Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

BT SmartTalk


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2013, 16:43
blackcow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 206

Easy question - does this work!

BT tells me I'm signed on but when I try to make a call it tells me - 'The application ....... has stopped expectedly'.

And I can't find any help anywhere - BT tells me they are having difficulties in Manchester - I live 200 miles from there!

Help!!!
blackcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 08-09-2013, 17:11
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 8,088
Works fine for me using iPhone.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 18:00
Magic Cottage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,583
It seems to me reading the BT Community Forums that this app is very hit and miss.

For a personal point of view a friend has the Galaxy S3 and it works absolutely fine. I have a Sony Xperia S and whilst the app actually does work, I can only hold "one way conversations". Whilst the person I have called talks, they cannot hear me and so tend to think the line has gone dead or I'm just not listening.

I have raised this but no solution is offered. Also I have noticed that it only scores 3 stars in the Google Play Store
Magic Cottage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:03
blackcow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 206
'Hit and miss' sounds just a bit worrying.

Our son has an iphone and I have a Galaxy Ace - and neither will work - do you get the impression that BT are trying to get it right?

It all seems very vague - they sell it quite hard - then forget it.

Are there any obviuos things to try that we are missing?

Thanks
blackcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:44
Magic Cottage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,583
'Hit and miss' sounds just a bit worrying.

Our son has an iphone and I have a Galaxy Ace - and neither will work - do you get the impression that BT are trying to get it right?

It all seems very vague - they sell it quite hard - then forget it.

Are there any obviuos things to try that we are missing?

Thanks
Some have suggested that this app is just one of those apps that will run perfectly on some phones with certain processors and not others. As you say, hit and miss.

However, with a company such as BT you would think they could afford to spend a bit more money on R&D around such an app and make it is universal as possible. But then that is just my humble opinion and not much help to those of us that are having problems with the app.

Oh well, back to the traditional landline and mobile calls for the time being for me I suppose!
Magic Cottage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:46
The Sack
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: S6 WTID UTO FTB
Posts: 5,757
Rang home from Portugal and Belgium a few times using it and it worked brilliant (it was a Nexus 4 and a Sony Xperia S)
The Sack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 16:56
battlezone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oxford (formally Newcastle)
Posts: 1,800
Works fine on a Galaxy S2 & S4. Used it when in Canada & Europe without problems. Also use here in the UK when calling 0800, 0845 numbers etc.
battlezone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 20:39
Sniffle774
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Planet Mongo.
Posts: 19,429
I use it on my Nexus 4 and it always seems to be ok.
Sniffle774 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 06:42
Steven L Hunter
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10,517
I usually get the problem where people can't hear me or I sound broken up but I can hear them perfectly.
Steven L Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 08:26
Magic Cottage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,583
I usually get the problem where people can't hear me or I sound broken up but I can hear them perfectly.
Just about describes the problem I have which is reason I find it unusable until it is sorted. They do report the problem has now been replicated so hopefully it will be sorted in a future update.
Magic Cottage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 08:43
Steven L Hunter
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10,517
Just about describes the problem I have which is reason I find it unusable until it is sorted. They do report the problem has now been replicated so hopefully it will be sorted in a future update.
It's embarrassing if you need to call a company from it. You must seem like you're taking the p*** if it sounds broken up.
Steven L Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 09:50
Magic Cottage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,583
It's embarrassing if you need to call a company from it. You must seem like you're taking the p*** if it sounds broken up.
Exactly. It just had to go until it's sorted. Also as it's now a replicated problem, it's not just one phone and so it's not really helpful for people to say it doesn't happen to me but I realise this is what people like too say on forums.
Magic Cottage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 10:26
Steven L Hunter
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10,517
It's a nice idea but in reality unless you are in a wifi hotspot then it won't be the best and I know wifi is available at home but that defeats the purpose as its meant to be for when you can't use the house phone.
Steven L Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 10:30
Magic Cottage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,583
It's a nice idea but in reality unless you are in a wifi hotspot then it won't be the best and I know wifi is available at home but that defeats the purpose as its meant to be for when you can't use the house phone.
This is true. However, the main reason for trying it out is that over the last six or so months our O2 signal seems to have gone to pot and is very patchy inside the house. We chose O2 because the signal here was always good, so I don't know what's happened. This app would have been the perfect solution.

At the end of the day, it's not the end of the world as, of course, you correctly say, we still have the land line.
Magic Cottage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 14:48
battlezone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oxford (formally Newcastle)
Posts: 1,800
I usually get the problem where people can't hear me or I sound broken up but I can hear them perfectly.
I have found this too. But usually when it is connected via Wifi in the house. If I switch off WiFi and use 3G it seems better
battlezone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 16:32
Steven L Hunter
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10,517
I have found this too. But usually when it is connected via Wifi in the house. If I switch off WiFi and use 3G it seems better
I found this issue over 3G maybe it's a fault with the app rather than a connection issue.
Steven L Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:28.