Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

4g or not 4g?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2013, 23:04
team-jb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18

I am doing a bit of research in to views of the new 4g service.

What are your thoughts - 4g or not 4g? Is it worth the extra price?

In order to help you decide, you can read my first article about the service here: 4g or not 4g

I look forward to hearing from you

team-jb is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 08-09-2013, 23:06
sethpet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 334
No brainer for me as reduced my outgoings by 5 as due to Vodafone bundled content i no longer have to pay 10 to Spotify.
sethpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 23:19
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,849
I got a 4G plan for the inclusive roaming tariff, nothing more.

I don't even have LTE enabled on my phone!
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 23:24
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,810
No brainer for me as reduced my outgoings by 5 as due to Vodafone bundled content i no longer have to pay 10 to Spotify.
*for 6 months

Plus you already pay "Standard price" with vodafone so you're getting ripped off each month anyway even without 4G.
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 23:28
mogzyboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,795
Not something I'd pay extra for. Thank The Lord that Three agree.
mogzyboy is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 23:30
Zee_Bukhari
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 997
well obviously for us Three customers we'll be getting it free of charge automatically so nothing for us to talk about here !
Zee_Bukhari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 23:32
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,536
For me it's (or will be when I get it) the coverage more than the speed. I'm rural, so yes, certainly worth it.

A few things.
4G isn't replacing 3G any time soon. A better phrase might be "that will eventually replace 3G"

Since users are regularly seeing 3G speeds of 20-30Mbps (with DC-HSDPA), I think 1-2Mbps is a bit low. I did a test tonight (EE 3G) and got 18.5Mbps. Rarely is it below 8Mbps.

What we have now is not "proper" 4G anyway. It's LTE (long term evolution) and in fact can do (or rather will be able to do) up to 300Mbps.

The 100Mbps moving and 1Gbps stationary you talk of is in fact LTE-A (LTE Advanced). We don;t have this yet although some networks are testing it.

Other than that, the article is fine!
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 23:35
paulbrock
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wapping, London
Posts: 15,713
Unlimited data 3g beats limited 4g in my view. I don't care how fast stuff downloads I do care about limits...
paulbrock is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 23:36
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,810
Unlimited data 3g beats limited 4g in my view. I don't care how fast stuff downloads I do care about limits...
Unlimited data 3G and 4G beats limited 4G in my opinion
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 23:41
team-jb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Unlimited data 3G and 4G beats limited 4G in my opinion
I agree - data limits are a big deal - what would be the point of having super fast 4g with a low data limit?!

How long do you think before 4g rolls out to the MVNOs?
team-jb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 23:42
jchamier
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: GU14
Posts: 1,046
I look forward to hearing from you
4G gives me internet in the office where I used to only get 2G, this is good reason to pay more. (I use about 1.5GB a month on either 3G or 4G).
jchamier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 23:56
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,810
I agree - data limits are a big deal - what would be the point of having super fast 4g with a low data limit?!

How long do you think before 4g rolls out to the MVNOs?
End of this year for a few.

Q1 2014 at the latest.
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 00:01
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,536
4G gives me internet in the office where I used to only get 2G, this is good reason to pay more. (I use about 1.5GB a month on either 3G or 4G).
You see? You see? I said it. I said it didn't I?
Coverage! That's what it's all about.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 07:12
sethpet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 334
*for 6 months

Plus you already pay "Standard price" with vodafone so you're getting ripped off each month anyway even without 4G.
why do you keep saying that. Its for the full term of the contract on all but the bottom tariff.

and i have no requirement for unlimited data, but i do have a requirement for coverage, something your beloved 3 don't provide at home or work for me.
sethpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 07:16
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,414
I wouldn't pay extra as my 3G/DC-HSDPA speeds are really good but as above being with Three you get 4G for no extra cost.......
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 08:42
klendathu
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9,933
Can't get coverage in the technological black hole where I live . So its a no from me .
Just a single bar signal for a voice call would be nice TBH
klendathu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:16
PollyPerm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 72
I've recently made the move and I think it's well worth it. Depends on the deal you can get. I managed to get the 10GB plan for 36.80pm, which is only 2pm more than I was paying, but the benefits, in my opinion, are well worth it. Even with a low 4g signal I get a decent bandwidth. I just find that it makes the apps and phone in general more responsive and in spots that used to only get 2g!
PollyPerm is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:19
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,252
My phone is not 4G and I am not replacing it for a few years, we also don't have 4G here and I doubt we will have for a long while.

Even if we did and my phone could cope, I would not pay the extra and before they think about 4G, maybe they should sort out 3G first.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 10:45
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,810
why do you keep saying that. Its for the full term of the contract on all but the bottom tariff.

and i have no requirement for unlimited data, but i do have a requirement for coverage, something your beloved 3 don't provide at home or work for me.
Because i'm a bargain hunter and can't hack it when you said in a different thread how much you were paying and how much of a good deal you got.
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 14:25
team-jb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
My phone is not 4G and I am not replacing it for a few years, we also don't have 4G here and I doubt we will have for a long while.

Even if we did and my phone could cope, I would not pay the extra and before they think about 4G, maybe they should sort out 3G first.
I agree, they need to sort out the 3G service first, however what effect will people moving onto the 4g networks have on the 3G spectrum? Will there be more bandwidth on 3G? And therefore more availability of the service?
team-jb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 14:33
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,020
I agree, they need to sort out the 3G service first, however what effect will people moving onto the 4g networks have on the 3G spectrum? Will there be more bandwidth on 3G? And therefore more availability of the service?
It will lessen the data load so congestion in areas should decrease. Perhaps also see some of the networks like Vodafone or EE refarm 2x5MHz of spectrum for 4G as well.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 14:34
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 6,810
It will lessen the data load so congestion in areas should decrease. Perhaps also see some of the networks like Vodafone or EE refarm 2x5MHz of spectrum for 4G as well.
Vodafone? Doubt it.
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 14:40
enapace
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,020
Vodafone? Doubt it.
Why not there main 3G spectrum will be 900MHz and they have a fair bit of 2100MHz so can certainly see them wanting refarm in future. They and three were the ones who asked ofcom to allow them to do that.
enapace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 14:45
japaul
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 723
Vodafone? Doubt it.
Voda or EE. Can't see any need for either of them to do so anytime soon. I guess at some point they will but neither of them are short of existing spectrum for 4G.
japaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 14:48
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,784
Can't see that happening anytime soon.. Vodafone would be able to do it first. Three are already using full spectrum in 3G in most urban areas and as we see at peak it suffers. It would be interesting how that would add onto MBNL...

Voda have no need to use 900 right now.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29.