Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

slow connecting to websites


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16-09-2013, 11:16
robbra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 319

Hi,
I have a HP Pavilion laptop running Firefox.
For about the last two weeks when connecting to websites the little green indicator runs grey in reverse and then times out. This can be any of my bookmarks.
Is this a sign of a problem with my laptop or an indication that the websites are very busy?
Thanks
I have fragmenter, virus, malware and cleanup programmes running regularly.
robbra is online now   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 16-09-2013, 12:05
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
does it happen if you visit a site for a second time shortly after?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 13:18
robbra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 319
It has done today, just times out on some although sometimes gets straight on the site if I try again.
robbra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2013, 13:39
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
ok but the problem is not specific to the first attempt. then subsequent attempts say with in the same hour are fine?

in which case the first thing to do would be to restart your router.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 09:31
robbra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 319
Thanks for your answer.
I switch my router off at least 4 times a daywhen I go to work or out. I have a spare so may try a new one. It hasn't happened today.
I live quite a way from the exchange so maybe that has something to do with it although it has only satrted to happen recently.
robbra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 09:39
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Thanks for your answer.
I switch my router off at least 4 times a daywhen I go to work or out. I have a spare so may try a new one. It hasn't happened today.
I live quite a way from the exchange so maybe that has something to do with it although it has only satrted to happen recently.
stop switching your router off.

leave it on for 24 hours and see if you still get the problem.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 09:44
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,957
Have you tried using a different browser such as Google Chrome?
Daedroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 11:28
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,661
Thanks for your answer.
I switch my router off at least 4 times a daywhen I go to work or out. I have a spare so may try a new one. It hasn't happened today.
I live quite a way from the exchange so maybe that has something to do with it although it has only satrted to happen recently.
Why are you switching your router off? If it's ADSL then that will mess with the syncing of the line and potentially be the cause of your issues.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 11:38
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,855
Have you looked at your routers status lights when you can't get online? Could be that the router is losing connection occasionally.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 11:43
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,855
Why are you switching your router off? If it's ADSL then that will mess with the syncing of the line and potentially be the cause of your issues.
I have never found that switching a router off & on causes any problems.

Only yesterday I was repairing a router. During that time I must have switched my one off & on a dozen times with no ill effect. It simply resyncs when switched back on.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 11:48
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,434
I switch my router off at least 4 times a daywhen I go to work or out
Yes as others have said just leave it switched on 24/7, they use very little electricity.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 11:54
paulsalter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK - Bilsdale
Posts: 11,435
I have never found that switching a router off & on causes any problems.

Only yesterday I was repairing a router. During that time I must have switched my one off & on a dozen times with no ill effect. It simply resyncs when switched back on.
Not sure if it's still the case, it was a few years ago that I read about this

When you switch it off/on it thinks there is a problem with the line, so connects at a slower speed to try and stabalise it
paulsalter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 12:15
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,661
Not sure if it's still the case, it was a few years ago that I read about this

When you switch it off/on it thinks there is a problem with the line, so connects at a slower speed to try and stabalise it
It is called the BRAS profile / sync rate, which may be getting reset if your router is not kept on and stable.

It monitors your line over a fixed period, and when it sees it can increase your data throughput the BRAS will sync higher. If it sees disconnections, disruptions, or is unable to test the line properly, then your profile can get messed up, causing your throughput to drop severely.

You can find out your modem's sync speed http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php

Leaving the modem plugged in, will stabilize your internet connection.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 12:26
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
It it is ADSL2+ it works a little differently that adsl.

it will resync the line at the maximum speed it can to achieve a signal to noise ratio no worse than a predetermined level the target SNR.

but the noise profile of a line changes throughout the day. and if you connect at a low noise time as the noise increases the line may become unstable and drop. this could be the OP's problem.

if you leave it on for a full day then it will have sync'd at a speed appropriate for the worst noise level and should be stable all day.

my advice to the OP is to leave the router on for 24 hours and see if that helps. it is up to him if he follows it.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 14:06
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,855
It it is ADSL2+ it works a little differently that adsl.

it will resync the line at the maximum speed it can to achieve a signal to noise ratio no worse than a predetermined level the target SNR.

but the noise profile of a line changes throughout the day. and if you connect at a low noise time as the noise increases the line may become unstable and drop. this could be the OP's problem.

if you leave it on for a full day then it will have sync'd at a speed appropriate for the worst noise level and should be stable all day.

my advice to the OP is to leave the router on for 24 hours and see if that helps. it is up to him if he follows it.
I notice that my modem syncs to a faster speed in the mornings. I have a fairly slow connection (5 - 6 Mbps). If I reset the modem in the morning I get 6 Mbps. Resetting it in the evening it's around 5 to 5.5 Mbps.

To reply to your part in bold. If the SNR drops too low & the modem connection drops completely, wouldn't it just resync to a slightly lower speed though?
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 14:23
robbra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 319
Thanks to all.
All lights that normally flash do when the circle greys and reverses.
I'll leave it on for 24 hrs to see if it makes a difference although I have always switched it off regularly and this problem has only just started happening.
I use Firefox and Comodo Ice Dragon browsers which have always been ok before.
Will see what transpires.
Thanks
robbra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2013, 14:33
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
I notice that my modem syncs to a faster speed in the mornings. I have a fairly slow connection (5 - 6 Mbps). If I reset the modem in the morning I get 6 Mbps. Resetting it in the evening it's around 5 to 5.5 Mbps.

To reply to your part in bold. If the SNR drops too low & the modem connection drops completely, wouldn't it just resync to a slightly lower speed though?
Yes it would. But it's not that the connection drops because of the snr per se. So much as the error rate gets too high and the error checking goes bananas.

So what seems possible, even though it may not be likely, is that the connection is up but no data is moving. Then the op fires up his computer the data comes through with errors the connection goes down. And he has to wait.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2013, 19:34
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,661
Any update OP?
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2013, 07:31
robbra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 319
Hi,
It's no different left on. Sometimes it's slow others not. I think it might be the number of users as I'm in a small village and some way from the exchange. It's worse in the early evening when perhaps more people are online.
I'll have to live with it. The original question was posed as I thought it might be my laptop but seems not.
Thanks for all the replies, it's nice to know so many are willing to help.
robbra is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:45.