Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Throttling CPU


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-09-2013, 08:11
killjoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,294

I have a HP DV6000 running Win 7.

Is it possible to throttle the CPU as when running at 100% (catch up TV etc.) it starts to get a bit hot so I would like to limit usage to about 80%.
killjoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-09-2013, 08:53
Roush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 2,285
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...8WS.10%29.aspx

You may find this causes your catch up TV to not play properly though.
Roush is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 08:54
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
yes it's in the power settings. advanced settings, processor power management, max processor state.

that will probably do it. if not you're in to the bios and it may not be possible.

you sure it's too hot? it'll only be hot if it's using the full power of the cpu.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 09:04
killjoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,294
Rouch : Rather not play with the Registry.

Flagpole : Cannot find "advanced settings" under power settings, will look at BIOS later.
killjoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 10:17
zx50
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Next to Consett.
Posts: 66,765
Deleted.
zx50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 10:25
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Rouch : Rather not play with the Registry.

Flagpole : Cannot find "advanced settings" under power settings, will look at BIOS later.
http://i41.tinypic.com/10xugig.png
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 15:02
d'@ve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Darn Sarf
Posts: 21,221
I have a HP DV6000 running Win 7.

Is it possible to throttle the CPU as when running at 100% (catch up TV etc.) it starts to get a bit hot so I would like to limit usage to about 80%.
It has an AMD CPU doesn't it? If so, you should download and install AMD Overdrive from the AMD website (free utility), assuming that it's compatible [I'm not sure about the Sempron CPUs if that's what you've got] and that the clock speeds aren't locked. That utility gives you real-time monitoring of temperatures, and control over unlocked CPU speeds via the clock multiplier and voltage, lowering both of which will bring down the CPU temperature. If you are nervous about altering the voltage, you can ignore that. You will need to research the maximum core temperature specified for your CPU (it may feel hot but could still be within spec.) then compare it with what you see when monitoring in the utility.

I do that when doing lengthy intensive video processing on my AMD 964 BE and it works a treat, saves me from having to upgrade my CPU cooler. It resets after a full re-boot but I suspect that there's a permanent setting available somewhere, otherwise, you may be able to set the multiplier in the BIOS once you have determined (with Overdrive) what you want to set it at.

I realise that laptops even with AMD processors may not offer the same flexibility as a large cased desktop, and I haven't checked the details of yours, so good luck.
d'@ve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 15:55
killjoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,294
Flagpole

I still cannot find the advanced options:

http://tinypic.com/userstuff.php?u=f...s%2FiOhg%3D%3D
killjoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 16:03
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,009
Flagpole

I still cannot find the advanced options:

http://tinypic.com/userstuff.php?u=f...s%2FiOhg%3D%3D
Change Plan Settings, then Change advanced power settings.
Stig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 16:09
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
what he said
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 16:12
killjoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,294
Mea Culpa, I prostrate myself in apology (I found it)
killjoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 16:27
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
as a general tip if you are looking for the advanced settings a good place to start is in the non advanced settings.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2013, 10:34
bluesmurf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 201
It should automatically throttle itself when/if it gets to hot.
bluesmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:42.