Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Multiroom TV


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-08-2013, 10:37
SaddlerSteve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,678

I'm not talking about Sky services just normal freeview channels to multiple TV's in several rooms in the house.

We currently have a main TV in the living room which is connected to a cable connection.
There is also 2 TV's in bedrooms which have their own portable aerials and an old portable down in the kitchen.

We're looking at installing a a wall mounted HDTV in the kitchen.

Are there any systems out there that can send the signal from the main connection in the living room to all of the other TV's in the house? They need to be able to watch different channels.

I'd prefer something wireless but could make something wired work.

Any suggestions?
SaddlerSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-08-2013, 10:58
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,016
There are no wireless solutions that you are legally allowed to install without any form of licence that can feed the raw aerial signals round the house. And the chances of getting a licence are only slightly less than winning the lottery when you never buy a ticket

The best solution is to split the aerial feed as close to the aerial as is practical and run cables to each room that requires a TV point. Putting the split as close to the aerial as possible minimises the cable run to each location which in turn reduces signal loss and the amount of interference picked up. Splitting in the living room and running cables back upstairs should be avoided if at all possible.

There are various ways to do this. If the signal is very high you can use a passive splitter. This will introduce some signal loss so only worth it if your signal is high enough for the loss not to matter too much. If the signal isn't strong enough for a passive splitter then there are various forms of powered splitter available.

You could do the split in the loft and use a standard indoor multi-output amplifier if you have power available in the loft. If not you can get multi-output masthead amplifiers. As the name suggests these are designed to go outside on the pole the aerial is attached to. But can be used in the loft if that is easier to access.

A masthead amplifier is powered up one of the output cables. You put a small power supply at one of the aerial points and as long as no one turns it off it powers the amp in the loft/out on the pole.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2013, 12:35
BMR
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,240
What is reception like with the portable aerials? If it is OK, with just the occasional breakup, you could try a passive splitter as your signal is quite strong. If it is rubbish, I'd go straight to a powered amp.

(Especially if you own the house and plan to stay) Don't skimp on cheap cable or components. It isn't worth it. Get good WF100 cable and a decent amp. We use a Wolsey amplfier now, and it's much better than the old cheap Labgear one. .Make the connections up well and don't cut corners is my advice.
BMR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2013, 16:30
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,679
chrisjr has it on the nose. It's illegal (hence the gear is unavailable at retail prices) to rebroadcast the full TV spectrum in the way that's being asked about.

Honestly, the best solution is the get some coax run in. That's really it. Yes, it's possible to rig up multiple Freeview boxes with then multiple wireless TX/RX kits but my God, what a mess and load of faffing about. Get a local spark to run some coax and a couple of CAT cable feeds while he's at it. Then plaster up and repaint where needed. Job done.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 08:11
BMR
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,240
Honestly, the best solution is the get some coax run in. That's really it. Yes, it's possible to rig up multiple Freeview boxes with then multiple wireless TX/RX kits but my God, what a mess and load of faffing about.
Plus I reckon 3 video senders might well interfere with one another.
BMR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 08:20
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,679
^ Yep. Unless they have channel shift. Even then, three of them operating together on 2.4GHz will saturate the wireless G band. You could go with N band stuff, but then that's more money and it too is going to become as crowded as the G band and then you're back to square one. Not to mention of course that these things operate in composite video so the picture quality won't be anything like as good as the TV doing its own RF decoding.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 09:00
SaddlerSteve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,678
We don't have a loft aerial.
We're hooked up to the city's cable system.

So the best option is to use some kind of splitter from the main aerial connection then just run coax cables to all of the TV's?
SaddlerSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 09:07
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,227
We don't have a loft aerial.
We're hooked up to the city's cable system.

So the best option is to use some kind of splitter from the main aerial connection then just run coax cables to all of the TV's?
Yes, anything else is just trying to duplicate that, and failing badly.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 10:08
SaddlerSteve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,678
Yes, anything else is just trying to duplicate that, and failing badly.
Any recommendations for booster / splitter boxes and coax cables?

Sorry, I'm completely clueless about these kind of things.
SaddlerSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 12:10
BMR
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,240
Hang on. Woah Woah there. We need to know a bit more about this cable system.

So you have no roof aerial but get your TV down a cable? Where abouts are you? (I'm guessing Milton Keynes)?

Is the signal that comes down the cable analogue or digital? Do you have a cable box? Do you get (for example) BBC News?
BMR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 13:24
SaddlerSteve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,678
Hang on. Woah Woah there. We need to know a bit more about this cable system.

So you have no roof aerial but get your TV down a cable? Where abouts are you? (I'm guessing Milton Keynes)?

Is the signal that comes down the cable analogue or digital? Do you have a cable box? Do you get (for example) BBC News?
Yes, we're in MK.
I've actually realised after checking that the living room TV is not actually using the aerial connection in the wall.
It's an old CRT and is plugged through the Sky box to the dish outside. The living room is at the front of the house on the first floor.

I have a HDTV with Freeview in my bedroom at the front of the house on the 2nd floor. This is using a portable digital aerial.

The kitchen where we want to put a new HDTV is at the back of the house on the ground floor.

I assume that the signal from the cable is digital as I thought the analogue signal had been turned off?
SaddlerSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 14:39
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,016
Yes, we're in MK.
I've actually realised after checking that the living room TV is not actually using the aerial connection in the wall.
It's an old CRT and is plugged through the Sky box to the dish outside. The living room is at the front of the house on the first floor.

I have a HDTV with Freeview in my bedroom at the front of the house on the 2nd floor. This is using a portable digital aerial.

The kitchen where we want to put a new HDTV is at the back of the house on the ground floor.

I assume that the signal from the cable is digital as I thought the analogue signal had been turned off?
You might find this interesting.

http://cmis.milton-keynes.gov.uk/Cmi...Document=31966

And

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1792257

If that situation hasn't changed then looks like the cable system could be pretty much useless. Certainly for watching Freeview.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 15:08
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,227
I assume that the signal from the cable is digital as I thought the analogue signal had been turned off?
It depends if it's ever been updated?, certainly the original MK cable was only analogue - but I'd like to think it's been updated many times since then.

However, the PDF posted above seems to suggest otherwise - presumably the original system was so poorly installed as to make it non-viable to upgrade?.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 15:25
Peter the Great
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,921
It depends if it's ever been updated?, certainly the original MK cable was only analogue - but I'd like to think it's been updated many times since then.

However, the PDF posted above seems to suggest otherwise - presumably the original system was so poorly installed as to make it non-viable to upgrade?.
From what I remember reading the problem was the cable system was owned by BT but the service was run by Virgin Media. BT were not willing to pay to upgrade a cable system that was being used for a service provided by a rival. And because BT owned the cable system Virgin Media were not allowed anywhere near the cable system.
Peter the Great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 18:42
BMR
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,240
Personally if I was planning to stay in the house I would be ringing around aerial installers and asking for quotes on a new outdoor aerial with cabling to 4 points. Use a local firm who will have knowledge of any MK specific issues. That would be my 1st choice and would set you up for the long term.

If that is too expensive, you could look at a loft aerial and do it yourself. If the indoor aerials are giving tolerable results at the moment then a loft aerial might do the trick but whatever you do DO NOT GO ON THE ROOF YOURSELF.
BMR is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:05.