Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

New dect phone makes internet drop


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-09-2013, 16:18
mal2pool
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: stanley co.durham
Posts: 3,205

Would this happen with any new phone i wonder. I've just bought a new dect phone and can't understand how the net drops, lights go out on router.
Tried plugging old phone in and it works okay. ANy ideas? Ta
mal2pool is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 15-09-2013, 16:55
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,782
I assume you are connecting the phone through a filter? Is it on the same socket as the router or an extension? There will be a filter on the router socket but you also need one on the extension. The exception to that being if you use a filtered faceplate on the master socket.

If you are using a filter then try a different one. Always possible the filter is faulty.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 18:50
mal2pool
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: stanley co.durham
Posts: 3,205
Just using same system as previous phone. Through a filter. The second phone doesnt need to be plugged into the phone socket so no filter on there.
Must be the phone. Internet works with my previous phone
mal2pool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 19:17
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,311
You could try plugging the base unit into a phone extension socket (if you have one) with it's own filter. I don't know why or if it would make any difference, just a thought.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 19:52
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,683
Cordless phones are known as a possible source of interference for WiFi signals, same is true of microwaves.

Potential solution is to change to using ethernet cable to connect to the router and potential mitigation is to change router to use 5GHz frequency instead of 2.4GHz.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 19:59
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,782
Just using same system as previous phone. Through a filter. The second phone doesnt need to be plugged into the phone socket so no filter on there.
Must be the phone. Internet works with my previous phone
You cannot say it is the phone without doing some very basic tests.

If you have another filter then try that. Just because one phone works with a filter and another does not is no indication that the filter is OK and the phone is not.

Another trick that I have seen used (with Sky boxes in particular) that might work is to plug another filter into the filter you have the router on and plug the phone into this second filter. So you are in effect double filtering the phone.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 20:10
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,863
Is the DECT base station right next to the router?
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 21:12
albertd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Crawley, W. Sussex
Posts: 7,374
Was the old phone cordless? If not (or even if it was), it could well be radio interference due to the DECT base station.being too near the router
albertd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 22:06
mal2pool
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: stanley co.durham
Posts: 3,205
Bout 6ft away from router...seems to be working okay now as i speak...wasnt earlier..strange!
mal2pool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 22:26
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Was the old phone cordless? If not (or even if it was), it could well be radio interference due to the DECT base station.being too near the router
In theory dect should be about 500mhz south of WiFi.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 22:35
albertd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Crawley, W. Sussex
Posts: 7,374
In theory dect should be about 500mhz south of WiFi.
Maybe so, but if it is strong enough any signal could cause a problem, whatever frequency it is on.
albertd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2013, 22:41
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Maybe so, but if it is strong enough any signal could cause a problem, whatever frequency it is on.
Nope.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 12:14
mal2pool
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: stanley co.durham
Posts: 3,205
Wonder if it would happen with any new Dect phone.
It was an old dect phone i had before
mal2pool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 12:33
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Wonder if it would happen with any new Dect phone.
It was an old dect phone i had before
they should all be the same. DECT is standardise.

it could be issuing interference. but it shouldn't.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 22:12
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,292
I am trying to remember what I once knew about DECT and WiFi interfering with each other.

I think the advice was to choose a high channel number on the router (this is when 2.4GHz Wireless-G was the current standard), and that channels 1 and 2 were the most susceptible to being knobbled by DECT.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2013, 10:03
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
I am trying to remember what I once knew about DECT and WiFi interfering with each other.

I think the advice was to choose a high channel number on the router (this is when 2.4GHz Wireless-G was the current standard), and that channels 1 and 2 were the most susceptible to being knobbled by DECT.
DECT is at 1.9ishGHz
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:16.