Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Backing Up the PS3


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-09-2013, 10:39
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,929

So having just lost all my content, about 400GB's worth, I've decided this time I want to back up.

So if I download and install all my content, and I'm using around 300GB of storage on my PS3, if I then make a backup, surely I'm going to need a 320GB external to do this? Or does it compress it to a point where it's only half?

Thanks
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-09-2013, 11:35
gother
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Concrete Jungle
Posts: 6,624
So having just lost all my content, about 400GB's worth, I've decided this time I want to back up.

So if I download and install all my content, and I'm using around 300GB of storage on my PS3, if I then make a backup, surely I'm going to need a 320GB external to do this? Or does it compress it to a point where it's only half?

Thanks
I have about 400GB worth of stuff on my PS3 when i backed it up to my 1TB external drive it used just under 400GB.
I don't think it does compress it not that i could see anyway.
gother is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 12:07
biggebruv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dublin,Ireland
Posts: 6,417
just backup the saves imo if your games are on PSN and you have to start from sractch just redownload them whenever you play them again

obviously if you store movies and photos only on your ps3 then back up them aswell
biggebruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 15:54
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,929
Thanks.

Might be a stupid question, but once I have backed up, if my PS3 breaks, and I buy a new one, can I load the backup onto my new PS3?
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 17:45
Dan27
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: By The Sea
Posts: 9,477
Yes..
Dan27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 21:48
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,929
I presume you have to use a FAT32 external drive to back the PS3 up? How do I format the new drive I bought to FAT32?

I thought maximum file size on a FAT32 was 4GB?

Thanks
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 23:17
D3XT3R
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rotherham,South Yorkshire
Posts: 772
I presume you have to use a FAT32 external drive to back the PS3 up? How do I format the new drive I bought to FAT32?

I thought maximum file size on a FAT32 was 4GB?

Thanks
Correct the maximum size is 4GB but it breaks them down into 4 GB chunks but sees it as 1 file.
D3XT3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 00:07
gother
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Concrete Jungle
Posts: 6,624
Use a defrafgment tool i used this one http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/ind...at32format.htm
gother is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 09:00
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,929
I presume you can store other stuff on the external along side your back up right?

My plan is to download all my purchases, back up my console, and then download my plus content. Seems stupid to backup plus content when in say 2 years I may not be a subscriber.

It's probably a good thing too, as if Sony ever turns off PSN on the PS3, at least you have a backup of all your purchases.
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 13:12
gother
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Concrete Jungle
Posts: 6,624
I presume you can store other stuff on the external along side your back up right?

My plan is to download all my purchases, back up my console, and then download my plus content. Seems stupid to backup plus content when in say 2 years I may not be a subscriber.

It's probably a good thing too, as if Sony ever turns off PSN on the PS3, at least you have a backup of all your purchases.
Yes you can still use it as a bog standard external hd , the ps3 stuff will be in it's own folder. You'll also be able to use the hdd to watch movies , listen to music( you have stored on it) on your ps3 too.
gother is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2013, 18:38
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,929
When you all backup, do you include Plus content? Seems pointless if you're backing up in case your console breaks.

I am right in saying though that the backup can be loaded on to a replacement console and hard drive? I didn't think you could? Otherwise, couldn't you just give the backup full of games to all your mates?
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2013, 21:53
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,929
^ Anyone?
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 14:44
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,929
Some people are telling me this can't be done due to some games having copyright issues?

I presumed I could back up the entire console, and then if my console breaks and I buy a new one, load the backup onto a new console to restore all my games? This could also be handy if PSN ever gets turned off on PS3 right?
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 22:09
gother
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Concrete Jungle
Posts: 6,624
Some people are telling me this can't be done due to some games having copyright issues?

I presumed I could back up the entire console, and then if my console breaks and I buy a new one, load the backup onto a new console to restore all my games? This could also be handy if PSN ever gets turned off on PS3 right?
They are correct some games have copy protection and will not copy to a external HDD , the game saves should be fine though.
With the copy protected games you will have to re-download them. Go to account - transactions - download list. They'll all be there waiting for you to re-download
gother is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 22:36
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,929
They are correct some games have copy protection and will not copy to a external HDD , the game saves should be fine though.
With the copy protected games you will have to re-download them. Go to account - transactions - download list. They'll all be there waiting for you to re-download
I just read if you 'deactivate' your PS3 before making a backup, then everything you backup will then restore perfectly.

Not sure if this is true or not... from what I read, most PSN games are protected.
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:53
TheVoid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,929
Hmmm not convinced this apparent 'backup' is a complete back up. I'm using about 430GB on my console, and the backup was just over 300GB so it appears I've probably lost about 100GB in the backup.

What the hell is the point in that feature then?!
TheVoid is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:55.