Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Tmobile 'speed booster' added to account


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2013, 20:51
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,950

Called tmobile today because my internet speed on my phone is slow (0.70-1.30mbps) anyway the guy said he has added a 'speed booster' to my account to make my 3G is faster well anyway its still the same, any idea what hes talking about?

in my phone settings :

username :eesecure is this right?

sure it used to be - general.tmobile and it was faster then
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-09-2013, 21:22
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,156
T-mobile used to cap speeds to 2mbps on old web and walk plans and only the 'super' or 'extra' internet booster would uncap the speeds fully.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 21:24
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 434
he probably just changed a profile. orange had something similiar.

they called it GPRS premium or something like that.
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 21:24
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,950
T-mobile used to cap speeds to 2mbps on old web and walk plans and only the 'super' or 'extra' internet booster would uncap the speeds fully.
im on the fully monty plan, used to get high speeds until recently
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 21:24
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,466
So silly really, capping speeds and then pretending to add a speed booster! why not just provide decent speeds in the first place. They aren't exactly open and transparent about the caps.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 22:47
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,935
They aren't exactly open and transparent about the caps.
Really? I found this within 30 seconds on the T-Mobile website...

http://e-gain.s3.amazonaws.com/exter...ary%202013.pdf

T-Mobile website -> Help and Support -> Internet -> How we manage our network -> Handsets
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 23:02
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,466
Really? I found this within 30 seconds on the T-Mobile website...

http://e-gain.s3.amazonaws.com/exter...ary%202013.pdf

T-Mobile website -> Help and Support -> Internet -> How we manage our network -> Handsets
People don't tend do go through 5 page PDF's on the operators website though. Why you'd cap 3G on some plans I don't know. It should be in big bold letters when you're buying it, 3G can deliver much faster, but this plan caps you at speeds that won't allow HD streaming or faster file downloads.

It's ok though you can buy a speed booster? does it plug in? how does this speed booster work? oh no it just involves the operator taking away the artificial throttle they applied to your account in the first place. The one which isn't clearly mentioned anywhere on the page where it tells you about the data allowances.

They even block Skype on an awful lot of plans, but at least they tell you that on the signup page, unlike the caps.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 23:08
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 434
When i pointed out that document to t-mobile themself (hardly any of them know they cap the speeds etc)


They said look at the top of the page. meaning this

The information in this table is provided for comparison purposes only and does not form partof your agreement with T-Mobile
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 23:20
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,156
When i pointed out that document to t-mobile themself (hardly any of them know they cap the speeds etc)


They said look at the top of the page. meaning this

The information in this table is provided for comparison purposes only and does not form partof your agreement with T-Mobile
Except it does....
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 23:23
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 434
Except it does....
its just get out clause... and when i pointed out 3 don't do this they said 3 have a clause about excessive usage etc. but she could not provide any proof of any customer ever getting disconnected because of usage.

Personally i think it's about forcing people to change to there LTE plans. to make it look faster. but we all know 3G isnt slow. some of us have had over 30Mbps
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 23:26
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,121
its just get out clause... and when i pointed out 3 don't do this they said 3 have a clause about excessive usage etc. but she could not provide any proof of any customer ever getting disconnected because of usage.

Personally i think it's about forcing people to change to there LTE plans. to make it look faster. but we all know 3G isnt slow. some of us have had over 30Mbps
America was very similar because hspa 42+ didn't come there until around time lte came out
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 23:28
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 434
America was very similar because hspa 42+ didn't come there until around time lte came out
i had it maybe august 2012 (or sept) not entirely sure.
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 23:42
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,950
well i think it must just be my local mast, been to the next town and i got 3.98mbps it was H+ tho. maybe i shouldnt be on the FM plan, i only use; 2GB data, 50 mins and about 10 texts a month lol
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 23:54
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 434
well i think it must just be my local mast, been to the next town and i got 3.98mbps it was H+ tho. maybe i shouldnt be on the FM plan, i only use; 2GB data, 50 mins and about 10 texts a month lol
Get the VPN feature. that will remove the speed cap/
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 23:58
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,935
People don't tend do go through 5 page PDF's on the operators website though......
But the information is there. If you can be bothered to look for it.

If you can't be bothered........
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 00:00
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,950
Get the VPN feature. that will remove the speed cap/
sorry, how do i do that?
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 00:12
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,950
well I have a good connection now, because erm.. im tethering because my broadband has gone down and im streaming TV catch up
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 00:15
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 434
sorry, how do i do that?
Give them a call and say you need it (which you would) to connect to certain VPN servers. if you do agree to it. you can say bye to the horrible proxy and nat setup
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 00:20
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,950
Give them a call and say you need it (which you would) to connect to certain VPN servers. if you do agree to it. you can say bye to the horrible proxy and nat setup
what do i exactly ask for?
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 00:20
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,156
well I have a good connection now, because erm.. im tethering because my broadband has gone down and im streaming TV catch up
I believe tethering somehow removes the speed cap.

Like Plymouth said, T-Mobile mention it in their traffic management policy and that' fair enough.

But t-mobile do NOT inform their staff and staff do NOT inform customers. Even when the speed cap was originally 2Mbps it was never informed to customers. Some customers were even told that they must be making it up/lying.

This is not an issue of whether a speed cap actually affects anything. It's an issue of T-Mobile actively not informing consumers of certain restrictions on the full monty.

Similar to how Virgin don't inform their customers about 3.5GB fair use. Ask any Virgin staff member and they will say there is no fair use policy. Read the terms and conditions and you learn there is a fair use policy.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 00:33
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 434
I believe tethering somehow removes the speed cap.

Like Plymouth said, T-Mobile mention it in their traffic management policy and that' fair enough.

But t-mobile do NOT inform their staff and staff do NOT inform customers. Even when the speed cap was originally 2Mbps it was never informed to customers. Some customers were even told that they must be making it up/lying.

This is not an issue of whether a speed cap actually affects anything. It's an issue of T-Mobile actively not informing consumers of certain restrictions on the full monty.

Similar to how Virgin don't inform their customers about 3.5GB fair use. Ask any Virgin staff member and they will say there is no fair use policy. Read the terms and conditions and you learn there is a fair use policy.
Nope. speed cap remains with tethering
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 00:53
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,156
Nope. speed cap remains with tethering
So a VPN is the only choice.

Or T-Mobile just remove it themselves for your account.

Or you pay them an extra 19pm for the super internet booster which removes the speed cap and limits your data to 5GB inc tethering. (Seems the OP got this added on for free though as have others). But it seems the OP hasn't been told about the 5GB fair use.
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 01:08
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,466
But the information is there. If you can be bothered to look for it.

If you can't be bothered........
I would bother to research it, but people that aren't into mobile networks and stuff shouldn't have to go searching. Why would they search anyway, there's no mention of a cap on at any point during the sale.

It is out and out dishonesty, no mention of the cap on the tariff comparison page and most of the staff don't know about it either according to people in this thread.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 01:23
wrexham103.4
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,950
So a VPN is the only choice.

Or T-Mobile just remove it themselves for your account.

Or you pay them an extra 19pm for the super internet booster which removes the speed cap and limits your data to 5GB inc tethering. (Seems the OP got this added on for free though as have others). But it seems the OP hasn't been told about the 5GB fair use.
but im on the FM plan so how can they restrict me
wrexham103.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 01:29
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 434
but im on the FM plan so how can they restrict me
Also getting the VPN enabled will stop tethering from working (unless you make a new APN profile for default instead of a DUN profile)
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:29.