Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Problems with Monitor


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2013, 12:14
eugenespeed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HEED ARMY!!!!!
Posts: 29,530

Wondered if anyone could help. I have a problem that started a couple of weeks ago.

My PC is running Windows 7 and my monitor is a Dell.

About two weeks ago, I turned my computer on, but instead of Windows appearing on my computer screen, it remained blank with the green power light flashing on and off. I unplugged the blue monitor connection and plugged it back in and it came back on.

This has been happening since every time and I turn the computer on and sometimes if I allow it to go into standby (If I leave the computer for a short while). Recently thought, it is taking a few more unplug and replugs to get it to work.

I've checked the connection and I can't see any bent or damaged pins.

Is there anything I can do, or is it a new monitor job?

Thanks.
eugenespeed is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 03-09-2013, 13:07
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,495
It could equally be the graphics card in the PC.

The only way to be certain is to either plug a different, known working, monitor into your PC or plug your monitor into a known working PC.

If your PC on a different monitor has the same issue then it's not the monitor. Equally if your monitor on a different PC works flawlessly then it isn't the monitor.

If your PC on a different monitor works perfectly then it is your monitor. If your monitor on a different PC also blank screens then it's the monitor.

It could be the cable. Doesn't need to be any visible problem. A broken wire internally won't be obvious. So always worth swapping the cable round to see if that has any effect.

But you need to do some investigation first to narrow down the real cause. Pointless spending money on a new monitor only to discover it's the PC!
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 15:10
eugenespeed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HEED ARMY!!!!!
Posts: 29,530
I wonder if it is actually my graphics card. I've just went through the whole process again to get online and everything on my monitor is appearing bigger.

I've not changed any settings.
eugenespeed is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 16:15
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,495
I wonder if it is actually my graphics card. I've just went through the whole process again to get online and everything on my monitor is appearing bigger.

I've not changed any settings.
That doesn't necessarily indicate a fault in the graphics card. Depending on what is going wrong the graphics card can sometimes reset to a low resolution (has the effect of making the icons etc look bigger) while it sorts itself out.

I've had that happen more than once with fully serviceable cards and monitors before now. So I think you still need to try substituting your monitor and PC to narrow down where the fault is.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 16:43
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,145
just follow chris's advice - its a process of elimination so it's time to find a friend with a monitor or is willing to let you use their machine to plug yours into for starters
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2013, 15:33
eugenespeed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HEED ARMY!!!!!
Posts: 29,530
Just a bit of an update.

I've not been able to get a hold of a friend to borrow a monitor off etc, he was actually coming round tomorrow. So, I've just put up with this for the last 10 days.

Just idly Googling "problems with monitor", I ended up on troubleshooter for Windows 7 on the Microsoft website. I ran it and it came up with "detected - hardware changes have not been detected" and then I forget the exact wording, but it was something like press ok to fix. So I did.

I then restarted my computer and the monitor came on first time.

I then completely powered off my computer, including turning it off at the wall. Left it a few minutes, powered back on, monitor came on first time.

This has been annoying me now for over three weeks. I am not exactly filled full of confidence, surely it couldn't have been that simple to fix, could it?!
eugenespeed is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2013, 07:41
eugenespeed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HEED ARMY!!!!!
Posts: 29,530
False dawn I'm afraid. Problems are back this morning.
eugenespeed is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2013, 13:55
eugenespeed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HEED ARMY!!!!!
Posts: 29,530
Change of cabling and monitor, seems to be okay at the moment.
eugenespeed is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:31.