 20:50
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 432
Any members forked out for O2 4G yet then? any speedtest.net screenshots and details of what it cost you to get 4G?
What time was 4G turned on? I assumed it was going to be tonight.
8PM i think

http://www.o2.co.uk/4g/launch-gigs
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 21:10
interactiv-uk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 345
It's been on since this morning. both O2.co.uk and the coverage checker were live when I looked at 6am...

Just need to get some coverage where I am. Shouldn't be long as most of the cells in this area have been replaced/updated in the last few weeks!
interactiv-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 21:24
sethpet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 334
Vodafone turned on just after midnight i think they said on news this morning
sethpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 22:29
japaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 703
The BBC did some tests of the new 4G networks. Unfortunately due to coverage they did them on 3G. Well he does say it's not very scientific. Tech journalism at it's finest.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-23878111
japaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 22:34
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,120
The BBC did some tests of the new 4G networks. Unfortunately due to coverage they did them on 3G. Well he does say it's not very scientific. Tech journalism at it's finest.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-23878111
Haha...

But the real surprise was the smartphone on Three's network - which is not yet 4G. It provided a very impressive download speed of 21 Mbps. Three has been claiming that its souped-up 3.5G phone can give customers the 4G experience without needing a new phone or a more expensive contract
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 22:46
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,771
Yeah that's about right I think.
Since we know that 2x10 can do up to 60Mbps uncongested but around 25-40Mbps on a moderately loaded cell, does that mean EEs 2x5 would max out at around 30Mbps but generally do about 10-15Mbps?
Meaning that Three will have a faster 800 network than EE?
Devon: Not quite sure how you came to the conclusion that Three will have a faster 800 network than EE.. Three will actually have more phones active for LTE if they activate every sim as stated... Three's LTE equipped user base is larger than EE4G sign up... so in theory it would be more congested on Three's 800.

Not that it matters as both will only have 1800 LTE for a good while yet..
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2013, 22:54
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,120
Who's actually the fastest when we're talking over 30 Megs doesn't really matter to me. I'll be looking at price, reliability, data allowance, stuff like that.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:35.