Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Does anyone use Trusteer Rapport for their intenet banking?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2013, 19:25
the sandman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 564

If so, when I tried to download it from the HSBC website. I got the error code PREVUNIS.

Is it a virus?
the sandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-09-2013, 19:33
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,996
I've got Trusteer Rapport installed on the computer I do banking on.
I've never had any problems with it. It's just a browser add-on that gives an added layer of security.
An article about it here.
http://krebsonsecurity.com/2010/04/a...from-trusteer/

Googling that error code, most people just suggest you uninstall and try again.
Not sure what it means
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 20:12
John259
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 13,224
I've read conflicting reports. It's given some people terrible problems and is apparently very difficult to uninstall. My bank keeps flogging it at me but so far I've not accepted it. I've yet to find a meaningful description of what it does, only meaningless marketing techno-babble.
John259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 20:18
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,775
Not a problem to use it if you want to - certainly not a virus itself.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 20:29
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,427
I would say if you have a good firewall installed with a good anti keylogger etc you shouldn't need it. There are a lot of reports of it causing problems for some people. I've so far resisted my banks attempts at pushing this. They don't make it mandatory.
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 20:43
calico_pie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,032
I think if you only ever go directly to your online bank you don't really need it.
calico_pie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 21:16
ironjade
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Posts: 8,299
It messed up my keyboard and was a general PITA so I ditched it.
ironjade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 21:21
the sandman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 564
I've finally got rid of it because it slows down my computer.
the sandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 21:31
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,786
I tried it 4 years ago, never again since.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 00:15
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,996
I would say if you have a good firewall installed with a good anti keylogger etc you shouldn't need it. There are a lot of reports of it causing problems for some people. I've so far resisted my banks attempts at pushing this. They don't make it mandatory.
Do people still put on third party firewalls?
I had the Zonealarm one when I had XP, but haven't had one since.
And I wouldn't have a clue about an anti-keylogger?

I only have the Rapport software on one PC. I tried it without and I tried it with, and I can't tell any difference in performance etc.

Having said that, I haven't tried to uninstall it, and I'm not sure exactly what it does.

ETA: I see there's another thread now.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 00:26
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,427
Do people still put on third party firewalls?
I had the Zonealarm one when I had XP, but haven't had one since.
And I wouldn't have a clue about an anti-keylogger?

I only have the Rapport software on one PC. I tried it without and I tried it with, and I can't tell any difference in performance etc.

Having said that, I haven't tried to uninstall it, and I'm not sure exactly what it does.

ETA: I see there's another thread now.
Obviously they do......Comodo has an anti key logger.....
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:01
finlux
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 609
Been using Rapport for years without any problems. Doesn't slow my computer down at all
finlux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 23:41
vadek
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 201
I used Trusteer Rapport for a long time without any problems at all. It appeared to work exactly as intended in protecting my banking sessions. It was only when I discovered that it was regularly sending large chunks of data from my PC to their servers that I decided to uninstall it. I asked them what data is was uploading but never got a satisfactory response.

I now use SpyShelter Personal Free to detect any bad software behaviour on my PC, including keyloggers.
vadek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:56
Magic Cottage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,547
All now pointless nonsense in view of the news that our thick idiot governments have broken the encryption allowing criminals to get through the back doors that have been created.
Magic Cottage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 20:21
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,427
All now pointless nonsense in view of the news that our thick idiot governments have broken the encryption allowing criminals to get through the back doors that have been created.
Been like that for a while now. Makes even more of a nonsense of the 'If you have nothing to hide......' argument....
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 20:33
Meercam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 913
Hasn't Trusteer Rapport just been bought by an AV company?

I'm sure I read this the other day but can't find the article.

Not that this answers the OP's question.
Meercam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 21:11
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,427
If there is still anyone out there that thinks Trusteer is any good....Watch this...Trusteer Report
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 22:33
the sandman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 564
If there is still anyone out there that thinks Trusteer is any good....Watch this...Trusteer Report
the sandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 23:20
stvn758
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15,569
Every time I log into my Nationwide accounts they offer me it.
stvn758 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 01:45
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,996
If there is still anyone out there that thinks Trusteer is any good....Watch this...Trusteer Report
My god that's difficult to listen to. Could they not have got a better speaker?
And he says he's going to use a scientific approach to rubbish Trusteer Rapport? Just shows he hasn't got a clue what a scientific approach is.

But.... if it doesn't do any good, then I may as well uninstall it.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 08:30
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,362
I have never heard of it.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2014, 15:26
culttvfan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 646
I've finally got rid of it because it slows down my computer.
Same here, and a real pain to uninstall properly too (leaves behind stubborn files and folders in various locations even when you think you've uninstalled it).

Like others have said, a good up-to-date anti virus and 3rd party firewall with HIPS (Avast and Comodo in my case) should be sufficient. Instead of Trusteer Rapport I now also use the well reviewed Hitman Pro Alert:
http://www.surfright.nl/en/alert
culttvfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2014, 19:34
TeeGee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 53N 2W
Posts: 2,148
I have. It running on the basis that if anything goes wrong, the bank can not say it was my own fault! Can't say it makes any difference to how the computer runs.
TeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2014, 11:18
newda898
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chez Newda
Posts: 3,235
Err..no.

I have anti virus, a firewall, I don't partake in believing phising emails, I know it won't ask me for my full details, and I check the Https in the adddress bar.

I don't see what else the program can add apart from slowing down my system.
newda898 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:14.