Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Three sending out 4G texts


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2013, 17:40
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,186

Anyone got it? The misses just got one confirming providing you have a 4G capable phone you'll get it free of charge.

Funny because I haven't got it yet.

Anyone else got the text today? I feel left out lol
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 06-09-2013, 17:49
thebennyboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 117
No, i haven't. I have got a 4G phone from them so i hope i'll get it soon. They are probably sending the texts out in batches.
thebennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 17:51
Jwhiterz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Wales (Brecon Beacons)
Posts: 440
Anyone got it? The misses just got one confirming providing you have a 4G capable phone you'll get it free of charge.

Funny because I haven't got it yet.

Anyone else got the text today? I feel left out lol
I had an email basically saying the same thing today but no text
Jwhiterz is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 17:51
lem ramsay
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 606
I got it this morning.
lem ramsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 17:56
Jwhiterz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Wales (Brecon Beacons)
Posts: 440
No, i haven't. I have got a 4G phone from them so i hope i'll get it soon. They are probably sending the texts out in batches.
I'd say they were sending them out in batches too, possibility sending a text to all their millions of customers at once might grind the network to a halt
Jwhiterz is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 18:11
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 840
didn't get any text from them
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 18:12
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,371
Anyone got it? The misses just got one confirming providing you have a 4G capable phone you'll get it free of charge.

Funny because I haven't got it yet.

Anyone else got the text today? I feel left out lol
Great news! That makes it fairly official then!
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 18:13
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,931
Great news! That makes it fairly official then!
Devon. Have you seen their 4G page they put out last week?
http://www.three.co.uk/Discover/Buil...netting?site=d
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 18:26
davybhoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,142
Devon. Have you seen their 4G page they put out last week?
http://www.three.co.uk/Discover/Buil...netting?site=d
Just had a look at that page. I can't believe they won't be offering 4G over here even in 2014!! Crazy! Completely neglecting their NI customers.
davybhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 18:33
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,931
Just had a look at that page. I can't believe they won't be offering 4G over here even in 2014!! Crazy! Completely neglecting their NI customers.
So i'm not the only one who found it weird that Three aren't launching in NI.

Belfast was one of the first cities to get 4G on EE if i remember correctly. I honestly don't know why Three won't be launching there. It could be due to something that is out of Three's hands but thats just a guess.
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 18:35
xreyuk123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 420
To be honest, other networks apart from EE have only announced the same amount of cities as Three by the end of 2014.

Whether they included NI or not though, I don't know.
xreyuk123 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 18:44
coachtrip_fan99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,891
What if you have an unlocked / unbranded phone.... Would they even know you had a 4g handset?
coachtrip_fan99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 18:52
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,897
Kitty cat high five
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 19:23
Esot-eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 886
No text, but i got an email:


***********************************************************
4G at no
extra cost.
<http://www.three.co.uk/4G>
***********************************************************

Kitty cat high five.

***********************************************************

Momentum around 4G is really gaining pace and as the
network built for the internet, we wanted to share some great
news with you.

When we start to roll out our 4G network later this year,
we'll nudge you up at no extra cost. You won't need to sign
a new contract, change tariffs or swap SIMs. Instead, we'll
send a simple software update to your 4G Ready device and
Bob's your uncle – when you're in a 4G area you'll have
faster internetting without having to pay a penny extra.
Kitty cat high fives all round.

What's more, as we're the only network to offer
all-you-can-eat data on 4G, you can keep doing all the
internetting you love, as much as you like and faster than
ever. Just with a little extra oomph.

We'll be in touch in December when we start sending out our
software updates. This update will get your device prepared
for 4G, so when it's available in your area you'll be ready
to enjoy even faster internetting.

Get ready for 4G at no extra cost.

Thanks.

The Three Team.

***********************************************************

Our new 4G (LTE) network roll-out will start in London,
Birmingham and Manchester. Customers with a 4G Ready device
will get nudged up to 4G at no extra cost when it rolls out
in their area. The speeds you'll get will vary by location,
coverage, demand and TrafficSence™, which is a system we use
to manage data on our network to ensure the best experience
possible for the majority of our customers.
See how at Three.co.uk/network

***********************************************************

If you’d prefer not to receive further emails from Three,
you can update your marketing preferences from your My3
account on your Three mobile or online. Or you can email
your Three number (this is printed on the card your SIM
came on) with ‘Stop Emails’ to preferences@3mail.com.
Please note that any replies to this email cannot be answered.

***********************************************************

© 2013 Hutchison 3G UK Limited. A Hutchison Whampoa company.
Registered Office: Hutchison 3G UK Limited, Star House,
20 Grenfell Road, Maidenhead, Berkshire, SL6 1EH.
Registered Number: 3885486 England and Wales

***********************************************************

My 3 Account - <https://www.three.co.uk/My3Account/Login>
Three.co.uk/Network - <http://three.co.uk/network>
Esot-eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 19:25
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,454
Had it yesterday http://oi43.tinypic.com/ka0fah.jpg
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 19:38
sancheeez
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,763
I had an email basically saying the same thing today but no text
Ditto.

No detail though.

Already know Edinburgh is not one of the initial cities to be activated so ..... meh. They might as well not have bothered.
sancheeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 19:43
xreyuk123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 420
I am on a sim-only plan with Three, will the sim only plans be getting bumped up as well?

Also, as I'm on a sim only plan, how will they know I need the software update?
xreyuk123 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 19:52
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,931
Ditto.

No detail though.

Already know Edinburgh is not one of the initial cities to be activated so ..... meh. They might as well not have bothered.
It's going to be Q1 2014.

I am on a sim-only plan with Three, will the sim only plans be getting bumped up as well?

Also, as I'm on a sim only plan, how will they know I need the software update?
Yeh it's for all customers. Even pay as you go which surprised me.
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 19:53
gary77
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 888
My mum got one earlier so looks like i'll be leaving T mobile when this goes live
gary77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 19:59
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,186
Exactly the same one my misses got
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 20:00
xreyuk123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 420
It's going to be Q1 2014.



Yeh it's for all customers. Even pay as you go which surprised me.
Wow.

I can imagine that pretty much around Jan/Feb they're gonna bump up the prices for new customers.

No way they can maintain three networks at this price (3G, "Ultrafast 3G, and 4G)
xreyuk123 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 20:07
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,371
My thoughts exactly.
I think it's bloody great, but how the hell are they going to pay for it?
The something for nothing brigade will love it but Three run their business in the real world.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 20:09
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,371
Devon. Have you seen their 4G page they put out last week?
http://www.three.co.uk/Discover/Buil...netting?site=d
I did yeah. But this seems to cement it.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 20:26
tarzion
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 496
I don't know if anybody's noticed it but three have stopped giving cashback via TCB and Quidco...
tarzion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 21:01
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,931
That's funny. I just got a similar text from O2 about their network plans.

http://i481.photobucket.com/albums/r...ps361a7f26.jpg
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:14.