Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Help > Old Sony DVD Player with Samsung LED TV


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-09-2013, 12:46
magicshaw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 121

Hi,

I'm trying to use my old sony DVD player in my SAMSUNG UE32F5000AK with a scart cable but it wont recognise it

The back of the Sony DVD player looks as following pic.

Do I need to use any other type of cable ?



http://i400.photobucket.com/albums/p...ps274155e2.jpg
magicshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-09-2013, 13:20
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,272
No, a SCART to SCART lead is all you require, but what do you mean by "won't recognise"?

If it's not switching to SCART automatically try switching manually with the TV remote - I'm presuming you're using AV1 (TV SCART) on the DVD?.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 13:31
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 10,737
Does the tv need an adaptor for a scart? The one that came with my Samsung was not a very good fit, is yours seated fully?
tealady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 15:24
magicshaw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 121
No, a SCART to SCART lead is all you require, but what do you mean by "won't recognise"?

When I go into sourse section on my TV and following options turn up

TV, HDMI1, EXT, HDMI2/DV1, AV, Component

I tried all of them and the DVD screen doen't appear as it used to in my old CRT TV.


Does the tv need an adaptor for a scart? The one that came with my Samsung was not a very good fit, is yours seated fully?

The scart pin goes well in but not 100%.

It only has one scart input where it says EXT(RGB).

Maybe that could be the reason ??

Which adaptor do I ned to buy ??
magicshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 15:42
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,107
When I go into sourse section on my TV and following options turn up

TV, HDMI1, EXT, HDMI2/DV1, AV, Component

I tried all of them and the DVD screen doen't appear as it used to in my old CRT TV.





The scart pin goes well in but not 100%.

Maybe that could be the reason ??

Which adaptor do I ned to buy ??
EXT is probably the SCART if the images of the back of the telly I've found are accurate.

What might be the issue is that the DVD and TV are not set to the same video mode. It is possible the DVD player is set to Composite and the TV to RGB. That might make the TV ignore any signal on the SCART though you should get audio if you were to play a disk.

I would try going into the TV menu and see if there is a setting for the EXT video mode and change it from whatever it's currently set to to each of the alternatives in turn and see what happens.

The adapter tealady was probably talking about is a full size SCART to mini SCART. Some TVs have a small socket about the size of an HDMI for SCART wirth a short adapter lead with a matching plug on end and a full size SCART the other. You would know if you needed one of those as there would be nowhere to plug a full size SCART in.

Though full size SCARTs can be temperamental so always worth giving them a firm but gentle push to make sure they are fully seated.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 15:49
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,272
What might be the issue is that the DVD and TV are not set to the same video mode. It is possible the DVD player is set to Composite and the TV to RGB.
Sorry Chris, but that's not possible - TV's don't have settings to select either RGB or Composite, and the DVD player will output both at all times, all the RGB menu setting on the DVD player does is set pin 16 high, to force the TV to RGB instead of Composite.

As she says the SCART 'pin' goes in, but not 100%, it sounds like it's perhaps not pushed in fully?>
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 16:02
magicshaw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 121
When I go into Menu> System> DivX Video on Demand, it says register or de register.

Has THIS got something to do with the issue ???
magicshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 19:25
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,272
When I go into Menu> System> DivX Video on Demand, it says register or de register.

Has THIS got something to do with the issue ???
No - it's almost certainly either the SCART lead not pushed in correctly, or some of the pins in the SCART plug pushed back inside it's shell.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 19:40
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,009
In other words try a different SCART lead.
And what does "The scart pin goes well in but not 100%." mean?
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 20:48
magicshaw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 121

And what does "The scart pin goes well in but not 100%." mean?

Still sticks out a bit
magicshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 21:59
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,784
Still sticks out a bit
So it's not plugged in properly and you are wondering why it's not working?
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 22:12
magicshaw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 121
I've tried it to push harder without any luck. if I use any more force I fear it might just pop out of the front screen
magicshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 23:18
quinnicus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 349
I see you've posted this on the Sony Forums as well. If the SCART lead is not fully in, or wont fully go in, its time for a new SCART lead isnt it? As you have probably bent one of the pins.

Or try using component RCA cables (which you may have lying around somewhere)
quinnicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2013, 23:50
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,009
On another post you said "I have a flat screen and the way it is placed, Its not easy to access the headphone socket on the back " so, is there enough clearance for the SCART plug to fit in properly - if not something like this may help http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hinged-Scart.../dp/B000UPGYSC.
In any event do as has been suggested several times and buy a new lead.
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 00:22
magicshaw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 121
mac2708,

That thing about headphones is about a different smaller size LED TV

I've got two brand new scart leads and both of them aren't working

I guess its the RCA cable thing to do.
magicshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 00:45
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,009

I guess its the RCA cable thing to do.

Item no 330470620488 on the big auction site, will it do the job ????
Should do - it's a standard lead
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 00:45
magicshaw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 121
Thanks very much
magicshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2013, 12:24
magicshaw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 121
The RSA cables worked perfect.

Thanks folks.
magicshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:06.