Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Suggestions for Samsung TV with poor audio and no optical or headphone socket?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-09-2013, 18:20
Benaround
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24

Hello
We have acquired a Samsung LED Monitor with TV Function. Syncmaster Series 3 TB 300 (NOT 350)
The sound is poor and there is no headphone port or optical port on this model. We have a Hi Fi but can't seem to connect the Samsung to it. There are phono plugs at back but seem to be for input only.
If we watch a DVD from our Sony DVD player recorder we can take the sound out from the back of the DVD to the Hi Fi. But not for TV.
As the Digital TV signal runs via the DVD recorder would there be a workaround involving the DVD recorder?
Benaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-09-2013, 18:33
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,755
Is there a scart socket on the TV ?
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 18:50
Benaround
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Yes there is
Benaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 19:04
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,039
Are you using the SCART for the DVD? If so that may slightly complicate matters but not insurmountable.

There is a chance that the SCART is wired for output as well as input. If so you can use a SCART to phono plug adapter to bring out the audio connections. If you are using the SCART there are adapters with SCART passthrough you could use so you don't lose the connection to the DVD.

Example adapters

http://www.amazon.co.uk/SCART-phono-.../dp/B000LB3AUA

With SCART passthrough

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Scart-Adapte...dp/B00077DC6A/
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 19:20
iangrad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 768
All the sockets on this type of computer monitor / part time TV are "in" only . The scart on the end of a adapter is also "in" only .

Unfortunately TV sound on most TV's even expensive ones is a poor relation . If you have a competent TV shop near to you they may be able to fit a headphone socket on the rear cover of the monitor -- but thats as good as you are going to get .
iangrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 20:01
Benaround
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
To Iangrad: are you saying that chrisj's solution won't work?
Have I got that right?
Benaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 20:16
iangrad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 768
If your monitor is this one
http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/p...B300EW/EN-spec

Then unfortunately no it wont work - all the connections are going into the TV . If I was starting again I would get a TV with multiple hdmi connectors ( one of which would be "arc" ( audio return channel )) and connect a sound bar or full bluray home theater system -- I realise that this will not help your current set up but for the future ???
iangrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 20:40
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,039
It doesn't actually say explicitly anywhere either in the specs or in the manual whether the SCART is wired for input only or whether it is input/output.

One indicator may be to see if the SCART has a symbol next to it that is a square representing the screen with an arrow or arrows across one edge. If there is only one arrow pointing into the square it is only wired for input. If there is an arrow pointing out of the square as well as one in then it is wired for output as well as input.

Chances are it is only wired for input but I haven't yet found anything definitive to say one way or the other. It would be fairly common for a TV to have at least one SCART wired for output but that needn't necessarily be the case for a monitor/TV.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 21:16
Benaround
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
OK, thanks for that. It's the g/f's TV so will check the exact model, but it looks like the one in the link. I was wondering if there was a way of tapping the sound out of the DVD on it's way to the TV, or even out of the scart at back of the set top box?
Benaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 21:24
iangrad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 768
Set top box ? this TV has a tuner built in so no need for a separate box ?
iangrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 21:31
Benaround
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Sorry i don't get it-we subscribe to virgin package so need their set top box, but what about getting sound from the DVD?
Benaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 22:41
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,039
Before we get even more confused then we are already....

Just exactly how do you watch telly programmes on this thing? Do you use an aerial at all or only use Virgin?
If you only use Virgin what if any connection is there between the Virgin box and the DVD recorder?
If there is no connection between the two and you do not use an aerial then pointless trying to get TV audio out of the DVD recorder.

If you do only use Virgin for telly and the Virgin box has a free SCART then simply plug an adapter into that and run audio cables to your amp.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 00:21
Benaround
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Ah, making more sense now. Won't be at g/f house for a few days so will look and get back to you, thanks for help in the meantime. The "through" SCART adaptor looks as though it may be useful but until I see it again, least said soonest mended. Thanks again.
Benaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2013, 19:03
Benaround
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Right...there are two SCART connections at back of the Virgin stb. One marked VCR has the cable to the DVD and thence to the TV, the other is marked TV and is unused. I will buy the pass through SCART/phone adapter in your link, that way I may some way be able to have the external sound system connected whether we are watching TV or DVD. Thanks for the link to the adapters
Benaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 21:37
scruffpot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,207
http://image.made-in-china.com/2f0j0...Box-White-.jpg

something like this ok does mean you have to use your fingers to press buttons... but you can then channel the sound out via phono
scruffpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 21:52
Benaround
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Thanks, that's more elaborate than what I ordered, i just ordered a simple straight through with red white and yellow sockets on the case. Hope that's all I'll need
Benaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 22:48
Tiexen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 396
Right...there are two SCART connections at back of the Virgin stb. One marked VCR has the cable to the DVD and thence to the TV, the other is marked TV and is unused. I will buy the pass through SCART/phone adapter in your link, that way I may some way be able to have the external sound system connected whether we are watching TV or DVD. Thanks for the link to the adapters
Does your Virgin box not have audio out sockets?
Tiexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 23:16
Benaround
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Unfortunately not, I checked for that. In any case, I am going for an arrangement where I don't have to change cables around when we use the DVD player.
Benaround is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:38.