Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Samsung BD-F6500


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2013, 20:22
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 40,343

Just picked one up on eBay for 66 delivered, which i'm rather happy about.

Just wondering if anyone has one ?

I've got a fairly bog standard surround system that doesn't have any digital connections and the only one this has is a digital audio out coaxial connection.

http://static.trustedreviews.com/94/...s-close-up.jpg

I might be able to get around it by hooking my TV up directly to the surround system, but I was just wondering if anyone had one connected to a system they'd recommend?

Thanks
JasonWatkins is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-09-2013, 21:32
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 40,343
I can get one of these ..

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Digital-Op...item53f8441712

but does anyone know if they have to be mains powered?

i appreciate it's probably a stupid question, but not being an audiophile, i don't know. ideally i'd like a simple straight-through converter of sorts if possible.
JasonWatkins is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 22:12
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,836
I can get one of these ..

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Digital-Op...item53f8441712

but does anyone know if they have to be mains powered?

i appreciate it's probably a stupid question, but not being an audiophile, i don't know. ideally i'd like a simple straight-through converter of sorts if possible.
It has to be mains powered. Or you could I suppose spend a small fortune on batteries to power the thing.

There is absolutely no way to convert digital audio to analogue audio without some electronics to do the job. So power of some sort is required.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 22:54
Greyowl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 336
Just picked one up on eBay for 66 delivered, which i'm rather happy about.

Just wondering if anyone has one ?

I've got a fairly bog standard surround system that doesn't have any digital connections and the only one this has is a digital audio out coaxial connection.

http://static.trustedreviews.com/94/...s-close-up.jpg

I might be able to get around it by hooking my TV up directly to the surround system, but I was just wondering if anyone had one connected to a system they'd recommend?

Thanks
This unit should allow you to connect coaxial digital out from Samsung to your analogue surround system :
http://www.amazon.co.uk/eSynic%C2%AE...l+5.1+analogue
Greyowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2013, 00:56
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 40,343
Thanks for the replies. I guess I was just a bit hesitant over it being mains powered as I have six things plugged into my extension lead and I wasn't too keen on adding a seventh, but if i've got to, i've got to - I think a new surround system would be far more expensive.

And yes I know it's stupid, but I suppose i've always got it in the back of my mind that I might be having too much powered by one plug socket.

I might go for the one from ebay - I'm not really looking for perfection. For the size of my flat, and the fact I live on my own, adequate is more than acceptable for me personally.
JasonWatkins is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2013, 10:21
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 40,343
Not quite sure what's happened but i'm getting some video files having VERY jumpy and stuttery audio. it seems to be the MKV's encoded with 6 channel AC3 Audio more often than not as well - but then it's not every time either, which is confusing.
JasonWatkins is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:56.