Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

PC Repairs


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2013, 14:30
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,352

anyone know any decent PC repairs in east Manchester.
pretty sure its a motherboard issue but would want to get it checked out.
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-09-2013, 14:54
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,032
What's the problem? You never know it might be something you can sort yourself and save yourself a few quid.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 16:09
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,352
What's the problem? You never know it might be something you can sort yourself and save yourself a few quid.
PC randomly freezes while on the internet or when you play Facebook games. ie Candy Crush etc

so far i have tried

different PSU - still freezing.
ran mem86+ for something like 34 passes - no errors.
ran the pc with onboard gfx which ran sweet no freezing.
tried different gfx card - still freezing.
did factory reset of Windows 7 - still freezing.
all temps seem fine in bios, all fans working.

the only thing i can thing of now is a motherboard fault with maybe something to do with the pcie slot.

ty for any help
hope that helps pal
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 16:21
iangrad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 768
That prob is normally faulty memory -- can you substitute with known good ?

If you need professional diagnosis ? take it to Aria !
iangrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 16:25
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,352
That prob is normally faulty memory -- can you substitute with known good ?

If you need professional diagnosis ? take it to Aria !
I phoned Aria they said they only do repairs to there own systems.

Have tried booting up with one stick out and running on just 2gb and it still froze so chances of both sticks being faulty are very slim.
Plus it ran fine using the onboard GFX ruling ram issues out I would of thought
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 16:28
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,032
Have you tried a BIOS reset? Usually involves taking the battery out and possibly shorting a couple of pins on the motherboard? If there is some screwed up BIOS setting then clearing it back to the defaults might sort it.

I presume the onboard graphics are not man enough for something you do? Or maybe only VGA and you want to use DVI/HDMI? Hence the need for a separate card? Otherwise I'd be tempted to say use the onboard graphics if that works fine.

But is looking like a hardware fault and pretty much all that's left is the motherboard.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 16:38
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,352
Have you tried a BIOS reset? Usually involves taking the battery out and possibly shorting a couple of pins on the motherboard? If there is some screwed up BIOS setting then clearing it back to the defaults might sort it.

I presume the onboard graphics are not man enough for something you do? Or maybe only VGA and you want to use DVI/HDMI? Hence the need for a separate card? Otherwise I'd be tempted to say use the onboard graphics if that works fine.

But is looking like a hardware fault and pretty much all that's left is the motherboard.
Will try a bios reset and was thinking on using my windows 7 disc on a different hard drive just to see if that freezes. I did run the Seagate tools on the drive which said no errors.

It's my Mums pc and really onboard isn't good enough. Gran kids play Minecraft on it and other games. Plus her monitor only has 2 dvi connections.
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 16:55
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,032
I think the fact it freezes when the separate graphics card is installed sort of rules out a drive error. Unless there is some really weird interaction between the two. Much more likely is that it's the graphics card, the motherboard slot or the PSU.

You've swapped cards and PSUs so that only really leaves the motherboard if a BIOS reset has no effect. I would be very surprised indeed if changing the hard drive would have any effect at all. Though I have seen some weird stuff happen with PCs over the years so maybe I shouldn't be surprised if it did work

The only thing that it might be is if both the original and replacement PSU were underpowered and were not able to supply enough current to power the PC with the separate card in place. But if you swapped, say a 400W for a 750W PSU then that is unlikely to be the problem (unless it was a really crap PSU and wasn't able to deliver the rated wattage in real life).
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 17:14
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,352
Ty dude for the advice. Deffo not an underpowered PSU.
I took it out of mine and its a highest end 650w and mine is alot more powerful than my Mums PC.
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 18:27
cat's whiskas
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 583
PC randomly freezes
I've had 2 PCs randomly freezing and both problems were related to the hard drive. On both HDTune Pro gave CRC errors. The one hard drive has been replaced and the problem has been cured but I'm not bothering with the other as it's the older pc.
cat's whiskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 18:56
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,352
I've had 2 PCs randomly freezing and both problems were related to the hard drive. On both HDTune Pro gave CRC errors. The one hard drive has been replaced and the problem has been cured but I'm not bothering with the other as it's the older pc.
Can't be a hard drive issue due to its runs fine while using onboard GFX instead of a pcie card.
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:27.