Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Can't add attachments to emails in Firefox XP sp3


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31-08-2013, 10:10
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850

I've only just noticed this today but I tried Yahoo Hotmail Gmx and none would add an attacment .

It works in Google chrome no problem .

I also use Firefox with Mint no problem with that.
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 31-08-2013, 12:16
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,940
I've only just noticed this today but I tried Yahoo Hotmail Gmx and none would add an attacment .

It works in Google chrome no problem .

I also use Firefox with Mint no problem with that.
What version of Firefox are you using? 23 is current.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 13:20
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850
What version of Firefox are you using? 23 is current.
It's 23.0.1
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 13:54
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,940
Ran in XP Compatibility mode and with Add-ons disabled - every way I tried it, it just works.

Do you use Firefox Sync and can you complete this on another PC? Are you the only user in Firefox / on the PC. Try other user accounts.

You can try Add-ons disabled mode? If that doesn't work, I'd export Bookmarks and uninstall Firefox and delete your profile, restart then reinstall.

There's plenty to be going on with.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 14:18
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850
Ran in XP Compatibility mode and with Add-ons disabled - every way I tried it, it just works.

Do you use Firefox Sync and can you complete this on another PC? Are you the only user in Firefox / on the PC. Try other user accounts.

You can try Add-ons disabled mode? If that doesn't work, I'd export Bookmarks and uninstall Firefox and delete your profile, restart then reinstall.

There's plenty to be going on with.
I disabled all plugins and still the same but I did try some other file types other than the jpegs and it did attach a TXT file and an html bookmark file but not a pdf .
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 14:58
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,940
How large is the .pdf? Try a small one (<1MB)

Weird, but the first thing I tried attaching was a .pdf!

So unless the .pdf file association is broken and it's struggling to load a thumbnail as the upload is complete...

Uninstall all instances of Adobe Reader (you may well have older ones)

Delete the file association (hint is in first post but the registry hack should still be the same)

Reinstall Adobe Reader. Restart. Try attach .pdf again.

Good luck and please update me.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 05:29
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850
Tried a 40kb pdf still doesn't work I have Panda cloud AV and it sometimes asks permission to access files with a popup soffice.bin but disableing the antivirus didn't help.
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:55
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850
Tried a 40kb pdf still doesn't work I have Panda cloud AV and it sometimes asks permission to access files with a popup soffice.bin but disableing the antivirus didn't help.
Same when I try to upload a screen shot to tinypic

http://ubuntuone.com/4Y6GaZnDdEyvbXkIcSsG8f
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:29
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,940
Tried a 40kb pdf still doesn't work I have Panda cloud AV and it sometimes asks permission to access files with a popup soffice.bin but disableing the antivirus didn't help.
Accessing files with soffice.bin means you have Open or Libre Office installed, the AV is correctly identifying the associated program, but it would seem you have .pdf associated with Open/Libre rather than Adobe Reader.

Right click a .pdf - Open with, set Adobe Reader as default program.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:12
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850
Accessing files with soffice.bin means you have Open or Libre Office installed, the AV is correctly identifying the associated program, but it would seem you have .pdf associated with Open/Libre rather than Adobe Reader.

Right click a .pdf - Open with, set Adobe Reader as default program.
I created it in libre office but when I right click properties its set to open with pdf-xchange I don't have Adobe .

Just done the same with the jpegs and in my scans folder they are named as 011 scan ----- but were set to open with Gimp although when you open them they opened with windows photo viewer.

I'll try again with firefox and let you know what happens.
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:57
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,940
I created it in libre office but when I right click properties its set to open with pdf-xchange I don't have Adobe .

Just done the same with the jpegs and in my scans folder they are named as 011 scan ----- but were set to open with Gimp although when you open them they opened with windows photo viewer.

I'll try again with firefox and let you know what happens.
I'm assuming you use PDF Xchange as you have paid for a full version? There's little reason not to use Adobe as it's browser helper tends to work quite well and it has a sandbox feature now. The footprint is a little larger, but it's not really a concern. There are many utilities that can extract or deconstruct pdf for editing (I use PDF Split and Merge for some manipulation).

Does PDF Xchange have a similar helper (does it load PDFs in the browser window or always load externally)?

Apparently tinypic is no longer available to sign up to, it is owned by photobucket.com and new sign ups are directed there.

Try using a photobucket uploader?
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 14:47
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850
The pdfs do preview in the browser. it is a free version .

http://ubuntuone.com/5A4fwCD4Nt8I3TLDGJu2xF
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 08:19
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,940
My Firefox doesn't have an association to jpegs.

Try the advice here;

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...urce=inproduct

deleting the mimeTypes.rdf will reset FF's handling protocols to the default.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:18
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850
My Firefox doesn't have an association to jpegs.

Try the advice here;

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...urce=inproduct

deleting the mimeTypes.rdf will reset FF's handling protocols to the default.
I completely removed Firefox and installed ff 24 beta and still the same problem some files will upload as attachments even a 25mb TIF file so its not large files thats the problem.

PDF won't dowload ( you don't have permission )


As you say my new version doesn't have a jpeg file association either.
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 17:28
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,940
Can't recommend using a beta to get any kind of reliable results. I would stick with the stable release channel.

If the uploading is now working with large files then I suggest if you can't upload .pdfs then the fact you don't use Adobe Reader may be working against you - it is what most people use, regardless of how you feel about it.

You've uninstalled and reinstalled everything else at great cost in terms of time spent. Why not remove PDF Xchange and try Adobe Reader XI?

I would revert to FF23 as well.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:11.