Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Computer slow at starting up - does anyone know what I can do to stop this?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2013, 20:21
Terry Telly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,513

My computer is very slow at starting up.

I use Microsoft Windows 7.

Today when I turned the computer on the screen froze and the small blue circle appeared.

I think too many programmes are starting up when I turn the computer on. Does anyone have any advice on what programmes should be removed from the start up list?

Any helpful advice on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Terry Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 10-09-2013, 20:31
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6,529
run ccleaner to remove crap/remove any programs not needed and defrag it
Maxatoria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 20:55
Terry Telly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,513
run ccleaner to remove crap/remove any programs not needed and defrag it
Thank you for your advice, Maxatoria.

What about the programmes in the start up list?

Which ones need to be there (if any)?
Terry Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 21:00
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6,529
Its probably best to produce a list via a few screenshots etc and then we can say what needs kicking etc as what may be crap for one person may be a requirement for someone etc
Maxatoria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 21:13
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,716
There is a foolproof way to stop the computer being slow at starting it up. Don't start it up ever again, then it can never have another slow start.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 21:45
Terry Telly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,513
There is a foolproof way to stop the computer being slow at starting it up. Don't start it up ever again, then it can never have another slow start.
You are obviously not aware that this section of the forum is for people to request or give helpful advice.
Terry Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 22:02
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,496
If you are using Ccleaner, tools, startup ... then you can disable just about everything in the list. There is nothing there that when disabled will stop the computer from booting up.
Leave your Antivirus enabled.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 22:22
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,809
You are obviously not aware that this section of the forum is for people to request or give helpful advice.
It is helpful advice - put your computer to sleep instead of shutting it down fully. Then you don't need to wait for it to boot up.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 22:31
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,716
You are obviously not aware that this section of the forum is for people to request or give helpful advice.
Would it have helped if I put a at the end of my post, just a joke mate!

P.S. the forum description just says discussion, nothing about it being a support forum.

That said with windows 8 and an SSD, boot up is damn fast.

Use ccleaner to go through the run at boot up list.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 22:41
Terry Telly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,513
If you are using Ccleaner, tools, startup ... then you can disable just about everything in the list. There is nothing there that when disabled will stop the computer from booting up. Leave your Antivirus enabled.
Thank you very much for your helpful advice on this LION8TIGER Much appreciated.

I will follow your advice.
Terry Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 22:41
d'@ve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Darn Sarf
Posts: 21,407
That said with windows 8 and an SSD, boot up is damn fast.
Not as fast as my method I'll wager. Walk downstairs in the morning, press power button, open curtains, head off to kitchen to make a quick cuppa and grab a bite to eat, return to computer which is sitting there all fired up and practically begging me to use it. 0 seconds. Well 1, to press the power button.

As for the O/P, this is one possible reason to upgrade to Windows 8. Task Manager has a Startup tab, which lists all the programs that will potentially run on startup, whether they are enabled, and what the impact on startup performance is (low, medium or high). It can be really useful but I forget if it's available or not in W7.
d'@ve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 22:43
Terry Telly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,513
.....put your computer to sleep instead of shutting it down fully. Then you don't need to wait for it to boot up.
Thank you for your reply alan1302.

I have to put the password in again to make Windows 7 work after it goes to sleep and then it takes a long time before the desktop appears (just as it does before the password screen appears).
Terry Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 22:45
Terry Telly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,513
Would it have helped if I put a at the end of my post, just a joke mate! .....Use ccleaner to go through the run at boot up list.
Thank you for your helpful advice. I will do as you say regards ccleaner.
Terry Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 23:05
Terry Telly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,513
As for the O/P, this is one possible reason to upgrade to Windows 8. Task Manager has a Startup tab, which lists all the programs that will potentially run on startup, whether they are enabled, and what the impact on startup performance is (low, medium or high). It can be really useful but I forget if it's available or not in W7.
Thank you for your reply, d'@ve.

I have read that it is possible in Windows 7 to change what is in the start up list in System Configuration and then Start Up.

In my first posting to this thread I asked if anyone had any advice on what programmes (if any) should be kept in the Windows 7 start up list.
Terry Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 10:00
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,882
In my first posting to this thread I asked if anyone had any advice on what programmes (if any) should be kept in the Windows 7 start up list.
And then someone replied asking for screenshots of what programs are in your start up list. People can't suggest what to exclude if they don't know what's there in the first place!

msconfig Startup tab will show a list. Fully expand the first column by double-clicking the column separator icon. A couple of screenshots may be needed, since the size of the dialog can't be changed.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 10:43
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,087
Thank you for your reply, d'@ve.

I have read that it is possible in Windows 7 to change what is in the start up list in System Configuration and then Start Up.

In my first posting to this thread I asked if anyone had any advice on what programmes (if any) should be kept in the Windows 7 start up list.
Only you know what programs you have installed and whether you need them or not!

You can use the msconfig utility to selectively disable programs running at startup, and you can then see if disabling anything has adverse effects.

If no decide you no longer need/use a program, unistall it using Control Panel, Programs and Features.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:10
evil c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wirral Peninsula
Posts: 3,512
Just wondering OP, how your computer runs once it has completed start up. If you have an image editor you can downsize the startup group screenshot pic(s) if the list is very long or the pic has a large file size. You can upload your pics (and post the link here) to a free pic hosting site that doesn't require you to register. For example :http://imgur.com/
evil c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 22:18
Terry Telly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,513
msconfig Startup tab will show a list...
Thank you for your reply JeffG1, and for your advice.

I have done as LION8TIGER and TheBigM suggested earlier in this thread (gone through the start up list in ccleaner and disabled programmes I do not want there). My computer is now starting faster than it did before.
Terry Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 22:20
Terry Telly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,513
...If no decide you no longer need/use a program, unistall it using Control Panel, Programs and Features.
Thank you for your reply, Stig and for your advice.
Terry Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 22:21
Terry Telly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,513
Just wondering OP, how your computer runs once it has completed start up.
Thank you for your reply.

It's running alright - so far.
Terry Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2013, 21:15
Johnbee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,435
OP PCs start up (and run) slower and slower as they age. THis is because more and more junk gets in and launches itself when you start it up, looking for updates etc.

If you download Anvir, a startup manager, you will be able to quarantine or stop completely, a huge number of unwanted processes. Of course you could do that with Windows software but it is very clumsy that way. On my PC I have about 100 processes prevented by Anvir, and it starts up nicely.
Johnbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2013, 20:44
cly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,203
I have to put the password in again to make Windows 7 work after it goes to sleep and then it takes a long time before the desktop appears (just as it does before the password screen appears).
That's strange? I use the excellent sleep facility too and i don't have to enter a password. One of the main features is it instantly starts up with all your programmes and documents exactly as they were.
cly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 15:45
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,882
That's strange. I use the excellent sleep facility too and i don't have to enter a password.
It's a setting in Power Options / System Settings on the Control Panel. You can set it to require or not require a password when the computer wakes up.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 17:20
cly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,203
It's a setting in Power Options / System Settings on the Control Panel. You can set it to require or not require a password when the computer wakes up.
Ah ok i must have set mine not to need a password.
cly is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:19.