Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Vodafone 4G speeds


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-09-2013, 14:47
sethpet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 371

Anyone tested out Vodafones 4G yet.

i have been shopping in Newbury today, completed a few speed tests around the town over the lunch period.

tests coming out with DL 48mb to 50mb pings all around 85ms UL: generally around 12mb
sethpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-09-2013, 14:51
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,021
good speeds as hardly anyone is on it, wait a few months and it'll slow to a crawl like EE's did.
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 15:13
matty1000kk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 136
Nice speeds. I would expect to see the ping a little lower though. Maybe around 35-50ms.
matty1000kk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 15:20
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,103
Nice speeds. I would expect to see the ping a little lower though. Maybe around 35-50ms.
Agreed. Ping is unusually high.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 16:18
japaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 811
Whilst it might be understandable for Vodafone to have coverage in their HQ town why doesn't it appear on their coverage map (either now or +3 months)? Their rollout cities to the end of the year also don't mention Newbury. We've already seen that London stretches quite far outside London. Makes counting 4G towns and cities a bit silly.
japaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 16:21
davybhoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,186
good speeds as hardly anyone is on it, wait a few months and it'll slow to a crawl like EE's did.
Slow to a crawl?? Not sure what you're basing this on but I can assure that EE's 4G is very fast!
davybhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 16:29
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,103
Whilst it might be understandable for Vodafone to have coverage in their HQ town why doesn't it appear on their coverage map (either now or +3 months)? Their rollout cities to the end of the year also don't mention Newbury. We've already seen that London stretches quite far outside London. Makes counting 4G towns and cities a bit silly.
I have to admit that "London" is actually covered pretty flipping well. I mean i live outside London but according to the coverage map i should get great 4G signal.

Isn't Newbury just covering their HQ though? Maybe thats the reason why Newbury isn't "officially" announced.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 16:48
paulker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 801
good speeds as hardly anyone is on it, wait a few months and it'll slow to a crawl like EE's did.
A slow test is 15Mb on a weekday lunch time in an industrial estate.

Other times up to 60Mb
paulker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 16:49
japaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 811
I have to admit that "London" is actually covered pretty flipping well. I mean i live outside London but according to the coverage map i should get great 4G signal.

Isn't Newbury just covering their HQ though? Maybe thats the reason why Newbury isn't "officially" announced.
Well OP did say he was out shopping and HQ isn't in the town centre these days.

Could be another Voda building in town I guess. I don't know how many are still left but years ago before they built the new campus HQ they grew into over 60 buildings spread across town. The actual old HQ was next to a curry house despite them doing the biggest corporate deals in the world.
japaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 17:01
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,021
Slow to a crawl?? Not sure what you're basing this on but I can assure that EE's 4G is very fast!
I had a mifi from EE about 3 months back and at home was getting between 0.15Mbps to 3Mbps and it was connected to EE4G customer service told me on several occasions this is the normal speed.

The highest speed I got was in greater London suburbs about 14Mbps. Although it isn't slow in real terms, comparing that to Three's 3G service which was giving me between 27-33Mbps it was defo slow as a snail.

Has anyone got any Voda/O2 4G speed tests, not seen any anywhere yet?
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 18:19
sethpet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 371
I had a mifi from EE about 3 months back and at home was getting between 0.15Mbps to 3Mbps and it was connected to EE4G customer service told me on several occasions this is the normal speed.

The highest speed I got was in greater London suburbs about 14Mbps. Although it isn't slow in real terms, comparing that to Three's 3G service which was giving me between 27-33Mbps it was defo slow as a snail.

Has anyone got any Voda/O2 4G speed tests, not seen any anywhere yet?
are you not in a thread that opens with Vodafone speed tests
sethpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 18:48
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,857
Zee i'm regularly in London and i've never seen it as low as 14.. in fact in Double Speed cities I've never seen it less than 30. I likely use mine far more than many here and never seen such low speeds well bar that one day they had an a few hours outage nationwide and everything crawled.

Phone model?

Voda tests i saw the other day were varying between 25-55. The upload was all over the place though. However that was only with a few thousand people (other than staff) actually in London using it and virtually no companies using it.. Strangely we found O2 more stable than Voda!
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 18:59
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,021
Zee i'm regularly in London and i've never seen it as low as 14.. in fact in Double Speed cities I've never seen it less than 30. I likely use mine far more than many here and never seen such low speeds well bar that one day they had an a few hours outage nationwide and everything crawled.

Phone model?

Voda tests i saw the other day were varying between 25-55. The upload was all over the place though. However that was only with a few thousand people (other than staff) actually in London using it and virtually no companies using it.. Strangely we found O2 more stable than Voda!
well to be fair it was just before the "double speed" and it was from the mifi device that they were offering.

I think voda has rushed it a little to launch it at the same time as O2, bad move.

Three did the right move to wait and hopefully get it right.
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 13:32
japaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 811
Newbury has now turned up on the updated coverage map.
japaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 17:46
japaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 811
Just had a chance to have a play with Voda 4G today. Hardly quiet hour but pretty good especially the pings. All 800MHz, no sign of 2600 anywhere yet.

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/i/644628150
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/i/644627770
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/i/644627386
japaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 18:04
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,103
Just had a chance to have a play with Voda 4G today. Hardly quiet hour but pretty good especially the pings. All 800MHz, no sign of 2600 anywhere yet.

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/i/644628150
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/i/644627770
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/i/644627386
I thought Voda weren't rolling out 2600 just yet?

Or is that what you're implying?

Impressive speeds though. Btw how do you know you're getting 4G on 800Mhz frequency?
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 18:38
uno
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 191
I am hoping to join Vodafone 4G once it launches in Leicester at the weekend, There has been so many masts replaced around here along with new cabinets. One thing I have found surprising with all this new equipment there has no change in 3G speeds I expected like when EE did there work to replace masts that 3G speeds would rise above 5mb as newer equipment and HSPA equipped.

Any advice on whether to go for S4 or HTC One ?
uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 18:44
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,114
I am hoping to join Vodafone 4G once it launches in Leicester at the weekend, There has been so many masts replaced around here along with new cabinets. One thing I have found surprising with all this new equipment there has no change in 3G speeds I expected like when EE did there work to replace masts that 3G speeds would rise above 5mb as newer equipment and HSPA equipped.

Any advice on whether to go for S4 or HTC One ?
What phone have you got currently ?
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 18:46
Steven L Hunter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10,511
I am hoping to join Vodafone 4G once it launches in Leicester at the weekend, There has been so many masts replaced around here along with new cabinets. One thing I have found surprising with all this new equipment there has no change in 3G speeds I expected like when EE did there work to replace masts that 3G speeds would rise above 5mb as newer equipment and HSPA equipped.

Any advice on whether to go for S4 or HTC One ?
I think it depends on the area I have noticed faster 3G speeds with vodafone at some locations up to 7Mbps.
Steven L Hunter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 20:36
xreyuk123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 464
I think it depends on the area I have noticed faster 3G speeds with vodafone at some locations up to 7Mbps.
The fastest I've seen on Vodafone is 8Mbps, where I've seen 18Mbps on EE, and 30Mbps on 3 (all 3G networks).

Seems like Vodafone may only be running up to 14Mbps masts, as these tests have been done late at night whilst working.
xreyuk123 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 20:49
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,114
The fastest I've seen on Vodafone is 8Mbps, where I've seen 18Mbps on EE, and 30Mbps on 3 (all 3G networks).

Seems like Vodafone may only be running up to 14Mbps masts, as these tests have been done late at night whilst working.
Actually Vodafone is capped at max of 10MB for none 4G there masts are capable of higher.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 20:50
sethpet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 371
Actually Vodafone is capped at max of 10MB for none 4G there masts are capable of higher.
This, it was introduced in the summer before the 4G announcement

No 3G speed cap if you have a 4G plan though right.
sethpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 20:52
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,114
This, it was introduced in the summer before the 4G announcement

No 3G speed cap if you have a 4G plan though right.
Yeah it is purely a scam on there part to make Vodafone customers upgrade for higher speeds. They have the biggest amount of 3G spectrum of anyone so it certainly is not a capacity issue. The really annoying thing they say they upgrading 3G at same time as 4G but only 4G customers will get the benefit. Suppose non-4G customers they will get coverage benefit at least.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 20:54
jchamier
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: GU14
Posts: 1,208
They have the biggest amount of 3G spectrum of anyone so it certainly is not a capacity issue..
Sure? I thought Three had the biggest 2100mhz allocation as they were the new-entrant back in 2001/2002 ?
jchamier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2013, 20:54
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,103
Sure? I thought Three had the biggest 2100mhz allocation as they were the new-entrant back in 2001/2002 ?
Nope, Vodafone do.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:50.